Sooriya Resort & Spa

Sooriya Resort & Spa Reviews

Sooriya Resort & Spa

Beach, Rekawa Road, Hambantota, Southern Province, 82135, Sri LankaView Hotel Details
Sooriya Resort & Spa
Sooriya Resort & SpaSooriya Resort & SpaSooriya Resort & Spa
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Sooriya Resort & Spa Guest Reviews

4/5
Very Good
46 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.0
Amenities4.0
Service4.0
Cleanliness4.0
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(46)
Positive reviews(34)
Reviews with photos/video(8)
Negative reviews(7)
Guest User
Deluxe Room With Sea View
Checked in Apr 2022
Friends
65 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 2, 2022
Staff very friendly and room nice and big with a nice large bathroom
gayangikarunarathne
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 23, 2024
We had a delightful stay at Sooriya Resort & Spa in Tangalle during June 2024. The hotel is situated in a fantastic spot in the Rekawa area, offering stunning views as it is surrounded by the sea. The rocky beach area around the hotel is serene and perfect for a relaxing getaway. We especially enjoyed witnessing both sunrise and sunset right from our bed – truly a magical experience. The hotel staff were friendly and attentive, making our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms were quite spacious, providing a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere. It has a lovely pool area with a 4ft normal pool and a kids pool too. The food was fine. As vegetarians, we anyway have a limited selection in buffets, but we noticed there were quite a good variety of options for others in general. The presentation of the buffet area and the overall atmosphere could use some improvement to match the high standards set by the rest of the resort. However, this minor detail did not overshadow our wonderful experience, and mentioning it here as a suggestion. Additionally, hotel is kids-friendly, making it a great choice for families. We are already looking forward to a possible return in the future. We highly recommend this resort for anyone looking to unwind and enjoy the natural beauty of Tangalle.
6/14
Response from Property: Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at Sooriya Resort & Spa in Tangalle! It sounds like you had a truly magical stay Your feedback about the buffet presentation is valuable, and I appreciate your suggestion. Details like these can indeed enhance the overall experience. May I also add that as we are a independent hotel, that has faced natural and man-made calamities for the past 3 years. We have had many challenges, and now dealing with discrete areas gradually to enhance your experiences. Currently the buffet area is undergoing changes and you may notice this in your next visit. We’re thrilled that you’re already considering a return visit. Sooriya Resort & Spa truly offers a serene escape to unwind and appreciate the natural beauty of Tangalle
Tharindu V
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 3, 2024
Great place for vacation. Good food and good staff. Great beach and environment. The staff is very friendly and supportive. The place is very quiet and calm. Food is very delicious. The place is well maintained. The beach is very beautiful.
Response from Property: Thanks for your feedback on our service, staff and also the quality of the food we serve. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Thushan W
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 2, 2024
Friendly staff with very good servise. Beautiful location in down south area.food also very taste and vary.Conditions of the rooms also very good and very clean.We all three like to this place very much. We will come again. We highly reccomend this place.
Response from Property: Thank you for your sentiments. Look forward to your next visit.
768maliths
Checked in May 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 26, 2024
Friendliest staff I have encountered so far. They were very welcoming and helpful. I was traveling with a toddler. They were very concerned whether my toddler's needs were met. Food was very tasty. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Pool was clean and we enjoyed the pool time. Sea view was breathtaking. Highly Recommended
Response from Property: Thank you for your wonderful feedback! Ensuring a positive experience for all guests, especially families, is our priority. Your recommendation means a lot. We're expecting the road repairs to be done soon and hope for a swift fix . We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Umani W
Checked in May 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 26, 2024
I recently stayed at Sooriya Resort & Spa Hotel, and it was an unforgettable experience. The environment was breathtaking, nestled amidst lush greenery and overlooking a beautiful blue beach. Our room had a stunning sea view, perfect for relaxing. The food was exceptional, with a variety of menu featuring fresh ingredients. The service was impeccable, with staff always ready to assist with a warm smile. I highly recommend Sooriya Resort Hotel for anyone looking to unwind in a beautiful setting.
6/7
Response from Property: Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had an unforgettable experience with us. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed our food, and impeccable service. Your recommendation means a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay in the future!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
The great place to healing my mind. Every morning I woke up before 6 am. I can feel the sunrise rising from Indian Ocean. It is little hot, I jumped into the clean pool. Sometimes went down to the beach swam in the Indain Ocean. And fortunately I saw big turtles. Food was very nice. Everyday I had latte with 4 sugars. It was my energy for starting a happy day. Head chef looks like a chef in the movie. They served diffent meals everyday and very nice. Better than other hotels. I visited several hotels in Sri Lanka. There are a lot of nice hotel. But room condition, kindly staff, maintainance facilities, and quality of food.. Here is the best place of the same rated hotel. I don't know when can I go to Sri Lanka again, I expect healing my mind in the Sooriya resort again.
Response from Property: Your experience at Sooriya Resort in Sri Lanka seems truly rejuvenating! Thank you for your review. Waking up to the sunrise, swimming with turtles, and savoring daily lattes made your stay special. Your anticipation of returning for another visit reflects the lasting positive impact of this unique sanctuary. Look forward to your next stay
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 7, 2024
Fantastic food with experienced chefs and bar staff, great staff all around - they were very friendly and accommodating, beautiful room, beach views are spectacular, we saw turtles at the beach, very nice pool area, and our massage in the spa was one of the best yet. Highly recommend and would love to come back!
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 4, 2024
Smooth check In. Very friendly staff. Rooms were very clean, neet and tidy. Though not a large buffet but the food was delicious. Nice view of the sun set from the room. Thank you for the FOM Mr. Prasanna for arranging the B’Day cake for our little girl’s B’Day in minutes. She was very surprised and happy. Giving 10/10 for the hospitality. Highly Recommended.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 30, 2024
Loved everything about the resort. So calm and quiet. Food was amazing. Pool was fantastic. We stayed 2 nights on full board basis in a cabana and the kids thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The ambience, hospitality and tranquility was an experience we loved.
SanathM
Checked in Jun 2024
Friends
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 24, 2024
We recently had the opportunity to stay at Sooriya Resort and Spa in Rekawa. This hotel is situated on a beautiful, unspoilt beach in the south, where you can observe typical fishing activities. It's also an ideal location for turtle enthusiasts, as turtles frequently visit the beach at the bottom of the hotel property. The standout feature of Sooriya Resort and Spa is the exceptional level of service. Despite the hotel being fully booked on the first night of our stay, the staff handled everything seamlessly without any mishaps. The food was delicious, offering a good selection, and the staff were exceedingly friendly and accommodating. The executive chef, a highly experienced professional with a background in several five-star hotels, explained the diverse menu choices. He also took the time to personally speak with guests and gather feedback, which we found impressive. Several staff members, including Chamika, Mishen, Chatushka, and Chandana, went above and beyond to make us feel at home with their excellent hospitality. However, I rated the hotel four stars due to some significant design flaws and maintenance issues: 1. The car park is on a different property. Although it is well-secured, this setup is inconvenient. 2. The reception is in a separate building, which seems like an architectural oversight. Incorporating the reception into the main building and using the current reception area for parking would have been more practical and cost-effective. 3. There is a lot of wasted space on the second and third floors that could be transformed into a cafe, gym, library, or other useful facilities. 4. Maintenance details are lacking. In room 111, the main shower had a constant leak, the bidet shower was installed incorrectly, the toilet paper holder was poorly positioned, and there was no bedside table on one side of the bed. Ultimately, the exceptional service from the staff elevated our experience, turning what could have been a two-star review into a four-star rating.
Response from Property: Thank you for sharing your detailed review of Sooriya Resort and Spa in Rekawa! It is wonderful to hear about your positive experiences and the standout features of the hotel. Our staff will always strive to provide an exceptional level of service and thank you especially for recognising and naming some for going above and beyond to ensure you felt at home. Their excellent hospitality is commendable! Whilst we appreciate your feedback, we need to explain that the hotel was designed carefully employing a talented Archtect and other advisors. We ensured it blended with the surrounding nature. We did not consider having the car-park next to the hotel as it would have meant that we cut back a large collection of Sooriya Trees (Indian Tulip), ancient Neem (Margosa), and Wood Apple trees to name but a few and to give you an idea, in reality, the car-park is across from the main entry to the hotel, on our property and only 50 meters from the reception. It is also secure 24-hours a day. We do have a Gym and a Spa in the other areas you mentioned. I have taken note of your observations re: room 111 and have discussed them with our staff to ensure any shortcomings are addressed. We appreciate your thoughtful and positive review, and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
Kushan W
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 22, 2024
We really enjoyed the stay. Food was very tasty, specious and tidy Rooms, excellent very friendly service starting from the reception. Guest relationship was fantastic. All team members at Sooriya Resort and Spa thank you very much for your excellent service.
Response from Property: Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our food, spacious rooms, and friendly service. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sooriya Resort and Spa.
Fiona S
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 9, 2024
We were a little nervous with this booking - having seen wildly mixed reviews. But our experience was great. Tidy hotel. Clean and spacious room with all the amenities you would expect. Huge balcony with spectacular view over the pool to the ocean. The pool and area around it was great. The food was fine. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The lifeguard/pool manager/turtle guide was really lovely. He showed us to the beech and helped us spot the turtles. (Highlight of our stay). Thank you to all the team for a comfortable stay. Only issue was the WiFi which was a little unpredictable - mostly ok but dropped out several times. I did not see anything else to fault. So either the hotel has lifted its game or the horror reviews were fiction. If you treat the staff with the respect they deserve, you will have a fine time here.
Response from Property: Thank you for your feedback. Our hotel is uniquely situated in a location where guests can observe turtles in their natural habitat during the day. This rare experience, combined with our tranquil and serene environment, keeps our guests returning time and again. Our dedicated staff work diligently to ensure that everyone leaves with pleasant memories. While we have received a few reviews that seemed questionable in their intent, our responses to these should have reassured you of our commitment to excellence. As for the WiFi, we can only apologise, as we have it via a mobile transmission (due to our remote location). The service providers have had problems in the past few days.
Yasiru J
Checked in May 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 28, 2024
Excellent service and picture perfect location. Words cannot express how welcoming their staff is❤️. This hotel is soo beautiful and they have great choice of food to select from. We loved everything about this hotel.Would visit them anytime of the year again. Loved the saty❤️❤️❤️
Response from Property: Hello, Pleased to hear of your relaxing stay. look forward to seeing you again at Sooriya.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 25, 2024
great location.efficent service always offerd with a smile, friendly staff & superb service.food is excellant with a variety of western and sri lankan options.quite and calm place to relax or work,it is great pleasure to spend our vacation here and hope to come back again.thank you.