Moana Sands Lagoon Resort

Moana Sands Lagoon Resort Reviews

Moana Sands Lagoon Resort

Ara Tapu, Ngatangiia District, Ngatangiia, Southern Cook Islands, Cook IslandsView Hotel Details
Moana Sands Lagoon Resort
Moana Sands Lagoon ResortMoana Sands Lagoon ResortMoana Sands Lagoon Resort
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Moana Sands Lagoon Resort Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
55 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.5
Service4.5
Cleanliness4.5
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(55)
Positive reviews(31)
Reviews with photos/video(3)
wendog28
Checked in May 2024
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 22, 2024
The resort is very clean and tidy, and the rooms are well appointed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were disappointed in breakfast. We booked thus resort with the understanding that breakfast was included. On the first morning, we discovered that only a continental breakfast is included. All hot breakfasts are to be paid for. This continental consisted of bread to toast, jam, peanut butter, Marmite, oats, and sultanas, very tired looking fruit, usually just two different fruits, and a bowl of yoghurt. The restaurant bar did not open until 3pm, and did not offer a happy hour. We had dinner a couple of times in the restaurant, and the food was very good. This resort is close enough to the night markets, museum, and shops. If you are looking for a quiet little resort, this one is for you.
Response from Property: Kia Orana Wendog. Meitaki Maata (thank you) for your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed the room and our welcoming staff. All of our room rates do indeed include a continental breakfast and additional hot items can also be ordered should you wish. Laguna Restaurant is operated by a third party, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your meals when you dined with them. Again, thank you for your time in writing this review and we do hope you will return to our sunny shores in the future. Moana Sands Hotel Group.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 10, 2024
Great location, lovely service from the pick up to the reception and the wonderful lady at breakfast! The rooms are huge, with modern bathroom and direct access to the pool (ground floor rooms). Hotel location is very convenient to Muri (easy 10-12min walk to Muri Night markets). Breakfast is simple - toast, jams, fresh fruit (had my fill of mangoes!!!), cereals and tea/coffee/juice. You can also order eggs for extra if you wanted cooked breakfast. We borrowed reef shows and flippers as we brought our own snorkelling gear, but u can borrow that as well. Easy drive to all the best beaches near by or you can even walk to the snorkelling beach like Fruits Beach. Great value for money! Tip: we had a late night 10pm flight and after checkout, went on Captain Tamas cruise (highly recommended!!!). We were able to come back at 4pm, and they let us have a long hot shower in one of the empty rooms, and gave us fresh towels and shower gel etc....this was a great bonus to be able to access this after checkout!!!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
The most amazing place, the rooms where beautiful 😍 Nice big rooms, beautiful bathroom the color scheme was lovely. The swimming pool was really good on a beautiful hot day. Meals in the restaurant where very yummy especially the duck. The ladies are so friendly ❤️🏝🍸
Response from Property: Kia Orana Julie. We are delighted you enjoyed your time at Moana Sands Lagoon Resort and dining at Laguna Restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to the sunny Cook Islands in the not too distant future! Meitaki Maata
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 12, 2024
Nice resort in Muri. The rooms are clean and the pool is great. There's an onsite restaurant that offers complimentary continental breakfast or you can purchase something cooked. In the off season the restaurant isn't open for lunch or dinner every day.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Feb 7, 2024
During our recent stay at Moana Sands Lagoon, we encountered a mix of positives and negatives that left us feeling quite underwhelmed, especially when compared to other tropical destinations we’ve experienced in Vietnam, Thailand, and Indonesia. Positives: • Our room was spacious with beautiful views overlooking the pool and the ocean, which was a highlight at sunrise • The availability of snorkels, fins, and reef shoes for guest use was a nice touch, allowing for easy exploration of the ocean’s beauty. • The provision of a free washing machine and dryer added convenience to our stay. • The barista coffee in the restaurant was notably good, and the inclusion of soy milk was appreciated. • The staff generally displayed friendliness and a welcoming attitude. • The hotel’s location, just a short walk from a handy small shop and the necessity for transport, emphasizes the need to hire a car, which can be quite an adventure in itself. Negatives: • The overall atmosphere of the hotel was lacking. There was no background music and minimal staff interaction, which contributed to a somewhat soulless experience. • The bar’s happy hour was disappointing, offering no happy hour prices and limited opening hours that did not cater to guests wishing for daytime cocktails by the pool or even lunch options. • A personal instance that highlighted the lackluster service was when requesting ice; being told to fetch it myself from the bar and then feeling like an inconvenience merely for asking. • The closure of the bar and restaurant on Sunday (and unexpectedly the following day) was a significant inconvenience, leaving us without on-site dining options. • The fact the restaurant is is a separate business to the hotel with a limited offering does provide a bad customer experience and doesn’t reflect well on the hotel and the way customers think of the Moana Sands brand. Overall: Moana Sands Lagoon oozes potential but seems to be doing the bare minimum for its guests. As a no-kids resort on a tropical island, the expectation for a relaxing and indulgent experience, including cocktails by the pool, was not met. With some effort to enhance the atmosphere, service, and amenities, Moana Sands could truly become a standout destination. Until then, it feels like a missed opportunity to deliver a memorable guest experience.
sharon k
Checked in Jan 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2024
Very clean, great helpful staff, clean comfortable bed and pillows. Great pool. Adults only and very quiet. Terrific food at the restaurant. Beautiful clean grounds with a beautiful view of the lagoon. Filtered water and lovely complimentary toiletries.
Scenic37762771236
Checked in Jan 2024
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 17, 2024
Everything about this resort was made for a relaxing stay. All staff were great. The restaurant was excellent with good coffee. Every room has a nice view of the lagoon and the pool. It’s a short walk to various shops, restaurants and night markets as well as the main area of Muri Beach. Also, a short walk to Charlie’s and not too far from a variety of snorkelling with turtles tours. I’d stay here again.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 17, 2023
Just had the best stay here. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The location is perfect - it's a delightful 15min or so walk to Muri Beach. There's a shop close by and you can catch the bus to anywhere straight outside the hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Response from Property: Kia Orana Daydream. Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your room, the location and the teams hospitality. We hope to welcome you back to the Cooks in the not too distant future. Moana Sands Group.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 15, 2023
This is an adult only resort in Muri , beautful accomadation, rooms clean and comfortable. Staff are amazing and friendly, buses stop outside so easy to get about the island. Night market is nearby for good food
Response from Property: Meitaki Karen! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Moana Sands Lagoon Resort. We look forward to seeing you soon :)
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We absolutely loved it at Moana Sands Logan Resort. Accommodation was excellent and very clean. All the staff were lovely and they all went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was delicious and dinner was Devine, and cocktails were amazing!! View is amazing, we had the best time and will be back. Thank you all so much, love Ange and Steve Epiha x
Response from Property: Kia Orana Thank you for your kind review, the team are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in the beautiful Cook Islands. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future. Meitaki ma'ata e kia manuia
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 25, 2023
Fantastic place to eat, we didn't stay, but they were welcoming and really did impress us with flare and personality. The food was just beautiful, cooked to perfection and displayed beautifully. Our waitress had the most wonderful personality and I'm sorry I cannot remember her name, we booked from the Muri Hideaway.
Response from Property: Kia Orana Vicky. Meitaki (thank you) so much for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal at Laguna Restaurant, it really is a wonderful spot isn't it :) Wishing you all the best. Moana Sands Group.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 30, 2023
The rooms were very clean and a really good size. The pool area was clean and the views are amazing. The only reason for not giving 5 stars was due to the restaurant not being open during the day so you could not get a drink or any food and had to go elsewhere. It would just have been really nice to have been able to stay by the pool all day. Other than that, it was a lovely hotel.
Response from Property: Kia Orana Nomad. Thank you for your review, and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your accommodation and views. We have passed on your feedback regarding the opening hours to Laguna Restaurant, as the establishment is independently owned and operated. We are lucky to have convenience stores offering alcoholic beverages, snacks and hot options just a hundred meters or so away where a lot of our guests purchase items from to enjoy while poolside. We do hope to welcome you back to the Cook Islands in the future! Moana Sands Group.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 28, 2023
This review is for the spa/massage service as a non-resort guest. Had a fantastic massage from April! She was highly skilled and felt very relaxed. Only reason for not being 5 stars is location of the massage within the resort. With such a beautiful setting in Muri it would be great if the massage area could be better positioned to take in all the amazing views while enjoying the massage. That being said I felt amazing after my massage with April!
Response from Property: Kia Orana Steveriki. Meitaki (thank you) for your review of Hibiscus Spa, we are delighted you enjoyed your treatment! Wishing you all the best. Moana Sands Group
amandabE3232UJ
Checked in Jun 2023
Solo travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 8, 2023
I stayed 3 nights at this property. It is very clean and quiet, with nice ocean and pool views. Breakfast was good and staff at the restaurant were friendly. The property is only a 5-minute drive to the Muri night market. My only complaint was staying downstairs, I was woken up by a heavy walker upstairs at 6 am every day. Otherwise perfect stay!
Response from Property: Kia Orana amandabE3232UJ. Thank you so much for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back to the Cook Islands in the future! Warm Regards Moana Sands Group
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 9, 2023
Had an amazing time at the Moana Sands Lagoon Resort. Everything was perfect! The staff were lovely and the Laguna Resturant food was amazing. We will definitely be back to stay here again. Loved Rarotonga and the Friendly people of The Cook Islands.