Zuurberg Mountain Village

Zuurberg Mountain Village Reviews

Zuurberg Mountain Village

R335, Zuurberg Mountain Pass, Kromriver, South AfricaView Hotel Details
Zuurberg Mountain Village
Zuurberg Mountain VillageZuurberg Mountain VillageZuurberg Mountain Village
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Zuurberg Mountain Village Guest Reviews

4.2/5
Very Good
37 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.2
Amenities4.2
Service4.2
Cleanliness4.2
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(37)
Positive reviews(35)
Reviews with photos/video(2)
Negative reviews(2)
Allicer
Holiday Home
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
52 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 24, 2023
Tequila Sunrise is good! Be sure to check the hot water service before you go to bed, was disappointed to wake up early and found out there’s no hot water to take a bath with. The villa is up to the mountain not really close to Addo. Breakfast was ok, the safari experience cost a lot for a full day, was ok but you can’t really see a lot of different animals, a lot of zebras though.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on May 2, 2024
A few months ago I found Zuurberg Vilage while riding my motorcycle. I made the trip out with my family all the way from PE for lunch. Utterly Disappointed! The location, hotel and feel of Zuurberg is special however the Hospitality and food was a disaster. It started off great with a good waiter upselling scones to my wife that was having tea, THAT MADE HER DAY! Scones was great with soft salted butter. The waiter were good, friendly and efficient. We ordered luch, something simple, Steak & Chips and a Creamy garlic mussel starter. Both dishes were horrible, the protein was old, undercooked and under seasoned. This was the worst meal we have experienced ever. I mentioned the food to the waiter and noticed him talking to management, they made no effort to speak to us and still charged the food on our bill. The owner of Zuurberg was also present and sat at the table next to us. He was unfriendly and watched videos on his phone at full volume. This was really off putting. When we left we spoke to management, she mentioned that the owner was there and she will call him. Well, he really didnt want to deal with us and didnt even get up from his chair. The manager was clearly not experienced to deal with these kind of situations. My wife and I have 25 year experience in the hospitality industry, we were calm and respectful as we have dealt with these situations before. This was the first time in our lives that we refused to pay for. This type of hospitality makes me angry and it gives our industry a bad name.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 29, 2024
If you like a bit of real Africa feeling outside one of the expensive game resorts, this is the place to go. Take a nice drive up the hill on a well maintained gravel road through lush bushes and trees. Housing is just great, main house with 2 bars and restaurants wonderful, plus a small pool to cool down - maybe after a little hike behind the premises or a longer one in the nearby Addo section (safe to walk in that one)
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 9, 2024
Truly memorable experience. Comfortable, spacious rooms and expansive guest areas. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast buffet was amazing and the evening carvery equally so. We really had the most fantastic time and would highly recommend to anyone wanting an African lodge experience at a fairly reasonable price. The unadopted 19km approach road was well worth negotiating.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Business travelers
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 29, 2024
Wonderfully peaceful with a beautiful outlook. Staff go out of their way for you and are very friendly. Spacious bedrooms and bathroom with an inside and outside shower. Food is delicious. Lovely fireplace in the lounge for cold weather.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 29, 2024
What an amazing weekend, the food was excellent, service from staff brilliant and such a stunning venue. Old school Country Hotel vibe, lovely people and beautiful rooms. We had a very relaxing time, spent the first day at Addo Elephant Park, then the next day relaxing at the pool. The lunch menu at the pool was a very good Ploughmans Platter which we shared. Dinner on Friday and Saturday nights were buffet style, with such a range to of choice. Fantastic!!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Feb 29, 2024
Really is a place away from Technology. Far in the mountains and very secluded. Was a Blast of a drive getting there. You just go up and up and up that was very cool. The place is chilled and the staff are Helpful and ever so friendly. Loved the Labrador at breakfast time Just following Grannies hand as she was eating.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 23, 2024
We found this place by luck as we researched our road trip to South Africa. It was wonderful in so many ways. We had a little cottage that was beautifully appointed. The morning game drive was well led and the breakfast that was provided by the Inn was superb. We had massages at the spa that were top notch. The food was exceptional. Highly recommend Zuurberg Mountain Village!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 1, 2024
We really loved our stay at Zuurberg and our day at Addo Elephant park. The hotel is in a perfect position, extremely comfortable, excellent food and plenty of it. The staff were charming and helpful. We would love to come again.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 13, 2024
Amazing location on top of a mountain with fabulous views all round. Staff were great and the food was fabulous. We organised a safari through the hotel and it was also fabulous with a personal lunchtime bbq with all the trimmings including beer and wine. Only downside is the 16 km drive up and down a ridiculously rough winding road. Great place but the road would put me off returning.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 28, 2023
Have had the most beautiful experience at Zuurberg! Unbelievable setting and personel eager and Professional. Great and genuine South African hospitality!! Nikki our host was spot on and made one feel right at home!! As a Professional Tour leader since the 1990s I had visited numerous places of whom Zuurberg was clearly my best experience!! Wishing Zuurberg only the best for the future! Thank you for staying at your unbelievable spot. Highest regards, Kobus Durand.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 27, 2023
Our Addo Ultra finished at Zuurberg Mountain Village. And nothing more convenient than staying at this century old property. I was warmly greeted by Lione (if my spelling is correct). She and everyone treated me and other guests so well. Room, gardens, lounges are so lovely, making you want to explore every corner of it. Had scrumptious breakfast and dinner. And the serving lady even entertained my request for special omelette! The room with additional open air shower is a plus. Comfy bed, clean and lovely terrace overlooking the mountain we ran earlier. I was lucky to capture a beautiful sunset on my last night stay. What a memorable stay. Will surely be back. Greetings from Malaysia!
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 25, 2023
This is an old coaching Inn on the original main route from PE to the interior and is full of atmosphere and an old style ambience. It is situated on the edge of the moutain and has panoramic views in all directions. The dining room has an elegance and ambience of former times with great service and excellent food. By going the extra mile you will not be disappointed!
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 3, 2023
An excellent welcome! The rooms was perfectly equipped, clean and comfortable. The dinner was perfect and our young daughter was very happy to play with Tobie(?) dog!! We recommend this place and keep a very good memory of it.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 6, 2023
The best stay ever. The food is to tier, the staff is superb, the location is the best if you want peace and calmness away from the busy town. I was a renewed person after leaving Zuurberg. We loved the stay!