Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Reviews

Castello Banfi - Il Borgo

Poggio alle Mura, Montalcino, Tuscany, 53024, ItalyView Hotel Details
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il BorgoCastello Banfi - Il BorgoCastello Banfi - Il Borgo
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Castello Banfi - Il Borgo Guest Reviews

4.9/5
Outstanding
53 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.9
Amenities4.9
Service4.9
Cleanliness4.9
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(53)
Positive reviews(41)
Reviews with photos/video(5)
Guest User
Junior Suite Non smoking
Checked in Sep 2023
Family
10 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 28, 2023
Facilities: Very good, clean swimming pool, clean rooms Hygiene: very good Environment: super good Service: Super good The 13th-century castle was taken over by Americans and turned into a winery and hotel. The rooms are super large and luxurious, and the most important thing is to be close to nature. Just outside the back door of the hotel is your own vineyard and olive grove, where you can cycle, hike, and do various things. kind of activity. You can also visit the winery, which is great~~~
Original TextTranslated by Google
FabulousFidel
Checked in May 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 30, 2024
For Avid fans of Brunello di Montalcino, Banfi needs no introduction. Driving from Rome it was easy to find. But the welcome and the attention to detail we got at Poggio Alle Mura was first class. The premier room we had in this boutique hotel was wonderful. Spotless, relaxing, quiet and with two enormous bathrooms. The Michelin starred restaurant I will write a separate review for. The staff were all wonderful. Local Italians were supported by some notably great Portugese colleagues. Everyone who worked there were excellent and this was a truly truly first class and relaxing experience. The wine tour was very interesting, the Taverna had great food, and the very knowledgeable Lisa, taught me that a British person can be an expert in wine AND speak perfect, fluent Italian. This lady was as inspirational as the setting, the team, the welcome the food and the wine- all wonderful. Thank you I will be back next year.
Response from Property: It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have fully enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased to know that you have especially appreciated the wine tour and winetasting experience at our Enoteca and that you had the opportunity to get to know our colleague Lisa, who is always delighted to share her passion and wine knowledge. Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 26, 2024
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff, great food, would definitely stay again! Such a relaxing, peaceful place to enjoy time as a couple!
B8077QZmagalic
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 8, 2024
The property is just stunning. The views on Val d’Orcia are incredible. The room was large and magical, countryside luxury at its best. The outside heated pool was a delightful surprise. Breakfast lunch and dinners were fantastic. The wine tasting tour was fun and educational at the same time. The staff is great and is very attentive. A real gem!
Response from Property: Thank you for taking your time to leave this lovely review regarding your stay at Castello Banfi Wine Resort. We are delighted to know that you have appreciated the views, the room, the outdoor heated pool, the breakfast, lunch, dinners and also the winery tour and tasting. We hope we will have a future occasion to welcome you back! Grazie mille.
537ianp537
Checked in May 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 29, 2024
Castello Banfi is a lovely place to take a short retreat in beautiful and astonishingly quiet surroundings. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, with luxurious linens. The pool was pleasantly warm considering relatively cool weather. The view is lovely. We enjoyed two excellent meals at the Taverna. The staff are gracious and welcoming.
Response from Property: Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Castello Banfi Wine Resort. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the quite atmosphere typical of this magical hills which offer an outstanding view and that you also have appreciated the comfort of our rooms and our heated pool. Thank you also for your note of your meals at our Tuscan La Taverna and we are grateful to read about the special kindness and care of the whole team. Grazie mille!
Sherpa12551105784
Checked in May 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 3, 2024
My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Castello Banfi iL Borgo, one we will never forget. This was not only a taste of Tuscany- it is what Tuscany is all about- the landscape and vineyards. The service provided was warm and friendly, the ambience unforgettable, the Tuscan architecture of the historic castle incredible, and the cuisine at La Taverna and Sala dei Grappoli innovative and artfully presented. Our compliments to all who work at Castello Banfi.
Response from Property: We are pleased to know that you have appreciated your stay at Castello Banfi Il Borgo, immersed in the Tuscan landscape of the Brunello di Montalcino vineyards. We are also glad that you have fully enjoyed the experience, visiting our restaurants La Taverna and at our Michelin Star La Sala dei Grappoli. Thank you so much!
Sightsee28378959497
Checked in May 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 30, 2023
Banfi has expansive, lush, drop dead views (that alone is saying a lot in Tuscany). I liked the clear and welcome division between the Borgo (a really small private building near huge cypress trees) and the Banfi tasting area so that it feels quite secluded and private. Michelin restaurant was fantastic, and the chef has a really honed sense of humor re the amuse-bouche...literally laughed out loud a few times with his entertaining presentations. I enjoyed a down to earth and educational wine tasting, and also appreciated pre-dinner cocktails in the cozy fire-lit library (lots of interior design books to sample!). They went out of their way to rescue my husband on a bike ride during a nasty storm. But most of all, Banfi clearly stands by their hospitality standards and services; there was a small wrinkle and I felt they were incredibly generous with their response. I want to thank the whole team, both at La Sala dei Grappoli and the Borgo sincerely for that, and we certainly hope to be back to this stupendous location.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 26, 2023
Castello Bnafi - Il Borgo is a luxury resort featuring great wine and food. Our junior suite was huge, the bed incredibly comfortable and the largest bathroom I've ever seen. It is surrounded by vineyards that produce the grapes for the great Banfi Brunello di Montalcino Poggio alle Mura, that we biked through using the resort's electric-boosted bikes. Two excellent restaurants on the premises and a nice breakfast is included. A great wine store: we shipped home a 6L-botte and a few other 750 ml-bottles of Banfi Brunellos. While there, we also took a private tour of other Brunello vineyards and wineries and the town of Montalcino. I cannot wait to go back!
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 11, 2023
Location 👍 Luxurious Lodging 👍 Exceptional and friendly staff 👍 Photogenic property 👍 Panoramic views of Tuscan Countryside 👍 Complimentary wine 👍 Tasty Breakfast and lunch 👍 My only regret is that I couldn’t stay longer than a single day and night. But oh the happy memories from that 24 hour period. Other 5* resorts should have Castello Banfi mentor them. I reviewed the Michelin 1* restaurant La Sala dei Grappoli, Ristorante La Taverna, and the m Enoteca (Excellence Tour) separately, but each segment adds up to an experience not to be missed. Granted , all together it was not a cheap experience but so well worth it and in my mind excellent value for money. This is an ideal location for celebrations, honeymoons or just a quiet getaway from the stress of modern life (my adventure was the latter). If you only had one day to enjoy the Tuscan countryside and wine region, Castello Banfi would be your destination.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 18, 2023
This is the most beautiful hotels I have ever stay and see : a unique service since your arrival with Silvia’s attention , the restaurants , their special waitress, the food was delicious and in a very romantic environment. The castle by itself, the views are breathtaking and last but not least the little cottage where we stayed ! ❤️❤️Definitely 💯 recommended! Is a dream to stayed in this place, unforgettable!!
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 19, 2023
This is a one night type of property. Nice pool, outdoor gym and room. We stayed in a huge suite #27. The layout is a bit strange, but for one night it was fun to stay in a historical room. Quiet with some views, but not expansive. Showers have a odor from the drain that goes away once you run the water. We didn’t eat at the Michelin restaurant but did enjoy a nice breakfast prior to departure. If you need a stop along your journey book this hotel with confidence.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 6, 2023
This place been our Coup de coeur of our trip. All points been over our expectations. Landscape, views, swimming pool, hospitality, service, all free complementaries, fantastic room, efficiency and more!
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 4, 2023
Absolutely stunning hotel with incredible accommodations. Our room was spacious and relaxing, and the view of the vineyards is awe-inspiring. The staff was very helpful. We really loved the cocktails at the late night “reading room” — fantastic drinks made by two wildly talented bartenders who have carved out a truly special spot at Castello Banfi.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 29, 2023
From the moment you arrive you feel warmly welcomed at this beautiful castle resort. Every member of the staff are genuine and friendly. They remember you and your wishes. The accommodations are first class and the view’s breathtaking.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 26, 2023
Impressive place to visit in Tuscany is one of the main attractions of the area. If you want an exceptional wine experience, they have a restaurant where they provide wine tasting. Also the historical castel is a great place to visit. We will come back.