Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa Reviews

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

Palatine Road, Manchester, M20 2WG, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Britannia Country House Hotel & SpaBritannia Country House Hotel & SpaBritannia Country House Hotel & Spa
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa Guest Reviews

3.1/5
10 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.1
Amenities3.1
Service3.1
Cleanliness3.1
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(10)
Positive reviews(4)
Negative reviews(6)
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Apr 22, 2023
The hotel looks nice outside, but inside its realy terrible. The rooms dont clean every day, if you ask they clean, you must also ask every day clean towels? The carpet all over in the hotel is dirty, the rooms are small and someone even dont have a window?? The breakfast is every morning sober and very simple. I never come here back again!
Response from Property: The Britannia Country House Hotel has been closed since the 23rd March 2020. I would be grateful if you could contact me on customerservices703@britanniahotels.com to confirm which hotel you stayed at so that I can forward your comments onto them for response. Kind Regards
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Feb 27, 2023
Room was basic but perfectly functional. Looks like it might have been an 'old' Travelodge ? Close to the airport and there is a shuttle for £8 each way. Heaps cheaper than the black taxi's at the train station ... who charge £30 ! To get the shuttle there - you would have to contact the hotel for details .... but shuttle from hotel to airport is really easy to organize, when you are there. I ate in the restaurant - it was very good.
Response from Property: The Britannia Country House Hotel has been closed since the 23rd March 2020. I would be grateful if you could contact me on customerservices703@britanniahotels.com to confirm which hotel you stayed at so that I can forward your comments onto them for response. Kind Regards
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 9, 2023
We stopped at this hotel before our flight from Manchester airport The room is spacious and very clean We pre booked a 3 course evening meal The meal was an all you can eat self service with a variety of food We also had breakfast which was very nice I would highly recommend this hotel
Response from Property: The Britannia Country House Hotel has been closed since the 23rd March 2020. I would be grateful if you could contact me on customerservices703@britanniahotels.com to confirm which hotel you stayed at so that I can forward your comments onto them for response. Kind Regards
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Feb 9, 2023
The ********** listing for this hotel states that there is transport between airport and hotel. There is not. It cost me £45 in taxi fares to get to/from Airport. Check-in staff told is that they had repeatedly told ********** that the listing was innacurate but they had failed to correct it. I strongly suspect that this was not true. Room was shabby. Breakfast was poor. Avoid.
Response from Property: The Britannia Country House Hotel has been closed since the 23rd March 2020. I would be grateful if you could contact me on customerservices703@britanniahotels.com to confirm which hotel you stayed at so that I can forward your comments onto them for response. Kind Regards
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jan 7, 2023
I had booked a room at the Britannia Adelphi hotel in Liverpool for the 31st of December to the 1st January. My friend and I were travelling from Manchester to spend our New Year’s Eve celebrations with our friends. When we were returning from our night out back to our hotel, we were stopped by 4 body guards at the door who were checking hotel room numbers, however I did notice they did not stop any of the more elderly people as they went into the hotel. They were asking for my room number, but as I had been out and had only been in my hotel room once before, I couldn’t quite remember my hotel room number, but I had showed them my key card and gave the name on the booking. However they refused to let us in for around 20 mins. And within that time I had actually gave them the correct room number, but they still said it was “incorrect”. We were freezing outside. Also one of my friends was with us as her phone had died and she was trying to get a taxi to her boyfriends house, so we suggested she came back to our hotel to charge her phone, but this turned out to be the reason why the bouncers were being funny about letting us in, as I had only booked for 2. Even though she was not planning to stay, the only way they managed to let us in was when we had offered to pay for her as extra as we were so cold we just wanted to get inside. When letting us in, our friend waited outside, so I had to return back to get her so she could sign a form, but when trying to go back into the building, they didn’t let us back in again as they didn’t like my attitude, so my other friend came out to see what the issue was, but when he came outside the bouncers were very rude and began to be homophobic towards my friend calling him names such as “faggot” this was very distressing to us, so we didn’t take this very well. Then the manager came outside due to the commotion (who appeared to be intoxicated)and kicked us out of the hotel, this was all around 1:30am. When going to collect our things. They would only let me on my own go to the room and I was escorted my 2 males. I was quite unsettled about this as I am a 20 year old girl and was unsure as to why my friend who was booked into the room couldn’t assist me in carrying out things down. And I had to gather Mine and my friends bags, and when taking them downstairs neither of the men offered to help carry my things and I was clearly struggling. And when I returned my male friend was very upset as the bouncers had been horrible to him while I was collecting our things. We tried to get into another hotel but there was no were else to go as everywhere was fully booked up due to it being New Year’s Eve. Luckily this one hotel let us stay in their lobby while we charged our phones so we could try and get an Uber to Manchester… we felt helpless. Fortunately we got an Uber, costing us an extra £80 on top of the payment we had already paid to the hotel which we never had got to stay in. I am disgusted in the way we were all trea
XyanseAChloe
Checked in Dec 2022
Couples
1.0/5
Posted on Dec 8, 2022
DONT STAY IF YOUR AFTER A Nights sleep. I’m not one for reviews but I’m going to try and warn you from staying in this place. I’ve never experienced anything like this in my life. First of all we checked in around 2ish with a massive queue of people already waiting. Got given our room. Second floor. When entering the room we noticed no fixed light. We had a small bed side lap. There was only one working plug socket in the room. Okay I said bareable I’ve payed cheap. Went to put my head down at about 10ish to be treated with noise from about 3 other rooms. People coughing, sneezing joking etc. Very un bareable. Went down to reception with the answer there isn’t anything they can do. Went back up to me room and had to book another hotel.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2022
Friends
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Nov 26, 2022
Visited the Kedleston country house for a meal and asked the manager who was sitting at his computer ( restaurant not busy) about future events regarding Santa visit. I asked about my toddler grandson just paying for the visit, he appeared bemused about arrangements, stating you had to have a meal/ afternoon tea. Didn’t seem to be aware that you could just pay for a visit!! He told me to visit their website🤷‍♀️ For such a lovely looking hotel , beautifully decorated they need someone to come in and really manage the hotel and restaurant to secure its future.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2022
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 8, 2022
Near to airport. £15 for taxi to terminal 1 as we left car in the hotels secure carpark. Excellent service. Have used before, will use again. It won't let me submit the review without using a minimum of 200 so here it us
Response from Property: The Britannia Country House Hotel has been closed since the 23rd March 2020. I would be grateful if you could contact me on customerservices703@britanniahotels.com to confirm which hotel you stayed at so that I can forward your comments to them. Kind Regards
Guest User
Checked in May 2022
Couples
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on May 9, 2022
I'm usually not fussy with a bit of peeling paint or tired décor so much, but for the fact we had to change rooms twice due to so many problems (TV and radiator not working, leaking toilet) it just spoiled a whole day for a holiday away from our stressful jobs. I understand you pay for what you get but unfortunately I booked this hotel at a last minute so the price seemed a bit much considering the problems we faced on the first day, there were also alot of noisy young drunkards late at night but I guess you can't stop them Two of the staff were lovely but I couldn't remember their names, one was a female receptionist with dark hair who was very bubbly and the other was another receptionist, male of chinese heritage. He was the one who changed our room and apologized for the troubles. All the other staff we encountered were very cold.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2021
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Dec 6, 2021
I’m literally sat typing this at 3:03am because I can’t get any sleep. - When I arrived, the 2 members of staff working at reception were arguing with each other and the girl who served me was in a foul mood (unprofessional) - The bed is uncomfortable - Charged £7 to use wifi for one night stay (most hotels offer it in the package) - There were hairs in the bath from the last person (during covid-19 pandemic) - The soap dispenser in the bath was empty - The hotel seems to be used as a hostel for some people to live in and as it’s after 3am, I can still hear people with the TV on in their room loud. - People chatting outside whilst smoking. It means when I open the window, I smell the smoke and risk setting the fire alarm off. I didn’t realise it was a Britannia hotel. I’ve had shocking experiences in these hotels before but until you get here, you don’t realise as the name isn’t obvious on the booking. If I’d known I’d have avoided it.
Response from Property: The Britannia Country House Hotel has been closed since the 23rd March 2020. I would be grateful if you could contact me on customerservices703@britanniahotels.com to confirm which hotel you stayed at so that I can forward your comments onto them for response. Kind Regards