The Grand Hotel

The Grand Hotel Reviews

The Grand Hotel

Happy Valley Rd, Llandudno, LL30 2LR, United KingdomView Hotel Details
The Grand Hotel
The Grand HotelThe Grand HotelThe Grand Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

The Grand Hotel Guest Reviews

3.1/5
111 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.2
Amenities3.0
Service3.0
Cleanliness3.1
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(111)
Positive reviews(8)
Reviews with photos/video(3)
Negative reviews(3)
Guest User
Double Room with Sea View
Checked in May 2024
Couples
1 Reviews
3.7/5
Posted on Jun 28, 2024
My wife and I stayed at The Grand hotel from 03/05/24 to 06/05/24. The location of this hotel is excellent with lovely views over the Irish sea. I paid extra for a sea view as we wanted to look out over the sea. When my wife and I entered the room after checking in we found that the room and the bathroom were very clean and tidy, we couldn't fault the cleanliness. Our room had a kettle and a coffee machine which was good, but Kenco coffee, which is not so good, bad tasting coffee. Also, in the room is mobile electric radiators, which we did use even though it was the month of May! Also, there was always plenty of hot water to have a nice warm shower.That's the plus side of my review. Now the negative side: The hotel itself is old, in its heyday, I think that it would have been a very impressive building. But now in 2024, it needs a good refurbishment which would cost £millions. We noticed in the bedroom that was allocated to us that there were no bedside tables/cabinets, also, no bedside lights. This, we thought, was rather strange as every hotel that we have stayed in has bedside lamps. The bedroom furniture was kind of weird. As my wife said: " it looks like the hotel owners have bought it from a charity shop"! See photos attached. Another negative is that the hotel doesn't have its own parking facilities. Residents are required to park in the street and at a daily cost of £7, which I had to pay for 2 days, as the third day we checked out before 10am. We only discovered after arriving in the hotel that there is no wifi in the rooms! Both of us were shocked by this to say the least. But, if guests want wifi access in the rooms then they have to pay. I think that reception told us that it's £7.00 or £7.50 per day! After paying £423 for 3 nights I thought that it was outrageous for the hotel reception to ask for £7.50 for wifi access. But they said that it is the owner's policy, owner being Britannia. Well, Britannia didn't get £7 - £7.50 from us. So; we will definitely avoid staying at a hotel in the future which is owned and run by the Britannia Group, unless they change their wifi policy for their rooms.
NatsumiLeeLeo
Standard Twin Room
Checked in Mar 2024
Friends
1 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 18, 2024
totally good but no free wifi
Guest User
Standard Double Room
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
1 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 4, 2024
Hi I found the hotel very nice and clean the staff are really nice and friendly
hudsonchris
Standard Single Room
Checked in Feb 2024
Solo travelers
2 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 28, 2024
Great value for money, will be going again.good service friendly people
Anonymous User
Double Room with Sea View
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
4 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Apr 16, 2024
bad experience, there was a spider crawling on the bed
Anonymous User
Standard Single Room
Checked in Apr 2023
Solo travelers
15 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Apr 14, 2023
This hotel broke the contract! The website said check out at 12 o'clock, but I was asked to check out at 10 o'clock in the morning. It is unacceptable to deceive consumers. In addition, there is no free wifi in the room, only paid wifi is available. There is only a bathtub in the bathroom, no shower, it is very inconvenient to take a shower. Therefore, I do not recommend this hotel at all. I hope everyone will take it as a warning.
Anonymous User
Standard Single Room
Checked in Jan 2023
Solo travelers
3 Reviews
3.5/5
Posted on Jan 11, 2023
Quite an old building with squeaky floorboards and outdated decor. However, the location is spot on, just on the beach. The staff are very nice and friendly, dinner menu differs each day but a wide variety available. Offers great value for money in my opinion. Excellent for personal short stays I'll highly recommend. But won't recommend for getaways/group events.
Guest User
Standard Double Room
Checked in Sep 2022
Family
1 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 23, 2022
Got in the room no hand soap told reception they said they will sort it and they didn't no change of towels as they were still wet because there was no heating in the room
Guest User
Standard Double Room
Checked in Aug 2022
Family
1 Reviews
3.5/5
Posted on Sep 1, 2022
Good location , near the pier, can walk to the cable car station,but the hotel didn’t have car park it’s really not convenient I take a dinner at the restaurant, the main dish is fish but it’s not crisping
Guest User
Standard Double Room
Checked in Jul 2022
Family
3 Reviews
2.5/5
Posted on Aug 5, 2022
Rooms and toilets were absolutely smelling. Main lift broke twice
Guest User
Double Room with Sea View
Checked in Jun 2022
Friends
4 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 9, 2022
extremely like! ! !
Original TextTranslated by Google