Residence Inn State College

Residence Inn State College Reviews

Residence Inn State College

1555 University Dr, College Township, Pennsylvania, 16801View Hotel Details
Residence Inn State College
Residence Inn State CollegeResidence Inn State CollegeResidence Inn State College
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Residence Inn State College Guest Reviews

4.4/5
Very Good
42 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.3
Amenities4.4
Service4.4
Cleanliness4.4
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(42)
Positive reviews(11)
Negative reviews(2)
Pablo
One-Bedroom Queen Suite With Sofa Bed
Checked in Apr 2024
Business travelers
3 Reviews
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Apr 29, 2024
Room is a mini apartment, very comfortable, and has everything for a short stay. Breakfast was very good. Staff is super friendly.
Guest User
One Bedroom Queen Suite with Sofa Bed
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
1 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 3, 2023
Love it coming back 1000%
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 2, 2024
The Residence Inn has a great proximity to Penn State. Very convenient for getting on campus. Hotel is well maintained with pleasant associates, likely college students. Rooms are comfortable but beds are a little tight to surrounding walls and furniture. Breakfast is adequate with packaged and preportioned items. Would be nice if they had bread, pastry, muffins, etc along with their bagels and English muffins. All in all comfortable, but with a little effort could be even better.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 18, 2023
Stayed here during a visit with our Penn State Law student during the Arts Festival at State College. The hotel was extremely clean and comfortable. Everything in the room was in perfect working order and the room had an excellent layout. The rooms are very roomy. With Queen and the pullout couch we had plenty of room to move around and lots of seating options as there’s a desk and a table with chairs. The fireplace is such an amazing bonus! The breakfast was an average hotel hot breakfast buffet, but they had a lot of toppings to add to your waffles, which was nice. This will definitely be on my list of places to stay in State College when we visit!
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 12, 2023
There for Graduation! Suite was nice and Very clean! The Suite had plenty of space for us! Staff were awesome and hard working!!! We really enjoyed having the Pool to go to in between other activities! The Breakfast was very well organized and definitely delicious!!! Thank you for sharing your many gifts of Hospitality!!
Response from Property: Good morning Go!, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a great review of your recent stay with us at the Residence Inn State College. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time during your visit to Happy Valley. We understand that Graduation weekend can be a hectic time so we at the Residence Inn go out of our way to help make this weekend as stress-free as can be. We hope that you consider us again for your lodging needs the next time you're in our area. Phil Bartley Front Desk Supervisor.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 27, 2023
We came to State College for a ski event at Tussey Mountain. Our team dealt with the sales department at this hotel to set up a group rate. They are accommodating and very friendly, knowledgeable about the area, and the price was fair for what you pay for. Our group had a great stay due to many different factors. First and foremost, the staff was a blessing. We dealt with Michael & Christine the most. Our team was causing some trouble in the hallways, and Michael handled it perfectly. Once we were made aware we took care of it. It made our team look bad. He was very understanding and we appreciate that. He refused to let us clean up our mess. He took care of it without hesitation. Christine started breakfast early just for our group. That was very thoughtful. It was very good for hotel breakfast. We will definitely stay there again next year.
Response from Property: Thanks for sharing this fantastic review, rthatcher4452! We're thrilled your time with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott State College was so outstanding! We endeavor to share a memorable experience with our guests. After all, your happiness is our top priority! We always strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We appreciate all of your praise for our delicious cuisine and excellent service. Your kind words let us know we're doing our job! We're already looking forward to your next visit so we can share another amazing experience with you soon! Yours In Hospitality, Michael Houser—Operations Manager
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Stayed here while moving my daughter in to Penn State. Booked this to have a little extra space for things. The room met expectations, although I will say the bedroom barely allows for space to walk around the bed. There is no good place to put a suitcase (there was not a rack provided for one). I ended up with my suitcase in the living room area so we could walk in the bedroom. The biggest issue was the "breakfast included". They do not staff the breakfast area. Not even for MOVE IN WEEK. The front desk girl was trying to keep breakfast stocked, and there was often no coffee, no creamer, no stirrers, and no food other than cereal and maybe pastries. When there was food put out, it was microwaved breakfast sandwiches and she would put out four when there were 10 people loitering trying to find something to eat. I gave up on it entirely and got groceries for my room.
Response from Property: Thanks for the review, Heidi_loves_travel. We regret to hear about your recent stay with us. We apologize for the issues that you experienced in your room. We will be addressing your feedback with the team to avoid problems like this moving forward. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible and regret to learn that we were unable to uphold that standard for you during your stay. Our hotel has gone under new management, so please rest assured that this is not our guest's typical experience! We hope that you will give us another chance to provide you with a more positive experience in the future. Yours In Hospitality, Michael Houser—Operations Manager
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
If you are visiting state college, this is a good option. I am removing a star because we should have had a sofa bed and were given a sofa. We also had to venture out to the desk at 2am for blankets & pillows for that sofa, which should have been in the room somewhere but ahh not a sofa bed so I get why it wasn't. Front desk check-in was not friendly, the lobby under construction and the door did not shut to our room without giving it a good slam. I happen to work in a hotel and I know the click, so I noticed immediately but to another guest, they probably would have walked off thinking their door locked behind them. Huge safety issue that needs to be addressed immediately. The room itself was spacious, had great amenities and was very clean and nice. Breakfast had a variety of egg options, which is above and beyond for a complimentary option. Overall, we would come back.
Response from Property: Dear AbbeyRadeNYC, We love hearing guests say that they would stay with us again! Thank you for your feedback and for giving us some areas of improvement. We strive to be the best hotel in State College and our guests help us achieve that goal by sharing their thoughts about our Residence Inn. Please find a reason to visit again soon. Best, Laura Stewart General Manager
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2022
Family
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Feb 6, 2022
Hotel is still under renovation although that is not stated in app nor website. Be aware that desk clerk will casually ask why you are staying and then record it in your profile. Pros: bed comfortable, good water pressure. Cons: deceptive practices; bathroom filled with smell of cigarette smoke from somewhere in building; noisy— can hear people in room above us and people in hallways.
Response from Property: Dear merlionease, Thank you for sharing a review and please accept my apologies that you didn't have a great stay overall. We do ask our guests what brings them to the area as it helps us determine if local businesses in the area might qualify for better rates at our hotel. I regret that you feel we acted in a deceptive way. Additionally, I am sorry to hear that you detected an odor of cigarette smoke. We are a smoke-free hotel and do our very best to obtain guest compliance. Again, on behalf of the staff and management - I offer our apologies and hope to host you in the future for an improved experience. Sincerely, Laura Stewart General Manager
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2021
Family
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Dec 19, 2021
According to the TripAdvisor the rooks are equipped with safes sadly the suites are not. Furthermore if you want any service from the front desk it's better to call, visiting the front desk doesn't get any response especially if the are on the phone. I had a pathetic experience with a lady called Mary. We were in a hurry to catch a flight, she kept me waiting and then kept taking the new calls and totally ignored me. Finally I had to leave in order not to miss my flight... I had an urgent UPS that had come in, I had in fact paid 120$ just for same day shipment... I could not collect it from the front desk because of this and had to depart without it. I kept trying to chat on the Marriott chat with them, they refused to respond. So I would definitely not recommend this hotel. Just for the record I'm a Marriott Ambassador and all.... I've travelled and stayed all over the world.... but not experienced this....
Response from Property: Dear DunamisArt, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being a valued Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador. Normally our staff does a terrific job of responding to our guests’ needs, and in your case, that did not happen. We value your comments and will use them to ensure we are more consistent in our service levels. I genuinely hope we have the opportunity to have you back and leave you with a more favorable impression. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Laura Stewart General Manager
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2021
Business travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 15, 2021
I stayed at the residence inn in state college for almost two months while looking for somewhere to live. I had a great experience. The staff was very amenable and always tried to optimize my experience. I especially appreciate Christine who ran the continental breakfast. She was always able to help me start my day out right and the breakfast was delicious. I really appreciate everyone at residence inn making my extended stay a great one.
Response from Property: Dear I3986PHlukel, Thank you for your review of our hotel and wonderful staff. I’m pleased to hear that our staff’s excellence in service exceeded your expectations and made for a good experience during your extended stay with us. We have a great team comprised of dedicated associates that genuinely care about providing each guest with an exceptional stay. I’ll be certain to pass along your compliments to our team. We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope you’ll visit us again soon. Best, Katie Millward General Manager
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2021
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 26, 2021
Great stay as always. We have been coming here for the last 15 years as part of our large family Thanksgiving gathering. The staff was very helpful. From check in to supporting our 25+ person ‘picnic’ in the lobby. Christine and the crew really helped make sure we had a great time. Thank you!
Response from Property: Dear Guide67330050090, We are thrilled to hear that we provided your family with a great stay. Your kind review is appreciated and serves as encouragement to our team who works hard to deliver remarkable service. Thank you for selecting our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return. Best, Katie Millward General Manager
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2022
Other
0 Reviews
0.0/5
Posted on Jan 13, 2022
(Photos only)