Hunter's Country House

Hunter's Country House Reviews

Hunter's Country House

Off N2, 10km west of Plettenberg Bay, Greater Plettenberg Bay, Western Cape, 6600, South AfricaView Hotel Details
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country HouseHunter's Country HouseHunter's Country House
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Hunter's Country House Guest Reviews

4.7/5
Amazing
45 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.7
Amenities4.7
Service4.7
Cleanliness4.7
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(45)
Positive reviews(35)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
NenadT
Terrace Room 1 Double bed
Checked in Feb 2023
Couples
3 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 26, 2023
Amazing hotel and the best one I’ve had a pleasure to stay in South Africa. Make sure you have a dinner at their restaurant. The food is spectacular
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 12, 2024
A warm welcome awaits at this gracious country house. A well appointed suite, beautifully decorated, with all amenities ensured a comfortable night’s stay. The staff are warm, service efficient and the food good
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 3, 2024
We felt a part of this special family the moment we walked in the door. Our children were made to feel completely at home while we were offered a refreshing glass of bubbly and sat down to enjoy lunch. The gardens are sensational as is the location. The absolute perfect start or end point to any trip along our Garden Route with wonderful staff, exceptional food, a great history, well appointed kids play area and the most delightful staff. Thank you all who made our stay perfect!
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 12, 2024
Perfect service, comfortable rooms and beds. Great food. Plettenberg Bay and tsitsikama easy to reach. We had a great time enjoyed great food in the restaurant in a very cosy atmosphere. After dinner took a drink at the tent. Did the famous robberg trail and visited tsitsikama. Unforgettable time. We will come back
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 28, 2024
Beautiful place and gardens in colonial settings. Excellent service and warm hospitality. Gourmet restaurant and breakfast. Luxury treat. Will definitely come again. 6 stars. Thank you to all from Hunters House in Plettenberg!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 15, 2024
We had a wonderful stay. The place has an enchanting relaxing feel. Especially enjoyed the Sage Restaurant food was excellent! Plus the staff were helpful and friendly. The rooms for a 5 star rated property are in need of some TLC. Regardless of that we are planning to return in November.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 9, 2024
Enchanting place, best stay we’ve ever had! The rooms are beautiful and luxurious with vintage furniture, comfy beds, a fireplace, nice bathroom, amazing views and excellent service. We stayed in a lovely suite and enjoyed the bedtime poems and snacks, the perfectly maintained surroundings, the great restaurants and delicious breakfast and the peace & quiet. Can’t fault this one, if you get a chance do stay, you won’t regret it!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 18, 2024
From arrival until our departure , our stay at Hunters Hotel was amazing. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Nothing's too much trouble for them. We stayed in one of the cottages with the swimming pool. The cottage is beautiful, it was the perfect place to spend a few days during our honeymoon. Hopefully we will back one day :)
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 15, 2024
Glorious setting with superb food and excellent service. Three excellent restaurants, providing high quality food. Honesty bar in a beautifully appointed lounge. Wonderful breakfasts in the conservatory.
GoPlaces06492241636
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 15, 2024
A lovely peaceful hotel, grounds are beautifully maintained - we had a great room - comfy bed - The staff were all attentive and professional - We used the small gym , it was small but ok for a couple , became uncomfortable when 2 other couples turned up at the same time . We ate in 2 of the Restaurants both pleasant , breakfast was in the conservatory not a great room compared to the others .
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 12, 2024
From check-in to departure everything was perfect. The large, wonderful park, the beautifully furnished rooms, three very good restaurants and, most of all, great service and smiling faces. We’ll be back!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 10, 2024
I very rarely leave reviews however am making an exception for Hunter's Country House. My girlfriend and I recently stayed for a few nights and had an absolutely wonderful time from the moment we arrived. Hunter's is a gorgeous 'old world' country house exuding charm and comfort, staffed by a fabulous team. We were entranced by the place. I have been in the hospitality business for 30 years and have travelled widely; Hunter's is one of the most unique and memorable hotels I have visited. The room/ bungalow was truly romantic, the various restaurants serve excellent food and wine, the entire staff are brilliant, and the whole setting including gardens was beautiful. We hope to be back one day.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 9, 2024
Oh my gosh we loved this country house. Everything about it was dreamy. If I had one criticism it would be that the food in the three different restaurants varied in quality quite significantly. The best of the three was Tsala followed by the country house with Zinzi a long way behind. We had a very disapointing meal there. But in terms of location and everything else about this place we absolutely loved it. The staff were amazing and so helpful and everyone made us feel so welcome. We arrived very wet and cold after a getting caught in a massive downpour and they could not have made us more welcome with hot tea and cake and roaring fire. The grounds are spectacular and we loved exploring and hanging out by the pool. The conservatory is also a beautiful space. It does feel as though the breakfast dining room is from a different hotel as its oddly impersonal and rather bleakly furnished but it was only breakfast after all. The main dining room was lovely. We went out on an early morning trip and they packed breakfast up for us. We absolutely loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 1, 2024
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hunter’s and wished we had booked for longer than our two nights. It’s hard to put your finger on what makes it so special as not everything is perfect but the overall ambiance is first class. Our accommodation was spacious with a nice bathroom and a lovely seating area outside. It was great having our car parked outside the room and cases transferred to the room while enjoying a welcome drink. The outside areas are fantastic - lovely pool and pool area, a gym with views of the pool are and gardens and the Boma - a lovely pavilion where you can relax alone or with company. The gardens are great. We loved our meal in the hotel restaurant, Sage, less so nearby Zinzi. Breakfast choices were splendid - best Eggs Benedict I have tasted. Courgette and Brie omelette was another standout. Overall though it is the staff that make the experience special. Everyone we encountered from managers to maids was a positive interaction. We did get lost trying to find it. Knowing it is across the road from Knysna elephant park would have helped.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 26, 2024
Would give more than 5 stars if I could. What an idyllic place. We were super lucky to have fabulous weather for our 2-night stay at Hunters. It was wonderful from start to finish. We’ve stayed in some fantastic places in our fly-drive adventure - Hunters is in a league of its own. The main homestead oozes historical charm, while the private cottage in the garden was blissful, with a thatched roof, antique furniture and all mod cons. We ate in Sage restaurant in the main building and also Zinzi in the grounds - both of excellent. Breakfast in the conservatory was fabulous. The buffet was full of top quality fruit, cheese and charcuterie. The pancakes with pineapple, cinnamon, syrup and chantilly cream were to die for !Superb.