Hotel Abando

Hotel Abando Reviews

Hotel Abando

Colón de Larreátegui K., 9, Bilbao, SpainView Hotel Details
Hotel Abando
Hotel AbandoHotel AbandoHotel Abando
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Hotel Abando Guest Reviews

4.2/5
Very Good
44 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.2
Amenities4.1
Service4.2
Cleanliness4.2
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(44)
Positive reviews(35)
Reviews with photos/video(5)
Negative reviews(9)
Guest User
Double Room
Checked in 2024년 2월
Family
1 Reviews
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on 2024년2월23일
I stayed here once many years ago, and the overall feeling this time was pretty good. The location is of course quite convenient. You can walk to the central commercial street, Guggenheim, and the old town. You can also taste the delicious restaurants and pintxos around. The room was clean and sufficient, and a full set of toiletries was provided. The procedures were also quick. Maybe the food around was too delicious, so the breakfast felt inferior to my memory. There will definitely be noise along the street, but fortunately it is not a big problem, because the air conditioning felt a bit stuffy and I opened the window a little, so the noise did not affect my sleep.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Single Room
Checked in 2023년 5월
Business travelers
1 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2023년5월10일
Environment: good, there is a small park on the side, and the court is in front Convenient to travel, close to attractions Service: The receptionist is an elderly uncle who is very friendly; the beautiful lady who left the store even helped to call a car🚗
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Basic Single
Checked in 2023년 10월
Business travelers
2 Reviews
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on 2023년10월20일
The unbeatable location to visit the center. Everything accessible. You can go walking. The single room is somewhat small, especially the shower.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Light _Mamba24
Double Room
Checked in 2022년 8월
Friends
1 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2022년8월24일
Very good service. Recommended.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Checked in 2024년 6월
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2024년6월4일
Small rooms, but clean and well appointed. Nice location and good opportunities to hike and walk around. The breakfast was good, and staff were very helpful. I would stay there again. The bookshelf wallpaper was a nice touch as far as I was concerned.
travellerI572MM
Checked in 2024년 5월
Couples
1.0/5
Posted on 2024년5월20일
This hotel is one star hotel, rooms are not good at all, they always try to push the worst room to you unless you demand better room they don’t give to you. They don’t have too many good rooms, some rooms are without windows , staff are rude . I would not recommend this hotel. The price compare to the room type is very expensive. I stayed here for total of 5 days coming with one of the big tour company. Breakfast is not as good as I was thinking. Do not recommend
Response from Property: Dear guest, we want to thank you for your stay at the Abando hotel. Your comments have surprised us greatly, since they do not coincide with the opinions of our guests. First of all, our 4* Hotel Abando accommodation complies with all the regulations of the quality standards of an accommodation of its category. Our staff never tries to accommodate our clients in worse rooms, as indicated in your comments, and much less in a rude way, we are very sorry that you have felt this way. We hope to see you again soon and that you can enjoy a satisfactory accommodation. Best regards. Yolanda DH Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager
dd101
Checked in 2024년 5월
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2024년5월14일
I stayed one night in a single room in this hotel. It was exactly as advertised on the hotel website. The room was very clean and perfectly adequate. Hotel staff at reception were helpful and efficient. The rate was good value for the standard of accommodation on offer. The standout for me of the hotel was the location - it’s a perfect base for everything Bilbao has to offer. It’s in a lovely part of town with very nice bars and restaurants on the doorstep. It’s also very close to public transport stops… but to be honest Bilbao is very walkable from this location. I would stay here again without hesitation.
Response from Property: Dear guest, we want to thank you for your trust in choosing the Abando hotel for your stay in Bilbao and also for sharing your comments about your experience. We are very excited to know that you have enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the central location of our building, close to everything. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards. Yolanda DH Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager
Marie L
Checked in 2024년 5월
Solo travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2024년5월11일
I was a solo traveller. I cannot say enough positive things about two of the girls on reception. I apologise for not asking their names I should have. I stayed in the hotel two nights early in April and another two nights at the end of the month. I was travelling on the boat. They contacted the taxi for me for the Sunday morning and made sure I knew where I was going. I had to get the metro first. They told me how to get to the subway and which direction to travel. I am a pensioner and they insisted that I got the lift down for the metro as I had heavy luggage. They wrote out in point form the order I was to do these things. They will never know how much I appreciated their help. I hadn't Spanish but that wasn't a problem for them. I am not a well travelled person so this was all a new experience for me.
Response from Property: Dear client, we want to thank you for your stays at the Abando hotel and for your comments about your experience. We are very happy that you felt satisfied with the help of our reception staff to help you with everything you needed. We hope to see you again very soon Best regards Yolanda DH Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager
Guest User
Checked in 2024년 4월
Couples
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on 2024년4월20일
Pros- great location Pros-room service was cheap and good. Had “mixed salad” and was an amazing tuna salad for only €12 Cons- Visiting in April meant the heating was on & stiflingly hot. The controls in the room were either on/off without ability to control the heat. Incredibly noisy and very little air movement. Location meant that if you opened your window it sounded like you were above a lorry losing park or bar 24/7. Constant noise from cars beeping and people shouting. It was a hellish few nights. Cons- breakfast like a noisy cafeteria Cons- minimal toiletries & supplies in room. We got 1 sachet of coffee and 1 sachet of decaf coffee in a double room! And 1 milk. When I asked for more I was given 1 additional sachet and 1 milk and still no teaspoon. Cons- room 516 was a “nice room” I was told. Turns out it’s next to the lifts, at the top of an open lobby to the stairs. You heard everyone and everything. Tip- bring own tea coffee toiletries supplies Tip- if you like sleeping w your window open don’t book this place
Guest User
Checked in 2024년 2월
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2024년2월19일
We were pleased with the location of our hotel in the Abando/Kalea district of central Bilbao, a stone's throw from the Gran Vía and an easy walk over the bridge to the Casco Viejo. The rooms are very compact, but well designed. We arrived to grey skies and rain, but the following day the sun came out, the temperature climbed and it was a glorious day. Unfortunately like most hotels the rooms do not allow you to individually control your heat/cool air con so my room was like a furnace as the hotel was on 'winter' settings. I opened the window, but it would not stay open beyond a crack. The bed was comfortable, and the black out curtains extremely efficient at excluding all light thus aiding much needed restful sleep for someone who was up at 2am to prepare for the outbound flight!! The bathrooms are again small but well designed. Not enough room on the vanity for toiletries and make up though, and the hairdryer is one of the wired-in ones where you have to hold the button to get it to work. An individual plug-in hairdryer with variable heat/speed settings would be better and more '4* hotel' worthy. Negatives: the advertised mini bar contained nothing more than two small bottles of mineral water. Also although there is a Nespresso machine and a kettle the hospitality tray is poor. There were four coffee pods (not labelled to say what they were), some sugar, UHT milk pods and a couple of tea bags, camomile and something else pretty forgettable. No cookies and strangely no spoons with which to stir your sugary brew if you are into sugary brews (I'm not). I had brought some herbal teabags from home so I was okay, but I will admit to hankering after a nice biscuit to go with my cuppa. The public areas are bright, modern and comfortable. We did not use the cafe facilities, nor the on site restaurant which is 'fine dining' and features in the Michelin Guide. Overall we found the location and value for money good, and with a few small tweaks to room facilities the hotel could have earned that extra green blob to take it to 5/5.
Guest User
Checked in 2023년 12월
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2023년12월15일
Having frequented on numerous occasions, I find myself in a position to offer a nuanced perspective on its accommodations. The room, as always, maintained a commendable standard of cleanliness and comfort that I have come to expect. The familiarity of the space provided a sense of ease and reliability. Disliked · However, it's hard to ignore the subtle signs that the hotel is aging. While the room's foundational elements remain strong, one can discern the wear and tear that comes with the passage of time. Some fixtures appear slightly dated, and the overall aesthetic, while still pleasant, hints at an era past.
Response from Property: Dear customer, we want to thank you for your stay and for your trust in choosing us again for your accommodation in our villa, and also for sending us your comments about your experience, which help us so much to improve, and which we will transfer to the corresponding department to implement the quality of our services. Best regards, and Happy New Year . Yolanda DH Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager
Guest User
Checked in 2023년 5월
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on 2023년5월10일
The check-in was fast, front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms on the street side are a bit noisy. The room is spacious, the bed is ok. Wi-Fi speed is good. Pity that the tv are not possible to connect to the internet, got only limited choices of tv programs. The price is a little high for this hotel standard, but still ok. Location is good, lots of restaurants and easy to walk around.
Response from Property: Dear guest, we would to thank you for staying at the Abando hotel, and for telling us your experience on it. We hope to see you again soon on less busy dates and thus be able to enjoy a more advantageous rate. Best regards. Yolanda DH Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager
Cassiel0430
Checked in 2023년 11월
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2023년11월2일
We stayed here for 3 nights and liked the downtown location and its proximity to many restaurants. The breakfast area was accessible up a short flight of stairs but they also had a more limited breakfast available off the lobby without having to use the stairs. The breakfast options were plentiful, and they had plenty of employees to clear plates and refresh the buffet. The front desk was nice to work with and they helped us with both of the items that we asked for assistance. The only small negatives were that the A/C temperature could not be changed (only the fan speed), a narrow shower, and thin walls between rooms (we heard the voices of our neighbors).
Guest User
Checked in 2023년 8월
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2023년8월28일
We stayed 5 nights during the Aste Nagusia fiesta. The hotel Abando was an oasis of calm and tranquility to retreat into from the chaos and crowds, albeit great fun. The location was perfect, within easy walking distance of all the major attractions. Reception was clean and cool. The staff were so helpful. When our luggage was delayed they leant us a phone charger, which was a god send. Our room on the fifth floor was at the rear of the premises so was very quiet. The bathroom needed a little decorating, but was clean and functional with a hairdryer and toiletries. Our beds were comfortable with extra pillows if needed. There was a fridge and safe, both free and very useful. Breakfast was a self service buffet with plenty of choice, bacon, scrambled eggs, Spanish omelette, cheese, cured meats, bread, fruit and pastries. We would certainly recommend this hotel and if we ever return to the city, we will stay here.
Guest User
Checked in 2023년 6월
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2023년6월30일
Large room with large bath. Comfortable sheets and pillows. Great towels in the bath. Buffet breakfast just average. Quiet. Easy to get anywhere bay walking. Front desk helpful. Safes in the room plus blow dryer. Helpful.
Response from Property: Dear guest,we would to thank you for staying atthe Carlton hotel and for telling us your experience on it. .We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your accomodation and we hope to see you again very soon. Best regards. Yolanda DH Aránzazu Hoteles PR Manager