Pestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean Hotel

Pestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean Hotel Reviews

Pestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean Hotel

R. do Gorgulho 15 17, Funchal, PortugalView Hotel Details
Pestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean Hotel
Pestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean HotelPestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean HotelPestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Pestana Vila Lido Madeira Ocean Hotel Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
57 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.5
Service4.5
Cleanliness4.5
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(57)
Positive reviews(55)
Reviews with photos/video(4)
Negative reviews(2)
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 8, 2024
My wife and I spotted the unique Pestana Vila Lido Hotel when we were on a Dolphin trip on a previous Pestana holiday in Madeira Nov/Dec 2023, both my wife and myself thought this is a hotel where we would like to stay and more or less booked it straight away for a 2 week winter break when we arrived home in the United Kingdom, the Hotel has a Pay on Arrival Policy which gave us some time to save up for a holiday in February/March 2024 The holiday itself, we flew from Leeds and Bradford Airport and arrived in Funchal Madeira Airport, from the Airport we chose the Aerobus (6 Euros per person)which you find outside the arrivals area and this takes you into Funchal and Hotels at various stops, it is to be noted that this service doesn't take you directly to the hotel but at various stops along the route which are close to the hotels, we found out that our stop was stop 15 the Lido area and which is just at the top of Rua Gorgulho where the Vila Lido is situated at the bottom of the hill towards the sea. The Pestana Vila Lido Hotel is even more impressive close up with it's unique shape and the traditional part of the hotel is equally striking and with the check-in procedure a breeze we paid the amount and were shown to our room. Our room one of the Classic Sea View rooms was light and airy with the best views ever of the Atlantic from the room and balcony and dependent which side of the hotel you are on you either have the sunrise or sunset. There were a couple of minor issues with the room and these were pointed out via an online review of our stay so far. To our surprise, the following day we were offered by the Hotel Manager an upgrade to a superior room which was out of this world and had the best views of the Atlantic we had ever encountered, with a view to the West of the Island for the amazing Sunsets. It has to be said that we once again had some minor issue's with the Superior Room and we addressed these at a later internal management review of the hotel. My wife and I like swimming and there is ample opportunity for this with the hotel pool which was awesome and also an option if the sea state is ok to enter the sea safely with ladder access and egress, the area is fenced off and appropriate warning flags raised when the weather is too bad to swim safely. The breakfast facilities at the hotel are perfect with the staff being very friendly and accommodating to our needs which are not extravagant just some tea and a poached egg sometimes, there are coffee machines and an excellent choice of hot and cold food available, you can even sit outside to view the ocean whilst you have breakfast should you so wish. In the traditional part of the hotel is a bar and A La Carte Restaurant where the menu has a variety of options As well as the Hotel Bar and Restaurant where we dined on 2 occasions there are a number of nice restaurants in close vicinity and further to the West is the Public lido which has adjacent bars and restaurants, something for ever
Response from Property: Dear Mr. Kevin, Thank you for sharing your detailed and positive review of your recent stay at Pestana Vila Lido! We're delighted to hear that you and your wife had an amazing experience during your winter break with us. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the unique architecture and setting of the hotel. We're glad you enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Atlantic from your room and balcony. We appreciate your feedback regarding the minor issues, and we're pleased to hear that our team addressed them promptly. Your compliments on the hotel pool, breakfast facilities, and the friendliness of our staff are greatly valued. Thank you for mentioning the convenient transportation options and providing helpful tips for future guests exploring Funchal and the surrounding areas. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back to Pestana Vila Lido in the future for another memorable stay. Warm regards, Fernando Saramagaio Hotel Manager Pestana Vila Lido Madeira
Will6458754577
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
1.0/5
Posted on Jun 3, 2024
Great when things go as planed but don't expect the arrogant staff to help you if you have any changes to your flights. My wife and I had our flight delayed by 24 hours on our first day and were told at the concierge that they can't help us and we need to rebook online or come see them after we checkout. First I'm not sure why you stand behind the desk if you can't complete a simple room extension and second I'd expect at least an apology for the inconvenience. I don't recommend this hotel, pay a little extra for a place that knows customer service
Response from Property: Dear Will6458754577, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize that we fell short of your expectations regarding customer service during your stay. We are truly sorry for the situation that occurred and any inconvenience it may have caused. This is not the usual way we handle such requests, and we take your comments very seriously. We will investigate the matter thoroughly and ensure that it does not happen again in the future. We appreciate your understanding and wish you safe travels. Should you choose to give us another opportunity, we are confident we can provide you with a much-improved experience. Best regards, Fernando Saramagaio Hotel Manager
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 29, 2023
We stayed 14-days half-board in a very spacious Suite Superior Seaview with a sizeable balcony equipped with coffee table set and sunbeds. The bottle of ice-cooled Sparkling Wine along with delicious Hors d’oeuvres in welcoming us is a fine gesture & very much appreciated. The friendliness of every Staff member we met are remarkable, genuine, giving to service whole-heartedly and always with Smiles. The Vila Lido Restautant is excellent, dishes prepared with passion, great, attentive service throughout the Dinner. We got to mention, they spared no effort to do everything in dealing with our concerns so that we can just be eased, satisfied and glad. Particular in our case, as 14-day guests, when craving for a change in the food array is anticipated, we’re given the option for the days that follow just to say what we wished to eat - off the menu & dishes were prepared with the same passion and excellence. Huge appreciation to the Chef… to Luis, Joao & the whole team, Hamza, MD, Leonardo just to mention a few along with those at Flor do Mar Restaurant … specially to Veronica for preparing my favorite Omelett always with her Smile. Many thanks as well to the housekeeping, clean room, fresh, extra towels, the little surprises with fruits, cakes and other sweets … when we got back in late afternoon after a tiring day out is just a nice touch. Pestana Vila Lido is A Home away from Home for us. We have been taken care of, made Our Stay Relaxed & Unforgettable
Response from Property: Dear Angiereb1966, We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at Pestana Vila Lido on tripadvisor. Your feedback means the world to us! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing excellent service and creating memorable experiences for our guests is our top priority and it is always rewarding to know that we have succeeded in doing so. Your kind words motivate our team to continue delivering the high level of service that our guests deserve. We understand that you have many options when choosing accommodation and we are grateful that you chose to stay with us. Thank you for choosing Pestana Vila Lido and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. If your travels bring you to Funchal again, we would be honored to host you. Wishing you safe and happy travels! Warm regards, Fernando Saramagaio Hotel Manager
PeachesMary
Checked in May 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 28, 2024
Pestana vila lido deserve 5 stars. From the moment we arrived we were treated with utmost courtesy and friendliness. All the staff were very willing to help with the most basic of questions. The food is amazing and we really enjoyed the variety of fresh fruit at breakfast and evening dinner. Such a variety of savoury dishes beautifully presented too. We do not have any dietary needs, but no doubt these are catered for on request for guests that do. The hotel is on a hill with a very short walk to the main road where there are small supermarkets, gift shops, bank etc. Buses that go to the harbour which is just a short ride away. Also 'Discovering Madeira' open top sightseeing buses which take you up about 3,000 feet on good roads, offering wonderful views. We were in a very comfortable room with comfortable beds and a nice view of the pool area and beyond for 2 days, before being offered an upgrade. That was equally comfortable with a view looking towards the harbour area. In both rooms tea and coffee making facilities are provided.
Response from Property: Dear PeachesMary, Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing Pestana Vila Lido Madeira for your stay! We are thrilled to hear that you had such a fantastic experience and that our team provided you with excellent service. It's great to know that you enjoyed the variety and quality of our food, as well as the convenience and amenities of our location. We strive to cater to all our guests' needs, including those with dietary restrictions, so your kind words are much appreciated. We are glad that both your rooms met your expectations, providing comfort and beautiful views. Your detailed feedback about our facilities and the surrounding area will surely be helpful to future guests. Thank you once again for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to Pestana Vila Lido soon. Warm regards, Fernando Saramagaio Hotel Manager Pestana Vila Lido Madeira
817joost
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 1, 2024
Very friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious with a big balcony overlooking the ocean. On request could park at the hotel. Room service was sometimes very late but friendly and helpful on requests. Breakfast buffet is very complete.
Response from Property: Dear 817joost, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience overall and that you would consider staying with us again. It's wonderful to know that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, and we're pleased that you enjoyed the room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. We appreciate your understanding regarding the occasional delays in room service and are glad that our team was still able to assist you promptly. We're delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, and we hope it provided a great start to your day. Thank you once again for your kind words and for recommending us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best regards, Fernando Saramagaio Hotel Manager Pestana Vila Lido Madeira
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 30, 2024
The hotel environment is lovely and relaxed. The staff make this place amazing. There a such a good and chilled vibe from all the staff which is difficult to find in most places. Stayed in a seaview room which is a must to enjoy the calming sound of the waves. Couldn’t have asked for more . Perfect stay and looking forward to return. Thank you all for welcoming us to your beautiful island.
Response from Property: Dear beverleym888, Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that you had a perfect stay and enjoyed the lovely and relaxed atmosphere of our hotel. It's wonderful to know that our staff made your experience amazing and that you appreciated the chilled vibe they create. We're delighted that you enjoyed your sea view room and the calming sound of the waves. Your kind words mean a lot to us, and we're grateful for your appreciation of our efforts to make your stay memorable. We can't wait to welcome you back to Madeira island in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to your return! Fernando Saramagaio Hotel Manager Pestana Vila Lido Madeira
Qadir
Checked in Feb 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 28, 2024
This place is must if you are staying in Madeira location view service every thing is 5 star
Leif
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 11, 2024
We stayed for week february 2024. Everything working perfect from arrival to departure. Professionel service from all staff. Breakfast buffet was very good. Never missing a thing.
Cindy
Checked in Feb 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 9, 2024
This property is a lovely sea side property. You can open your patio door and hear the waves (very peaceful). The property has a spectacular breakfast which you can book with your room. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The housekeeping is daily unless you decide otherwise. The staff go above and beyond trying to assist with all of your needs. Truly a great experience with this Hotel - would come again.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Feb 7, 2024
This old hotel is in a five star location. It has been extensively refurbished and externally has been done to a high standard, breakfast is good and the staff are very welcoming, but the basic rooms are 3 star!! Beautiful view from balcony but although rooms have been refurbished and are very clean, there are only two accessible electrical sockets, the toilet cistern often kept running, the telephone did not work, the door did not always lock, the bed settee if open would be across the balcony doors and faced the back wall of the room if you were just sitting on it so impossible to watch the TV. There is a dressing table/desk in the window with no mirror so you have to stand up at the long mirror to dry your hair. A maintenance man came to look at the door and the telephone, but they still were not working properly when we left. Reception is in another building so its a long way to walk if the phone does not work!! It was disappointing, the position is ideal and the staff are lovely but they need to look again at the rooms it was hard to get comfortable in this room.
Explorer56640918010
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 6, 2024
This hotel was calm and quiet - exactly what was needed for our Christmas and New Years' break. From the moment we booked with this hotel, they could not have been more accommodating. We had a couple of questions, to which, Duarte Jesus always promptly replied via email and was always happy to assist. He made an effort on arrival to come say hello with a smile on his face and was very welcoming. His should be commended for his time and energy he puts into making the guests feel at ease on their holiday. Once we arrived, the service and smiles did not stop. The front of house, pool, maintenance and housekeeping staff were expectational, well-informed and assisted any time we needed. The hotel itself is new renovated, clean and very warranted of its high star level. It has excellent views, safe access to the sea and also an outdoor pool area. Currently, the indoor spa area was under renovation, but I am looking forward to using these facilities on a future visit. The food across the hotel was simple and delicious. We booked B&B, which included a buffet breakfast to suit most tastes. We only took pictures of the cold foods, but they have breads, cakes, dairy products, freshly cooked hot foods etc also. The staff made our stay one to remember and we would highly recommend this location if you are looking for a relaxing break in a great location, which has a supermarket across the street and great connections to the rest of the island. Oh and if you have the privilege to stay in this hotel on New Years Eve, we would recommend it as it has great views of the marina where the fireworks are held in Funchal.
Escape60896614402
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Dec 8, 2023
We have just returned from a 12 night stay at Pestana Lido, this was our 10th holiday to Funchal, having previously stayed once at Pestana ******, a few times at a family members apartment and 5 times at Hotel Santa Maria, which is the hotel I would compare it with. We found the hotel last year when using the lido and thought we would give it a try. We had a very warm welcome on arrival from reception and were taken to our room with our luggage. We were in room 311 on the 3rd floor which faces the lido so we had full sun on our balcony from lunchtime so it was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine in the evening. First impressions were that the room was spacious, bright and modern looking. The hotel is separated into 2 parts, the modern part houses the rooms, the Flor do Mar Restaurant which has the most breath taking views and is without question the best part of the hotel, our daily breakfasts were an absolute joy, and the food selection was fantastic. Despite being advertised as serving dinner it was not open for the duration of our stay. The gym is also in this building, as is the sauna & turkish bath, these were also not open, and the lifts take you down to the pool and pool bar. The older part of the hotel is where you will find reception, the library, a games room, Vila Lido Restaurant & bar. This building is stunning, spotlessly clean with fantastic views. Sadly this was the only place you could have an evening meal during our stay and we were told that there was only seating for around 30 guests, additionally it was a requirement for men to wear trousers, my husband only wears smart shorts and a shirt so we were unable to eat there. We sensed a bit of a cliquey atmosphere in the bar area and the tables outside so we did not stay for pre or post dinner drinks, additionally we only heard some music on 2 occasions. We have always enjoyed pre & post dinner drinks plus nightly entertainment at the Santa Maria and we missed this very much. Despite this being a lovely building it feels very disjointed from the rest of the hotel and you don't get the feeling you are actually staying in a hotel, it was more like going into a serviced apartment. The good points - good location, fantastic sea views, nice staff, lovely pool area, large supermarket across the road, bus stop at top of the hill, lots of eateries close by, amazing breakfast. The bad points - the bed. Terrible! While beds are a very individual thing, by the 2nd night my back was in so much pain, staff put a large duvet cover folded into 4 as a mattress topper, which was also needed on my husbands side, but it made no difference just a very very hot night. I barely slept for my whole holiday, the staff said it was because the beds were new! While the hotel was spotlessly clean throughout, our room was not. On arrival the windows and patio doors were very dirty and not cleaned at all. The first day I dropped an earring in the bathroom and was shocked to see a large amount of dust un
David
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 2, 2024
Fantastic location on the ocean and nearby collection of restaurants.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 25, 2023
Spectacular location right on the ocean next to the sea bathing public lido. Very recently refurbished and was like new. Spacious , comfortable sea view room with fantastic bed. Pool area is great (pool a little cold) , lots of good quality sun beds and shade if you want that. Pool bar/restaurant has all you need. Area has lots of restaurants/bars and although not too far from the centre has buses and taxis aplenty. Finally , every member of staff is polite and helpful , made our stay very pleasant indeed
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 12, 2023
Very good location of the hotel: close to Funchal and right by the ocean. A modern and very nicely decorated room. Clean and pleasant throughout the hotel. Tasty and varied food. Very nice service Team. Good value for money ratio. We strongly recommend this hotel - it provides everything you need for a good rest.