Gower House Hotel

Gower House Hotel Reviews

Gower House Hotel

57 Gower St, London, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Gower House Hotel
Gower House HotelGower House HotelGower House Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Gower House Hotel Guest Reviews

2.9/5
41 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location2.9
Amenities2.9
Service2.9
Cleanliness2.9
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(41)
Positive reviews(7)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(34)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Friends
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 9, 2024
Based on previous reviews we has a contingency plan in place incase we had issues with this place however it was all fine. I wouldn't stay here for a week but for 1/2 nights it was clean and functional. We paid £120 we had paid for 1 night. We were welcomed by a polite young man and our room was ready early. Location and proximity to Euston and city was ideal. 10 mins from station and 30 min walk to city centre. We booked and paid up front and we didn't experience any multi transactional issues as others have. Breakfast was included, we didn't take it up but we did peep into the Breakfast room and all looked perfectly acceptable for continental. We knocked a star off for there lack of communication both by phone and email (no response from either) and the shower wasn't great and the water slow to drain so had to stop half way to allow drainage but apart from that the room was clean, comfortable and a good size. You get what you pay for and we felt we got exactly that! Would definitely stay here again.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on May 13, 2024
Not a very nice hotel. I left my Sonicare toothbrush in a cupboard in the room I called them every day for nearly 2 weeks when I got home nobody answered the phone or acknowledged the voicemails I left. A friend booked the hotel for us but I would not recommend it.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 10, 2024
Booked many months ahead to coincide with concert at nearby London Palladium. Although I booked a single room, I was given a very nice first floor 3 bedded room with shower. Very pleased with standard of room and presentation. 'Continental' breakfast, no fry-ups unfortunately! Friendly staff on arrival and departure . Would definitely stay here again. Reading some reviews did make me worried, although it seems that is to do with cancellations and refunds, they did take payment the day after I booked, 7 months ahead of my visit!!
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Apr 8, 2024
The worst hotel experience I've ever had. I've made the reservation couple of months before arrival, paid, got confirmation. Month before arrival asked hotel if everything is ok with my reservation and got replied that evening is ok, they are waiting for us... On the day of the arrival lady at the reception said there is no room for us, she can't find our booking and they have no free rooms to accommodate us... No apologies, no nothing... No refund so far as well. Avoid this place!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Feb 17, 2024
Warning, if you book this hotel with free cancellation, they will take the full amount upon booking. If you subsequently cancel, they will not refund the money. Any attempts to contact them regarding a refund will be ignored. Having to go through other avenues to recover my money
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Dec 1, 2023
We stayed at this hotel on 26/11/23 & unfortunately I left my electric toothbrush which was expensive! I’ve emailed the Gower 4 times & left voicemail. Not even acknowledged. Very poor communication
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Nov 25, 2023
Disgusted in this hotel, The first room we was offered was the top floor the bed dipped in the middle the matteress had springs coming through, went and complained and put us in downstairs room she said it was much nicer, felt one side of bed didn't feel any springs , we had already paid and had already had a drink so we had no choice but to stay, the carpet was very worn and had holes, also the bed cover was torn, the pillows were yellow surposed to be white , no security window could be opened from outside, lucky we only stayed one night . Couldn't get sleep , was so tired, the bed made my skin crawl. Had a shower, the tray filled with water, door didn't shut properly, the toilet was to near the sink cupboard so was difficult. Breakfast was a joke , a small roll and 2 baby pastries coffee in a jug on the side, luke warm, people didn't speak, not even good morning. They must know how bad it is, do not book here its awful.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Nov 19, 2023
I booked this hotel in October 2023 for a stay in May 2024 for 3 nights with flexible rates which is what I always do. Unfortunately I did not read the reviews before booking but rectified this the next day and because they were so bad I cancelled. I received a reply advising me the booking was cancelled at no cost, I also noted further down there was a comment that part of or all of the amount may have been charged and would be refunded shortly. I only discovered this 6 days after cancelling when I found my account had been charged the full amount, over $500 AUD. Despite many calls, emails and messaging there was no reply and no intention of refunding. This caused me a great deal of stress. I finally had to report this through official channels before my money was returned. You have been warned, the reviews are terrible and this company is dishonest to say the least.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Nov 15, 2023
Second visit here as it's anIdeal location but we've gone down for breakfast at 8.15 this morning and everything is locked up and the emergency contact number is switched off! There's a few other hotels along Gower Street that we're going to call into to check out rates for our next visit
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Family
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Sep 25, 2023
Can I just say we stayed in this hotel last night 23rd September & am far from happy.looking at their website & comparing i can only class this as false advertising.i emailed for them to comment before i commit to trip advisor but no response We booked through *********** & are regular clients of theirs.We have stayed a few times at different accomadation on Gower Street due to its location.last time we stayed at Aaron House which although very similar priced was far far superior to this.We paid £173.92 for 1 night on Saturday 23rd September.The booking was for 2 adults & 1 child (10 years) We were given room number 8.This room has 1 double bed with no provision for the child so we should be reimbursed for the child.we should have complained but thought its for 1 night so we will manage.There was no wardrobe just 2 hangars on the back of the door.....totally unacceptable when we needed to hang clothes as we were attending a West End Show. When we booked it was breakfast included.the breakfast was coffee which was cold,mini quoissants which quite frankly were old & rice crispness not even a provision to have toast. While we were there I read reviews & ours is not an isolated incident the place is atrocious pure & simple
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Sep 11, 2023
I felt sorry for the staff who were aware of the various issues with this hotel. The main one being the broken down air-conditioning which wasn't great during London's warmest spell of the year. Looking back at previous reviews these issues go back at least a year so there is obviously no intent on the part of the owners to make customers feel good about staying there. I was given a standing fan to help cool things but this actually created a fire health and safety risk as the chair that was provided had to block the only exit point of the room. Maybe someone should contact the local council
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Aug 26, 2023
Absolutely avoid at all costs just returned 26/08/2023. The rooms are tiny very dusty carpet uncleaned .A tv that has no reception a shower that does not drain properly a sink with no plug . It's not a double bed it's a 3/4 bed . The staff are not welcoming the tea and coffee at breakfast was luke warm .The whole place was a good clean and refurbished from what we seen .
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jul 24, 2023
This would be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The service was appalling. We paid full tariff but were put in a tiny basement room. The shower was unusable as there was no cold water available. Only boiling hot water. The TV didn’t work. We were told that breakfast would be at 7.30 in time for our Eurostar trip but it wasn’t available until after 8.00 when a receptionist finally turned up. No shower. No TV. No breakfast. The manager has not replied to our communications. Avoid!
Cliff
Checked in Jun 2023
Business travelers
2.0/5
Posted on Jun 20, 2023
The room was small and very basic, also quite well worn. The price was suspiciously cheap when I booked it as a central London hotel and my concerns were realised. But it was clean and I slept and I showered, so it only gets a disappointing...
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jun 5, 2023
Would not recommend! Room was tiny and in a basement; bed broken; toilet backing up, shower overflowing, plug other side of the room to mirror, breakfast awful, no hot water for tea or coffee (all served in cold pots), place nosey and in need of repair and full decor.