La Cusinga Lodge

La Cusinga Lodge Reviews

La Cusinga Lodge

Costarena Sur Km166, Provincia de, Bahia Ballena, Costa RicaView Hotel Details
La Cusinga Lodge
La Cusinga LodgeLa Cusinga LodgeLa Cusinga Lodge
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

La Cusinga Lodge Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
47 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.5
Service4.5
Cleanliness4.5
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(47)
Positive reviews(43)
Reviews with photos/video(7)
Negative reviews(4)
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 22, 2024
This was the last hotel in our Costa Rica adventure - and kept up the high standards The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and our room was perfect for what we needed. The design made us feel like we were living IN the rainforest We went to sleep at night to the sound of crickets and cicadas and woke to the sounds of toucans and howler monkeys!!! We really never knew what we were going to see next (tortoise, HUGE iguana, green tree snake and so many different birds (including Cusingas!) So many memories to take home
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 3, 2024
Had lunch at the restaurant. Excellent service and food. I had a great hamburger with fries. Very good. Had a table with stunning views of the Pacific. Would definitely eat here again. Reasonably priced. The menu has a variety of different cuisines.
MonicaNavarroM
Checked in Apr 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 7, 2024
Amazing place, super comfortable. Very unique and confortable. It's a place I would come back for sure. Even the hikes from the hotel are fantastic. It's not a luxurious place but the feeling of been there it's unforgetable. Don't look for services , the restaurant is good quality of traditional cooking. We ate very well there as well.
Response from Property: Thank you very much for the nice and encouraging comments in regards to your last stay at La Cusinga Lodge! The facilities of our property are made to provide an all needful to have a nice, relaxing and comfortable time.
johnsuggestions
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 2, 2024
This place is beautiful and/but simple - not ‘luxury’. The location is lovely - and what makes is stand out are the walks around their grounds and into the national park beach below. The rooms vary so be clear on what you book - some have shared walls and some are stand alone. The room have partial open (with good mossy netting) windows and a ceiling fan and standing fan. These are both needed as warm at night but far from unbearable. The bed was comfortable. Some slight noise from traffic during the day (those pesky motorbikes or heavy lorries) from the coast road a good few hundred meters away. WiFi good. Very good reception - Hazel was efficient and was on top of everything. We booked a local bird walk with Bahia Adventures and enjoyed that - down in the bizarre town of Bahia/Uvita and then in the forest behind the beach. The walks in their ground were truly lovely and this is what you likely go for. The swimming pool on one day was quiet, delightful and a pleasure to use. On the other (Easter Saturday) it was too full! The restaurant was wholesome and nice. Its location and the bar in reception both has beautiful uninterrupted views of the sea and forests.
Response from Property: Thank you very much for the nice and encouraging comments in regards to your last stay at La Cusinga Lodge! The facilities of our property are made to provide an all needful to have a nice, relaxing and comfortable time.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 26, 2024
The staff are all so cheerful and helpful, and we saw more wildlife in the hotel grounds that we did in most other areas of Costa Rica. There are several well-marked trails, plus a beautiful deck overlooking the ocean to watch sunsets and sip great cocktails. We regretted not having a car as taxis aren’t common and Uvita isn’t an easy place to walk around. Our room (Colibri 1) suffered from some traffic noise, but other than that everything was excellent. It was a truly relaxing experience.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 14, 2024
After reading some of the dissatisfied reviews about Cusinga Lodge, I feel compelled to comment. I have to admit that I do like AC and ice cold water when it’s 90 degrees as well as easy access to a lounge chair on a beach. I also like to not have my morning juice splash on the table from a deposit from an overhead bird( the waiter good naturedly said that this is considered good luck before bringing me a new glass of fresh squeezed juice. No offense meant or taken. Cusinga Lodge is an ecolodge where I didn’t get some of the above niceties but I knew beforehand what I would and wouldn’t get at an ecolodge and chose to return to Cusinga Lodge to experience again the beautiful cabanas in a jungle setting with magnificent views of the Pacific, great food, and a friendly, helpful staff. The beach is only accessible when the tide is low but is picturesque and well worth the efforts to get to and from. People considering coming here should be aware that it’s not the Ritz and that the trails for hiking and to the beach are challenging, the solar heated water is somewhat inconsistent, and the open air dining opportunities may also have “downfalls” so Cusinga may not be the right choice for some. Though I’m feeling tired and my legs are sore from the hot weather activities, neither I nor my partner are regretting planning our return to Costa Rica around the 5 days that Cusinga had available during the Winter months when we most wanted a break from Vermont.
Traveler48971863773
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
3.0/5
Posted on Feb 11, 2024
We called in on the off chance as we were passing and the location looked interesting. The views out to sea and the whales tail are well worth the visit. Unfortunately, the attitude of some of the staff was not good, they gave the impression of resenting having to be there. It certainly stopped us from considering staying here in the future or even staying for lunch
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 30, 2024
One of my favorite lodges- great setting, views, birds, food and service. I love delicious breakfast, beautiful sunset from deck, deserted playa Arco and relaxing by the pool. Michael, Hazel and Manuel make it a friendly and authentic experience.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 29, 2024
This is a real gem. Well appointed rooms with great views over the forest to the sea, and great bird watching opportunities. The Cusinga estate is really special with a couple of really interesting walks, especially down to the Playa Arco. The staff were really friendly, courteous and helpful - could not fault them. A good restarurant on site and again with very customer friendly staff and good, balanced menu selection. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Cusinga and if we are back in CR we will make a point of a return visit.
Tour05622898523
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 7, 2024
We had a wonderful 3 night stay at La Cusinga Lodge, starting from being met in the parking area by Mabel, the welcome alcohol free cocktail and the friendly waiting staff. Our room was very large (Trogon) with a inside seating area and huge balcony. The bathroom walls and floor are all lined with pebbles, very "flintstonesque". It was my birthday during our stay and the lodge put fresh flowers in our room and decorated the bed with rose petals. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner every day and the food was excellent with plenty of choice and big portions. The hotel also has a beautiful yoga platform but sadly they did not have a teacher available during our stay. The pool is a short walk away from the main hotel and is very private. There are also walking trails on the property to waterfalls where you could take a refreshing dip. Whilst here we did a whale watching trip (sadly nothing spotted as we were on the cusp of the right season) and a self guided trip to the Nicoya waterfall which was busy but great fun. We would return to La Cusinga Lodge in a heartbeat.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 7, 2024
This was our last stop in Costa Rica and we spent 6 wonderful days and evenings:). We were with younger children (5 and 9), so we did really spent 3 full days on the premises enjoying the pool, the poza and the beach. The positives: the location is breathtaking and well kept - sunsets are like a magical moment, the pool is cool, clean, secluded in the nature and large enough for several children to play (there were more families at the time). The Poza (natural pool was as well a unique experience to have on the premise), the beach is a hike down and up on stairs - the hike itself is not an issue if not for the heat - as the lowest tides were around noon. Take water lots of water and sunscreen- better wear rag shirts. The beach is wonderful really really a must, the walks on the property are ok - again do them very early morning. Our rooms - we had Rana and Toucan were above the reception and they have i think the best views although they are not very luxurious - we loved them and I would take them again especially with children around. The other rooms are more in nature and they dont seem to have such an “ocean view” but more nature immersed. The restaurant is a gem - i think we tried everything and everything was great - i wouldnt know what to recommend actually. The cocktails are as well an experience- i loved Jungle Passion and my husband Michael’s Mai Tai but try Ginger Aracari it was specially spicy. But the best were the people - and the cate for details
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jun 4, 2023
We booked 6 nights for our honeymoon and left after 2 nearly sleepless nights. There is no early check out allowed, so we ate the cost (approximately $250 USD/day after taxes). Our main complaint was the lack of privacy as the rooms share a wall (2 rooms per building). There are no windows, just screens with blinds and curtains. As it is an “eco lodge” we were informed at check in that there is no housekeeping during the stay. The family next to us was as considerate as could be with a couple young children. You can hear EVERYTHING. The place is old and the mattresses are horrible, pillows likely as old as mattresses. We both woke up with back pain the first night and gave it a try one more night hoping it would improve considering the lack of options. The room safe looks like my childhood toy chest made of wood with a little padlock. Staff was very friendly and offered to switch to one of the other rooms but we declined, not wanting to risk another horrible night. The views at this place are incredible. Possibly the most beautiful I’ve experienced, however, I would not recommend La Cusinga Lodge to anyone due to lack of privacy, horrible beds, and high cost.
Response from Property: I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time at La Cusinga. Please allow me to clarify: the room you selected when booking your reservation does in fact share a wall with another room. However, most of our cabins do not share walls, and are quite private. In the tropics it is quite common to have windows consist of screens and blinds to enjoy the sea breeze—it allows our guests to be immersed in their surroundings. I apologize it was not clear housekeeping is offered upon request through reception—I will remind them to emphasize this point for future check-ins. Although our mattresses and pillows were not to your liking, we do update both items regularly. The room safe was built on site from sturdy reforested wood from our property, which is in line with our eco-friendly principles. It is a shame you did not accept the upgrade to our Honeymoon Suite and chose to leave early, I am sure you would have enjoyed the rest of your stay immensely.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Family
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Aug 26, 2023
by far our worst experience ever. And we have traveled the world and quite a few hotels. I would tend to rate the hotel as a rip off. For a higher price the „eco“ lodge is being used as an excuse for poorly designed rooms, bad shower and toilets and lack of good bedding. How can you sleep with 30 Celsius and wet pillows… I’m fine with monkeys howling and hearing the waves. But wet bed, no. And when trying to get things better service was poor and agressive. The room have a stunning view on the ocean to show, that is indeed true. It has a pool.. and you can walk to an amazing beach. And the restaurant is not great I’m sorry. It is good, one of the only option in uvita anyway. Giving it a higher ranking than it deserves. Overpriced, inattentive staff. Unable to sleep.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 22, 2023
I did a two-night stay here upon arrival in Costa Rica (drove down from the airport). Overall, it's a nice place in a good location. The "lodge" is kind of a series of buildings built into the jungle, which translates into lots of encounters with wildlife. Within five minutes of checking into my room I saw three chachalacas clumsily falling through the trees outside my door. In the mornings, I watched troops of howler monkeys and then capuchins swing through the trees from the bridge on the Poza Trail. Cute and colorful Halloween crabs can be found crawling in the grass (one followed me home to my room!). Giant foot-long grasshoppers bathed in sunlight (totally motionless for hours) in the bushes and on walls. Flocks of toucans perched in trees before flying off. I remember seeing hummingbirds in the bushes as well. House geckos will be everywhere, even in your room (if you're wondering what that random chirping sound is, that's them). The one thing that freaked me out though were the orb weaver spiders. At first you don't notice them, but man once you spot one it's like you've taken the red pill in the Matrix and can suddenly see them all everywhere. They're HUGE, like 3-inches long and their webs are also big. When they're off in the bushes it's fine, but on my last day, following a heavy rain the night prior, one spider had built a web across half the main walkway, at eye level...yikes! Rooms are what you'd expect from a 3-star facility, simple and comfortable. Two of the walls of my cabin were entirely windows and only three small panes of glass were there, the rest just screens to keep the bugs out. The walls are not air tight though, so critters will get in. In addition to the inevitable house geckos (which are kind of cute), I spotted one roach, some ants, and a crab in my room, also a GIANT (like one inch long and fat) fly. But I wasn't a fan of the cabins. They have stone floors which felt too much like being outside. The bed linen reminded me of being at my grandma's house. I think because there was so much vegetation surrounding the cabin (which is gorgeous), I felt a little creeped out at night because the sounds of all the critters hiding in it can easily be heard through the screen windows. So overall, it felt like I was sleeping outside...a little too close to nature for me. I remember having trouble going to sleep my first night. Staff is friendly, especially the waiters at the restaurant. The lodge is a ten-minute drive from Marina Ballena Marine Park (the Whale's Tail). I spent a morning there with Bahia Aventuras doing a whale watching tour (we spotted a mom and her calf). The beach and waters there are very nice. In addition, there are trails on the property leading to other beaches, a poza or natural pool, and extending into the surrounding forest for nice hikes. Once you get your bearings (which happens fast), the place is easily navigable. There are nice easy trails and from everywhere you're surrounded by trees and s
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 20, 2023
La Cusinga is perfectly located with beautiful trails in the rain forest leading to a quiet beach. My room, Gemele 1, had a little porch with chairs for relaxing and gazing at the birds and the Atlantic. I visited during the rainy season and enjoyed pretty dry days with lovely crashing storms late at night which cleared by early morning. The easy birding on the large reception porch was sociable and fun. The food was delicious, and the staff could not be more helpful. Laundry service was available and so appreciated by me after tramping in the rain forest. Thank you, La Cusinga.