Prinsengracht Hotel

Prinsengracht Hotel Reviews

Prinsengracht Hotel

Prinsengracht 1015, Amsterdam, NetherlandsView Hotel Details
Prinsengracht Hotel
Prinsengracht HotelPrinsengracht HotelPrinsengracht Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Prinsengracht Hotel Guest Reviews

3.9/5
Good
47 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.9
Amenities3.9
Service3.9
Cleanliness3.9
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(47)
Positive reviews(35)
Negative reviews(12)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jun 10, 2024
2 nights in Amsterdam, Convenient place, sufficiently close to the center Room on the 2nd floor, very nice view over the canal from 2 large windows Friendly Receptionist at arrival Now the cons... Stains on pillow, holes in the bed sheets, Despite having informed several times the receptionist and complained about, no action was taken... "I may only inform the maid" was the only reply (and action) we got in 3 days from the reception Bed and mattresses quite uncomfortable Bathroom extremely small Upon departure, a new receptionist apologized for the inconvenience promising an e mail from the manager.. and a "discount on future stay" .... E mail never received... and needless to say... that we won't come back (even with the elusive discount) average breakfast I guess we could have found better value for our money
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Nov 4, 2023
Service is hit or miss. The place is clean, but could use some work. The location is great and the price considering how expensive Amsterdam and considering its location is the only thing worth staying here for. One odd thing is they always ask you to leave the key at the front desk anytime you go out. We got caught off guard for t(e request. One said it’s for safety, one said it is to clean the room. Both sounded odd, we know they have a spare key. Maybe this is normal as this is the only hotel I’ve stayed at in Amsterdam, but this is so far the only hotel that made this request and they made me feel odd about not wanting to comply like it is common practice. Other complaint is the screen did not seem to work, quite a few mosquitoes got it. There was a screen so I thought we were safe, but no. For its location and price, still an ok place t9 stay if you want to stay in Amsterdam on a budget in the canal district.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Oct 25, 2023
Arrived home covered in bed bug bites. We were naive to bed bugs, but had killed several bugs in the room which we now realize were bed bugs. Did complain of cleanliness of the rooms, smell, dirt, dust. My 83 year old mother complained of bites while we were there. Only place we could have got them was this hotel. Beware, educate yourself on bed bugs, take your flashlight and examine room. We are now dealing with thousands of dollars of exterminator bills in 3 homes and worse the effects of the bites including infection. Hotel is in denial.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Oct 17, 2023
I booked a Superior room and I was so excited for the large windows overlooking the canal. Unfortunately I was placed on the 5th floor, room 502. I legitimately thought I had just been put in the wrong room, so I went back down and explained that I had booked a superior room. The (very nice!) woman at the front desk explained that the rooms on the fifth floor are smaller because of the slanted ceiling and unfortunately she could not move me. The Superior room in the photo on the website is on the second floor. The photo has an extra lounge chair, two large windows, desk on the side so not blocking the window, a coffee bar, and is stylish. My room was tiny. No extra chair. The window was tiny and to see the canal I had to get right up next to it and being on the fifth floor you couldn't actually see anything. The coffee was crammed onto the same space as the desk, unlike in the photo. And the stylings are not at all similar and it looked really run down. The rooms on the fifth floor should not be classified as Superior. I was really disappointed that I paid for Superior but got a much worse room than those on the second floor. If you book Superior, you should insist on the second floor. Additionally the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. The bathroom was small and in need of repairs. The toilet paper holder fell off the wall and wasn't secure at all. There wasn't any conditioner, just shampoo and soap. The location is great, but I felt tricked by the photos. The ambiance isn't nearly as nice as it looks online.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 28, 2023
Husband and I had single rooms 401 and 409 with a connecting door between. The shared shower room was nice and reached from my room 401. 409 had a little bit more floor space and the tea and coffee making facilities. It was warm outside and we had canal view with sunshine during the day but each room had a fan and a cooler. Room was not very modern but it worked and we slept good. We had breakfast included in the price. Served next to the reception, about 20 seats there. Not the hughest buffet we have seen but it was perfect for us. Super nice receptionists and we rented bikes for 16 euro per person for a day. The hotel is not in the city centre but it is not far away from crowded restaurants and shops. We had a good stay there. As frequent travellers we noted the hotel prices is expensive in Amsterdam.
Margaret
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 7, 2023
Hotel was very clean. The rooms are a bit small but still how long are you really in the room.
Pål
Checked in Jul 2023
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 14, 2023
Very nice location with a view to the canal. Nice and helpful people at the desk. Breakfast was fine.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 18, 2023
What a lovely hotel! Warm, friendly staff. Lovely breakfast area and such a relaxing garden at the back to eat your breakfast weather permitting. Our room was a generous size (Room 508 right at the top) great bathroom with double sink and double shower. Really good water pressure. Lovely views of the canals. Room can be warm but there are 2 fans and leave the two veluxe windows open to ensure a fresh breeze. A coffee machine, kettle and fridge are in the room. The bed was incredibly comfortable (I can be very fussy) and slept well. My only slight issue was that it was twin beds pushed together so my husband and I had to keep to our sides to avoid falling through the gap. However this didn't affect our sleep. Breakfast was continental style, juices, coffee, bread, croissants, pastries, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, cheeses and meats. Along with bacon and scrambled egg. All delicious. Location was great, a 2 minute walk to the metro! Great hotel and would definitely recommend.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 7, 2023
This hotel is a real gem. The location is great, on a quiet canal but easy to walk to the various sights of the city. The reception staff were really helpful, especially to one of our party who got caught up in train cancellations at Amsterdam Central Station. We would definitely come back to stay at this hotel.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 3, 2023
We chose the hotel based on the location and what we wanted to do. It was the perfect choice for us. It’s not cheap but hotels in Amsterdam don’t seem to be. We found the area to be quieter than the centre but easily walkable or you could take the tram (UK contactless cards worked just remember to touch in and out). Staff were all friendly and helpful. We didn’t get much chance to take advantage of the garden but I can see it would offer an escape from the crowds and would be a pleasant place to sit in warmer weather. As other reviews have said the rooms could do with an update and cleaning was hit and miss. Not dirty but could have been more thorough. The view onto the canal was great but could be noisy in warmer weather - smokers are directed to the front of the hotel and there are benches so people could take drinks out. There is no air conditioning but our room had a cooler and a fan which cooled the room which was warm on arrival.
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 26, 2023
A simple, value hotel. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean, as are the bathrooms. Excellent breakfast selection. Helpful staff, especially Marianne on front desk. Central location, canal side, makes it perfect for exploring this wonderful city. (But beware the bikes! There aren't any rules!)
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on May 12, 2023
Decent hotel located directly at the canal in quiet street . Early check-in is unfortunately not possible. Arrived at 13:30 and had to wait in the lobby for the room to be ready (official check-in at 14:00) There were no Bath towels in the bathroom, but one call with the reception solved this issue (sadly they were stained and smelly) The rooms are worn out, especially bathroom was in a desperate need of reconstruction. Even though our room 308 was located next to the elevator, it was quiet during the night The breakfast was excellent, although the lobby was tiny (around 9am it could get crowdy with no seats left). The staff was very kind and helpful all the time I really appreciate the possibility of late check-out For 30 EUR we could stay until 13:30
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 20, 2023
This hotel is a gem. It is close to the Metro and the tram. The neighborhood is very quiet. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast provided was outstanding. There was a smell in the bathroom and they got it taken care of for me.
Explore62782754654
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 16, 2023
Overall, we enjoyed a return two night stay in the three-star Prinsengracht, well located on the N side of the eponymous canal, in a quiet area, close to plentiful public transport and within walking distance of the Museum Quarter and much of what a visitor will want to see in Amsterdam. The 'boutique' hotel is a conversion of two elegant 17c townhouses and enjoys classic views across the canal and a spacious back garden with seating, unusual in the centre of densely built Amsterdam. Our room was 'compact' but comfortable, adequately furnished and with a canal view. The feeling would be claustrophobic for a long stay but acceptable as a weekend base. The (shower only) bathroom was tiny and toiletries were minimal. There is no restaurant. Breakfast was an adequate if unexciting buffet in the reception area. WiFi was free, fast and simple to use. The (few) staff we met were helpful and friendly. The room rate of c. €230 per night for one person was rather more than we expect to pay in March in a three-star hotel but presumably reflects the high demand and limited supply of hotel rooms in Amsterdam’s inner centre. Overall, a pleasant if expensive experience.
Verified traveler
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 27, 2023
nice location. Very comfortable bed. stayed in a single room. Service was ok. They where really quick to clean my table at breakfast while i was getting some more. There was one minor thing though The bathroom was bit crapped so the door of the shower could not be openend 100%. A person who has a lot of body weight would not be able to shower in this room. See pictures. Hotel Prinsengracht please fix this!