Hills Farm Stays

Hills Farm Stays Reviews

Hills Farm Stays

Hills Farm, Whitford Rd, East Devon District, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Hills Farm Stays
Hills Farm StaysHills Farm StaysHills Farm Stays
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Hills Farm Stays Guest Reviews

4/5
Very Good
54 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.0
Amenities4.0
Service4.0
Cleanliness4.0
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(54)
Positive reviews(45)
Negative reviews(9)
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 7, 2024
Lovely place, lovely area and Steve was really welcoming and helpful. Would definitely come and stay here again. Just a FYI WE came here by mini bus so didn’t have any way of travelling anywhere once we were here. We didn’t realise that there were no taxis in the area so if you’re coming and wanting to go offsite at all make sure to bring your own transport :)
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 19, 2024
This farm is in a lovely location with great views and the farm conversion has been really well done. The area for the wedding looks stunning and would be great for an outdoor wedding. The customer service during our stay was good and the breakfast was excellent. It was nice and quiet when we were there so we had a really lovely peaceful night. I can appreciate that f there had been a big party staying it may not have been so quiet so may check before you book. That said I would love to return and stay in the area again as there is lots within easy reach.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 13, 2024
Steve was a wonderful host who made us feel right at home. We really enjoyed our stay here and will 100% be coming back again. It is set in a beautiful place with lots and lovely beaches and walks around. We visited the restaurant and Elaine is an amazing cook and accommodating would recommend
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Family
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Mar 30, 2024
We stayed two nights so we could attend a family celebration hosted here. The venue is set in a lovely position and the buildings are very nicely restored what a potential asset. Unfortunately we found our room The Dairy self catering very over priced and disappointing. We did get shown to the room but that was it no information given about the room or breakfast etc. Although restored sympathetically it fell very short. Bathroom dirty and previous guests toothbrushes in cupboard, toilet dirty, shower grimy, bobbled pulled towels and grubby floor. Hot water was variable being told there is a boost between certain hours ? There were a lot of cobwebs and our son got bitten in bed. The pictures illustrate a beautiful inglenook fireplace however has a big sign do not use ???? We had to empty the dishwasher on arrival and the oven was dirty. The facility is classed as a luxury hideaway. Personally if you put luxury in the mix the standards go up this is definitely not luxury. A welcome pack with bare minimum e.g soap, washing up liquid wouldn’t have gone amiss. Unprofessional no attention to detail. such a waste of a great set up so so sad. If you have a decent budget there are far better places who provide value for money and interactive owners who have attention to detail and care.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 15, 2023
We went for a depot team building weekend. First class. We did...blind driving! Hilarious, one of the funniest things I have ever done in my life. Steve was an excellent host and really made the team feel special. We then did archery and axe throwing. Both harder than it looks, I thought I would be good but it transpires that I was the worst out of everyone! We then had an excellent meal in the restaurant followed by a few drinks in the bar. The rooms were beautiful and I Steve done us an amazing deal for the whole weekend. We will return and try some of their other activities. Thank you so much to Steve and his staff
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Business travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 6, 2023
We had a team get together, night away and sales meeting next day. Location is to die for. Rooms stunning, and if your lucky a stand-alone bath in which to soak I. While admiring the views. We were treated to a fun day of blind driving, archery and axe throwing, great fun. Food & drink served in chilled surroundings, staff very attentive.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Nov 20, 2023
Our recent visit was for a long weekend with friends staying mainly in the large barns. Positives … the farm is in an excellent location with amazing views. The barns are good for accommodating large parties. Negatives … aga made kitchen and surrounding area too hot for comfort, lack of hot water in bathrooms, lack of ventilation in bedrooms as windows wouldn’t open and poor lighting, and most important, your customer service with our organiser was totally unprofessional, upsetting and should never have happened. Customer service is a vital part of any organisation and on this occasion it failed.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Nov 13, 2023
Firstly, the farm is an amazing set up and the cottages are great spaces for large groups. We did the axe throwing/archery/shooting activity which was amazing and done very well. We also had Sunday roast which was delicious and as we were a large group, I was impressed how efficiently it went and how good the food was. Unfortunately, that's where the positives end. Steve was rude and unprofessional towards our organiser. Our barn was unclean and after 3 days of cold showers, I was pleased to return home to hot running water. The wagon shed was boiling due to the aga and the bedrooms could not be properly ventilated. Honestly, the farm had so much potential to be great this weekend, but due to a lack of care for the barns and those paying large amounts of money to stay, it sadly falls short.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 31, 2023
My amazing cousin arranged my Hen Do with Steve. Everything was so chilled and perfect. Blind driving, archery, axe throwing - all amazing and so much fun and food was incredible!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!
Linda
Checked in Sep 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 10, 2023
Stayed in suite, facilities fine but was one of the warmest weeks of the year and the room had only a small opening skylight. There was a floor fan but still stifling. That the only criticism - staff friendly and went the extra mile. Nice relaxed stay apart from the stifling room temperature. If not so hot would have been five stars.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 8, 2023
We only stayed one night, but it was a very comfortable stay in Axminster suite with a very comfortable four poster bed. We were glad we chose to eat in the restaurant, the chicken fajitas were excellent. Breakfast was also generous and perfectly cooked. The staff were friendly and very helpful, special thanks to Heidi for helping me with my booking. We would stay here again without hesitation.
Melissa
Checked in Sep 2023
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 5, 2023
The room was beautiful and it was nice to have separate bedrooms and a fully stocked kitchen with big refrigerator. Grounds are beautiful and it was a quick drive down to Lyme Regis where we spent quite a bit of time enjoying the coast.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Aug 27, 2023
Hello all you lovers of tranquility and calmness of the countryside.Me and my husband had to cancel last years holiday as he was diagnosed with lung cancer.One year on we decided to holiday in Dorset. I came across Hills Farm Stays it loooked idyllic,calm and beautiful set in the countryside.Our room The Saddlery was ready on arrival so we showered and changed and went to Lyme Regis for the evening.We returned about 9pm to VERY loud music and a group of HENS celebrating in the inside and outside bar.We were ready for bed by now my husband got in to bed only to find that the springs were digging in to his body. I turned the mattress over only to find the other side extremely dirty and stainned all over. I went to complain and the manager moved us to another room. At 11pm we moved us and luggage to the other room. But sadly this was just the same. HENS were getting louder. We were both so tired,angry,anxious and distressed. Both of us were also itching very bad.We wanted to ESCAPE but would have found getting alternative accomodation difficult at midnight. In the morning we left early to find a chemist for anti-bite medication.PLEASE don't book here!!!! unless you love noise and bugs.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Family
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 17, 2023
I want to write a balanced review as we did mostly enjoy our stay, but there were definitely things that didn’t meet our expectations. The staff were friendly and very accepting of our very young baby. Would have liked to have been given some info in room about the property, facilities and local area. No info provided about restaurant/bar opening times etc. whether the room got serviced. The location is pretty and the facade of the buildings is beautiful, but the grounds need a bit of TLC and it’s lacking in much to do in the direct area, you have to visit other towns for decent meals and activities. The room was clean apart from a lot of animal hair on the black sofa, and cobwebs up high. The room (family suite) was EXTREMELY hot, the heating wasn’t on and even with the windows open for the full time we were there it was unbearable. Perhaps something to do with the plumbing as the cold water came out boiling for first 2-3 minutes. The fan provided was broken and would only tilt up to the ceiling, it was also filthy covered in dust. Beware of taps in bathrooms as they tend to spray everywhere. Bed in room is memory foam so very soft and adds to heat issue. Some slats not fixed in place made bed a bit uneven. Dinner and breakfast were a little disappointing. It felt like poor quality, frozen produce that was microwaved at dinner, and the breakfast sausages were very low quality. Not what we expected after hearing the owner talk about local and homegrown produce. It was well presented . Would have expected to see fruit/pastries/yogurt at breakfast and a menu for the cooked items. Drinks at dinner served without flare, a slice of lemon would have been nice and would have been good to have been given a drinks menu. The spa, which was part of the draw when booking, is not staffed and therefore you cannot have any treatments. Plenty of parking short walk from room and good to be able to bring car to drop off outside with lots of baby stuff!
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 9, 2023
Really nice holiday complex in Kilmington, Devon. Stayed there this weekend for the second year in the Wagon Shed. Nice clean comfortable accommodation. The food was good and reasonably priced. The complex lends itself to numerous options of accommodation etc. Really worth looking at for a comfortable stay at reasonable prices.