Le Grand Pakbeng

Le Grand Pakbeng Reviews

Le Grand Pakbeng

Ban Donkham, Pakbeng District, Oudomxay Province, Pakbeng, LaosView Hotel Details
Le Grand Pakbeng
Le Grand PakbengLe Grand PakbengLe Grand Pakbeng
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Le Grand Pakbeng Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
36 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.6
Service4.6
Cleanliness4.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(36)
Positive reviews(36)
Reviews with photos/video(2)
Marsy Travel
River Front Bungalow
Checked in Dec 2023
Couples
7 Reviews
4.5/5
Great
Posted on Jan 18, 2024
Luxury hotel in the Laotian wilderness. We arrived on a slow boat and spent New Year's Eve there. Unfortunately, no festive event was held at the hotel, which was a little disappointing, because there is absolutely nothing to do in the village. More about traveling around Laos in the MarsyTravel tg channel About the hotel itself: – it is located farthest from the pier, upon arrival you are greeted by an electric car, but then if you want to take a walk to the center of the village you will have to walk through the dark and hills for about 15 minutes - hotel on the mountain, there will be a little exercise to go to the pool or restaurant -breakfast is delicious and generous -wonderful bungalow with great view, but limited supply of hot water -the water in the unheated pool is quite cold
Original TextTranslated by Google
6/7
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 18, 2024
I stayed one night coming from a boat tour on the Mekong. The hotel itself is amazing - stunning location, great sunset, nice pool area. The rooms were spot on, good beds, rain showers, well-equipped. This is definitely a good place to relax a few days on a trip through Laos. On the contrary, the staff of the hotel didn't really speak English and was not exactly friendly. The continental breakfast options were rather poor. Also, they charged $10 for a TukTuk ride to town, which was quite a bit overpriced given that it's like 2km away.
Camper30842201107
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 5, 2024
What a lovely hotel. Our only regret is that we didn’t book an additional night. The staff were absolutely fantastic, efficient and friendly. We had a lovely dinner overlooking the Mekong River and they had a bottle of Cava on the wine list that was chilled to perfection and reasonably priced. The room and shower had a fantastic view of the Mekong. The staff obviously work very long hours but were so happy, efficient and experienced. If you have a choice of hotels when on the slow boat I’d definitely recommend this one. If you have the chance, book an additional night.
Jane
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 3, 2024
The rooms were big and had everything you need. Nice views too and lovely pool. The food was basic in the restaurant but it’s probably no different to any food you would get in the area. If it was served hot it would be a huge improvement. We skipped breakfast to avoid further disappointment so they gave us a packed breakfast to take on the boat, not great food but great that they made the effort. It felt a bit overpriced for the area.
mdglobetrotter
Checked in Jan 2024
Solo travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 15, 2024
Like virtually everyone who stops in Pakbeng, I was here strictly as an overnight on a Mekong cruise. The hotel is a bit of absolutely lovely luxury in truly the middle of nowhere (with apologies to Pakbeng). The hotel has transportation ready to go to make the quick trip from your boat to the hotel. Check in is unusually well organized, which is a real blessing, given that a fair number of people arrive at once, who are tired, and want to settle into their room. The rooms are simply lovely. Beautiful wooden floors. Very comfortable beds. Extremely nice bathrooms. The rooms have AC and fans to boot. Everything is extremely clean. Outside each room is a little sitting area with a view of the Mekong and the entire hotel is situated with a spectacular view just above it. I had both dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Dinner is a set course meal that was lovely and fit the ticket perfectly. Very high-quality food but also didn’t take too long after a long day. Breakfast is a very nice buffet. I believe you could also get eggs or pancakes made too. The hotel has a small pool with a great view. Sadly, I didn’t get the chance to use it. I suspect this is common with guests who arrive late on the boat and leave early the next morning. I should mention that the hotel manager is completely on top of everything at this place. He really deserves full marks for making sure everything runs like clockwork, and is truly lovely in a place where I suspected as far from easy to do so. Thank you for a lovely stay.
bmw555
Checked in Jan 2024
Friends
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 15, 2024
Lives up to its name. The room was lovely. Seperate little chalet type with own outside terrace. The shower room overlooks the Mekong river with superb views. Unfortunately the pool was closed due to some problem. Had a lovely meal in the restaurant and the breakfast was also very nice. Staff very friendly and even knew your name which makes it that more special.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 8, 2024
Lovely hotel above the town with wonderful views of the river. Beautiful room in an individual building with private balcony and a shower with a view. Very friendly staff who are always very happy to help. There are no accessible rooms, every part of the hotel is accessed via steep steps, but the views are wonderful. Nice infinity pool with river views. We stayed two nights and enjoyed having the hotel to ourselves during the day.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 30, 2023
Wow, if you are taking the slow boat from Huay Xai to Luang Prabang, this is the place to stay for your overnight in Pakbeng. Beautiful complex, immaculate, well-appointed rooms with drop dead gorgeous views over the Mekong, good food and a pretty spectacular infinity pool to watch the sunset. The entire staff was great and the general manager checked in with us personally to ensure we were happy -- which we were!
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 19, 2023
Location location! Stunning views from the bedroom & small balcony overlooking the Mekong River. Excellent infinity swimming pool with bar facilities. Huge bedroom with large shower & separate toilet. (No TV but we didn't want one). Fabulous dinner & reasonable breakfast boxes as we were on a 2 day Mekong cruise. Would have loved to stay longer!
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 4, 2023
Excellent hotel in the middle of nowhere! We were cruising down the Mekong for 2 days and stopped here overnight. Very attentive staff, beautiful rooms looking down on the river. Infinity pool with the same view. Food of reasonable standard. Lovely.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 22, 2023
Unbelievably good. Syraif (the manager) was everywhere at once, so helpful and incredible customer service. The hotel is just wow. The views, the pool, the food and the staff are all brilliant. The rooms are huge with priceless views. We only stopped for one night as part of our Nagi of Mekong river boat tour and an extra night here would’ve been lovely. There isn’t a town, are only able to stay at the hotel but you wouldn’t want to be anywhere else.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 15, 2023
Having had wonderful 1 night stays here pre Covid, I was finally able to return - this time for 2 nights - breaking the 2 day Le Grand Cruise Slow Boat trip from Houy Xay to Luang Prabang. The boat & boat trip were fabulous - lunches on board were excellent (catered for all dietary requirements), guide was excellent, scenery stunning and village visits enroute were a special treat. The Hotel was still as memorable as previous visits with stunning views from all our beautiful rooms, wonderful staff and service (especially the manager Syarif). Breakfasts and Dinners were excellent, enjoyed on the terrace overlooking the Mekong. During our day in Pakbeng we visited the Mekong Elephant Sanctuary (amazing & educational experience - by far the best the many Sanctuaries I have visited) and visited a small local village - yet another memorable experience. Both of these activities can easily be arranged by the Hotel. The Le Grand Cruise Slow Boat trip and Hotel were most definitely the highlight of our trip through Northern Thailand and Laos and highly recommended. I certainly hope to return next year. The problem of the ‘hilly terrain’ of the resort was not a problem as the staff provided carts to transport people whenever requested / needed!
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 5, 2023
I stayed at Grand Pakbeng for one night during my Mekong river cruise from Thailand to Laos. It was a wonderful experience. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the river and the town of Pakbeng. The view was amazing, especially at sunset and sunrise. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a balcony, a minibar, a TV and a safe. The bathroom was modern and well-equipped, with a shower, a bathtub, a hairdryer and toiletries. The staff was very friendly and helpful, they greeted me with a welcome drink and a fruit basket, and helped me with my luggage and my visa. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, with both local and western options. The hotel also has a restaurant, a bar, a pool. The hotel is a great value for money and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing and luxurious place to stay in Pakbeng
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 5, 2023
The property is beautiful, the staff is exceptional. I had a short stay there on my Shampoo cruise line down the Mekong. Would of been nice to stay longer. Do wear mosquito spray while there. The weather was nice so all the doors and windows are open in the restaurant and bar. The management was eager to please and my lovely waiter got up early just to make me a cappuccino before I boarded my boat.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 14, 2023
The hotel was nice - likely the nicest hotel in town. The service was excellent and the staff very accommodating. They kept the pool open late for us to that we could swim after our boat arrived. Everything was clean and the food was very good. The location was a little less than ideal, since it was a $10 taxi ride to the main part of town. Importantly, the hotel is built on a hill and you do need to hike up or down 100 meters or so to reach your room. It's a steep hike too, so even if the staff carries you bag for you, I would hesitate to stay at the hotel if I had mobility issues.