HL Club Playa Blanca

HL Club Playa Blanca Reviews

HL Club Playa Blanca

Av. Faro Pechiguera, 2, Playa Blanca, Canary Islands, 35580, SpainView Hotel Details
HL Club Playa Blanca
HL Club Playa BlancaHL Club Playa BlancaHL Club Playa Blanca
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

HL Club Playa Blanca Guest Reviews

4.2/5
Very Good
40 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.2
Amenities4.2
Service4.2
Cleanliness4.2
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(40)
Positive reviews(38)
Reviews with photos/video(11)
Negative reviews(2)
Peter R
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
1.0/5
Posted on Jun 27, 2024
Took my lovely family to this hotel 3 weeks ago never again. Absoulate disgrace of a place had food poisoning from eating at the all inclusive restaurant food cold pre warmed up for days I'm guessing spent 2 days in bed with sickness and diarrhea which spoilt my holiday also my partner she had sickness and diarrhea also due to eating the food. Also would like to say how terrible certain staff are on the site told midway through my holiday could stay until our 6pm until coach arrived on last day and pay 10 euros per hour as had 2 very young children with us and 10am on our last morning told no rooms spare and got kicked out of the hotel know where to go and my daughter who has Autism was left crying for most of the day. So will never return to this place and would advise other people to do the same unless you want to become ill from eating the most horrendous food I have ever eaten in my life. The manager needs to sort this place out otherwise should be closed down. Have attached one picture to see why so many people are coming here and becoming ill food terrible.
Response from Property: Dear guest, Thank you for creating a profile to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that after your stay, you have not been satisfied with the hotel. Of course, we take your feedback into account as well as all the positive feedback we always get. Cleanliness and hygiene are of utmost importance to us, and it is concerning to read about your experience. Food poisoning is a very important accusation and it must be confirmed by a doctor (that has not been the case). There is a Norovirus in the area and also in the UK, as it can be seen in a recent new in the Daily Mail. That means that the origin may be from different reasons, it may not be the gastronomy, but a virus. food poisoning is a very important accusation and that must be proven by a doctor. We take such reports very seriously and will be investigating these matters thoroughly to ensure that such incidents do not occur in the future. Regarding the late checkout, we inform every guest that since it depends on the occupancy, it may not be available, since the following guest deserves to have their room on time, in order to keep providing good service. It is not something mandatory or included. Of course, we do out best to ensure it but people must be comprehensive with this. Best regards, The Management.
sarah1905167
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
3.0/5
Posted on Jun 26, 2024
After previous fab holidays to Club Playa Blanca. My adult daughter & I returned for a week. Definitely a hotel geared towards families with young children. The hotel reception staff are very helpful & the ground & pool lovely but very noisy. Food very repetitive & both of us got upset tummies. Probably coincidence not sure. Tea & coffee NOT available during lunch & dinner in the main restaurant. Our bungalow was very well appointed & clean but twice we were awoken by housekeeping around 8am ! Politely asked if they could return a bit later - they didn’t. Beds & towels not changed once in the whole week- would have expected 1 change mid holiday. Could do with some maintenance in public areas (pool loos). Wasn’t keen on all drinks from the bars being served in paper cups - not very eco friendly in a world environmentally aware. Only time you could get a drink in a glass was in the restaurant. Not really a hotel for adults . Playa Blanca is beautiful but if you’re a couple adults only party there are plenty of alternatives.
Response from Property: Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay at Club Playa Blanca. We appreciate both your positive comments and the constructive criticism, which will help us improve our services. Helpful Reception Staff: We're glad to hear that you found our reception staff very helpful. We strive to offer friendly and efficient service to all our guests. Lovely Grounds and Pool Area: It's good to know that you appreciated the hotel's grounds and pool area, despite the noise level. Areas for Improvement Geared Towards Families: We understand your point that the hotel is more suited to families with young children. We'll ensure this aspect is more clearly communicated to prospective guests. Repetitive Food and Upset Stomachs: We're sorry to hear about your experience with the food. While it's possible it was coincidental, we will investigate this matter to ensure our food quality and variety meet all guests' expectations. Housekeeping Issues: We apologize for the early wake-up calls and the lack of bed and towel changes. Your feedback will be shared with our housekeeping team to prevent similar issues in the future. Maintenance Needs: We'll address the maintenance issues you noted, particularly in the pool bathrooms, to ensure they meet our standards. Eco-Friendliness and Paper Cups: We recognize the importance of eco-friendly practices. We'll review our current policies regarding the use of paper cups and explore more sustainable options. Adult-Friendly Amenities: We understand that the hotel may not fully meet the needs of adults or couples without children. We'll work on highlighting our family-oriented services more clearly and consider ways to enhance the experience for adult guests. We regret that your stay did not fully meet your expectations, especially after previous positive experiences. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve our services and facilities. If you have any further suggestions or if there's anything we can do to make up for your recent experience, please feel free to contact us directly. Best regards, The Management Team
leannel387
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 22, 2024
Lovely time away with family. Lovely hotel. Always clean and staff very friendly, food good always found something to eat. would definitely recommend . Entertainment good. Would stay again when visiting lanzarote. Overall lovely place.
Response from Property: Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Cleanliness: We're pleased to know that you found the hotel always clean. Our housekeeping team works diligently to maintain a high standard of cleanliness for our guests. Friendly Staff: It's great to hear that our staff made a positive impression on you with their friendliness. We strive to create a welcoming and hospitable environment for all our guests. Good Food: We're glad you enjoyed the food and found something to eat at every meal. Our culinary team aims to provide a variety of delicious options to suit all tastes. Entertainment: It's fantastic to hear that you found the entertainment enjoyable. We aim to offer activities and entertainment that enhance the overall experience for our guests. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lanzarote. Best regards, The Management Team
Tamsin R
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 21, 2024
Amazing staff, friendly always happy. Good food, lots of options. Very kid friendly. Amazing views. Nice swimming area Cleaning staff were always helpful Done a nice gesture for my grans birthday. Reception helpful with taxi ect. Nice drinks
Response from Property: Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you had such an amazing time and appreciate your kind words. Friendly Staff: We're delighted that our staff left a positive impression on you with their friendliness and happiness. We strive to create a welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. Delicious Food: It's great to hear that you enjoyed the variety of food options we offer. We aim to cater to all tastes and preferences. Kid-Friendly Environment: We're glad that you found our hotel to be very kid-friendly. Ensuring a pleasant stay for families is very important to us. Scenic Views: The beautiful views are indeed one of the highlights of our location, and we're pleased that you appreciated them. Swimming Area: We're happy you enjoyed our swimming area. Providing a clean and enjoyable pool area is a priority for us. Helpful Cleaning Staff: It's wonderful to hear that our cleaning staff were always helpful and attentive to your needs. Birthday Gesture: We are thrilled that you appreciated the gesture for your grandmother's birthday. Celebrating special occasions with our guests brings us great joy. Reception Services: It's great to know that our reception team was helpful with arranging taxis and other services. Refreshing Drinks: We're glad you enjoyed the drinks we offer. Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing stay in the future. Best regards, The Management Team
Zara T
Checked in Jun 2024
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 21, 2024
Lovely personality, made us feel very welcome and included. Made our holiday ten times better with his big personality. We would recommend coming, and definitely will be back. Been to lots of hotels around Spain and by far the most entertaining.
N2322CQjadet
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 21, 2024
The entertainment by the pool, lifted the atmosphere we had a great time. The staffs positive mood is infectious, we are really happy with their fun attitude it made our holiday experience 10x better. Thank you so much to the entertainment staff!
Response from Property: Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your delightful experience at our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had such a positive time with us. Vibrant Entertainment: We're glad to hear that the poolside entertainment enhanced your holiday atmosphere. Creating a lively and enjoyable environment is something we take great pride in. Infectious Positivity: It's wonderful to know that our staff's positive mood was infectious and contributed significantly to your experience. We believe that a happy team can create a memorable holiday for our guests. Fun Attitude: We are pleased that our staff's fun attitude made your holiday experience 10 times better. Your appreciation is truly motivating for our team. Thank you for your kind words and for highlighting the efforts of our entertainment staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay. Best regards, The Management Team
rockfist
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 12, 2024
Oh where to begin! Just had a wonderful week here with my wife and two kids (4+7) Positives: All inclusive was plentiful Some were complaining about the variety of food but we always found good food and plenty of it Beer and cocktails were great Staff were fantastic and very helpful Kids club and entertainment were fantastic, kids were wrecked and straight to bed each night Bungalow was fantastic and cleaned well each day except for Sunday Grounds were immaculate (some guests were horrible and left cigarette butts around but these were always gone quick enough) Pool great, no problem getting loungers, but some complained of it being too cold. I didn't find it cold but a nice relief from the sun. The gym was excellent and great for a break from the bar Negatives: The one day that the bungalow wasn't cleaned, Sunday, we were left with no tools to clean it ourselves. Says a lot that the only negative wasn't really a negative at all! We will be back next year, great place, highly recommended!
Response from Property: Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had an excellent stay. Highlights of Your Stay Positives: All-Inclusive Offerings: We're pleased to know that you found the all-inclusive offerings plentiful and enjoyable. It's our goal to provide a variety of delicious food and drinks for our guests. Great Beer and Cocktails: We're glad you enjoyed our beverage selection. Fantastic Staff: It's heartwarming to hear that our staff made your stay even more enjoyable with their helpfulness and fantastic service. Kids Club and Entertainment: We're delighted that your children had a great time at the kids club and enjoyed the entertainment, allowing them to have fun and rest well. Clean Bungalow: Thank you for acknowledging the cleanliness and comfort of your bungalow. We strive to maintain high standards of cleanliness. Immaculate Grounds: We appreciate your notice of our efforts to keep the grounds clean and beautiful, despite some guests' behavior. Great Pool: We're happy you found the pool to be a refreshing relief from the sun and had no trouble getting loungers. Excellent Gym: It's great to hear that you enjoyed the gym facilities as a break from the bar. Negatives: Bungalow Cleaning on Sunday: It is true that there is no cleanliness on sundays. We take your suggestion into consideration however it can be requested at the reception. Future Visits We are delighted to hear that you plan to return next year and highly recommend our hotel. Your positive feedback encourages us to continue providing excellent service and memorable experiences for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for another fantastic stay! Best regards, The Management Team
Shelley8980
Checked in May 2024
Family
3.0/5
Posted on May 7, 2024
Upon arriving as a family of 5 we found the sofa bed in the living room to be non existent. We had a wooden fold away frame that was just inches of the ground with ripped thin foam pads, covered with a dirty sheet that had not been replaced from previous guests. I spoke with reception as the bed was not fit for purpose for a 6ft guest and it was not what we were expecting from our booking. I was met with nothing but rudeness and the lady just shaking her head at me before I could even speak. The outcome was nothing they could do. So I have since found out, they chose to do nothing about my complaint as other bungalows do in fact have actual sofa beds in the room. We could have easily been moved as I was told there were plenty of 2 bed bungalows available as I questioned the price of one for our guest to have instead of having to sleep on a wooden slab! The dirty sheet reported was not even changed the whole time we were there. We did not use the fold away, we had to make do with sleeping on a PVC sofa. Other guests we met whilst at the hotel also experienced similar attitude from the lady on reception. When questioned why she did not speak with kindness to guests so quoted she was so busy. If this is the case why customer service is lacking, then the hotel need to address this. This really put a dampener on our holiday from day 1. We reported our concerns to the Jet 2 Rep before leaving who agreed the bed was not adequate and our complaint could have easily been resolved. It got our holiday off to a bad start which was a great shame as the bungalow itself was lovely, the cleaners did a good job and the food I could not fault. The grounds are immaculate and well kept. The location was ideal, just a 10 minute walk from the town, marina and beach. The pool was freezing cold which put the children off. We had no issues getting sunbeds. The entertainment for children was disappointing. It was the same songs each night for the kids disco. The children would have liked more than half an hour on an evening. We saw a good few shows for the adults during our 11 days there. There is no entertainment day or night on a Sunday. The animation team work tirelessly.
Response from Property: Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. We deeply apologize for the issues you experienced with the sofa bed in your bungalow and the level of service you received from our reception staff. This is not the standard of service we aim to provide, and we are truly sorry for the inconvenience and disappointment it caused. We regret any miscommunication regarding the availability of alternative accommodations and the handling of your concerns. Your comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost importance to us, and we apologize for falling short in addressing your needs promptly and effectively. Rest assured, we will investigate the matter further and take appropriate steps to ensure that similar incidents do not occur in the future. Our team is committed to providing exceptional customer service, and we will work diligently to improve in this area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your bungalow, the quality of the food, and the well-maintained grounds. However, we acknowledge your feedback regarding the temperature of the pool and the variety of entertainment for children. We will take your comments into consideration as we continue to enhance our offerings for our guests. Once again, we apologize for the shortcomings you experienced and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and provide you with a more enjoyable stay. Best regards, The Management
Rebecca E
Checked in May 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 6, 2024
Lying here on our last night sad to be going home in the morning! We are a party of 11 ranging from adults in their 60s, 20s & 30s with 2 x 3 year olds and a 9 month old baby and what a fantastic holiday we have had! The bungalows are spacious and clean, the hotel grounds and pool area is stunning. The all inclusive food is great - we always found something to eat and again the restaurant is clean and to a high standard. Pool bar snacks were our go to at lunch as the kids were either in the pool or the park. Yes the pools are cold when you 1st get in but you adjust within seconds and I've not been on a holiday yet where this wasn't the case. The hotel staff are really friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble for them. The entertainment staff work incredibly hard day and night with activities like water polo, aqua aerobics and shooting etc. To the kids mini disco and evening shows the kids love them! Special shout out to Niko who made us laugh every day - fantastic at his job and an over all great guy. We enjoyed our experience so much with the HL group we are booking the HL rio for November to celebrate our little girls birthday and we already can not wait to be back! Well done everyone and thank you for such a wonderful holiday!
Response from Property: Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We are thrilled to hear that you and your party had a fantastic family holiday at our resort. It warms our hearts to know that guests of all ages, from the youngest to the oldest, enjoyed their time here. Our spacious and clean bungalows, stunning grounds, and inviting pool area are designed to create memorable experiences for our guests. We're delighted that you found our all-inclusive food to be great, with a variety of options to suit everyone's tastes. Our team takes great pride in maintaining a high standard of cleanliness and service in our restaurant and pool bar, ensuring a comfortable and enjoyable dining experience for all. It's wonderful to hear that our staff provided friendly and attentive service throughout your stay. We will pass along your special shout-out to Niko and the entertainment team, who work tirelessly to ensure that our guests have a fun and memorable experience with activities and entertainment for all ages. Thank you for choosing to celebrate your little girl's birthday with us at HL Rio in November. We look forward to welcoming you back and creating more unforgettable memories with your family. Safe travels home, and we can't wait to see you again soon! Best regards, The Management
michelle A
Checked in Feb 2024
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 26, 2024
Lovely trip to this hotel over half term week. few issues as below We had to wait for two hours upon arrival as our rooms were not ready - we could get some lunch and access to drinks etc but kids wanted to jump straight into pool and we wanted to get unpacked etc. Only 1 bar open during the day which is pool bar. Drinks are all in paper cups so recommend taking your own cups which is what we did. Not enough staff in restaurant - almost every meal time we had to clear the table before we could sit. - not major just a bit annoying Broken drain round the pool - kids kept falling through it - never fixed just balanced back. Positives Lots going on during the day if you like to join in. Show every evening although we didn’t go to see any. Rooms lovely and big plenty of space and clean Food was of a good standard lots of choice - we ate out twice in a week and once in the speciality restaurants On-site supermarket Live music in lobby bar was really good . Located across the road from Aqualava Waterpark park and 5 min walk from flamingo beach lovely restaurants and sandy beach. All in all a lovely holiday - great value for money would go back . X
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 22, 2024
After reading the reviews I was really worried about travelling here with my two young children for their first holiday but I need not have worried. The bungalows are great - spacious and clean, all be it a little dated. We had emailed beforehand to request two together and close to amenities, which we were given. The hotel grounds are beautifully kept and it's nice to see that they look after the cats that roam around with the little cat houses with food and water. The food was hit and miss, but it always is with all inclusive. We always found something to eat. The handmade pizzas were fab. My main complaint was that sometimes the food was raw, we always let the chef on the grill know but it was really off putting. Also there was no cereal suitable for fussy kids at breakfast - I was hoping that there would be the option of rice Krispies or cornflakes but there was only muesli. We ended up buying a box of cereal and taking it to the restaurant with us. The onsite shop was reasonably priced but there is also a Hyper Dino a 10 minute walk away which sells everything you would need. The entertainment team work tirelessly interacting with guests making sure they enjoyed their stay. My daughter particularly enjoyed her mornings in the kids club with Rachel doing crafts and getting her face painted, loved when the young boy (I can't remember his name) dyed his hair bright pink and laughed so much as she danced with Rasiel. All three are a credit to your hotel. The pool area was crowded by the end of our stay but there was never a problem getting sunbeds together, even if we arrived in the afternoon after spending time at the beach. A word of warning, the pool is deep with no shallow end and my daughter who can swim tired easily. We ended up purchasing a life jacket from the onsite shop but it would have been cheaper to bring pen with us. The extra large inflatables are dangerous with the place being so busy, we saw quite a few go over the top of kids trapping them. I think there should be a limit on the size. One lifeguard was great and was on the ball the other spent most of his time at the bar or walking around with a bin bag with his back to the water. An accident waiting to happen. Overall we had a fantastic time at Club Playa Blanca and would recommend for families.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 22, 2024
Just arrived back from a great week here. Bungalows are very spacious Had an issue with leaking toilet system which was dealt with straight away. Food great entertainment great. If you want beds with an umbrella you need to put towels down at 7ish. The only negative which wasn’t an issue for us as our children are older is the life guard. Spends all his time at the bar. Rarely walked around the pool And I wouldn’t bother spending the extra on Dino park. Not much there.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 21, 2024
Just back from 10 days at resort. Positives first; could not fault reception staff, very helpful and friendly at all times; 2 bed bungalow pretty much as shown on website, cleaner lovely and did a good job, however rooms could do with some updating, particularly bathroom; location great, 10 minutes walk to smaller beach and promenade and shops (absolutely loved Playa Blanca as a resort, everything you need and more). Food was fab, lots of variety, waiting staff do very good job, but does feel slightly clinical and not as shown in pictures on website Negatives - having come home and reviewed pictures on website, it is obvious these need updating. The pool area is crammed with beds and so is the pool bar with furniture and is nothing like pictures shown on website. Be warned, if you don't like loud music, stay away from the pool!!! It's a very busy hotel, especially families with young children and the pool area is extremely hectic and not big enough for the amount of holidaymakers; the pictures on the website show there is more space than there actually is. Also, sadly, people still come down at all hours to bag the best loungers - despite a note in bungalows not to do so!!! Also, on website, it shows pictures of waterslides which we believe is at the sister hotel, but this is not made obvious and is a 15 mini walk away. Overall, loved the resort and will revisit, but sadly would not return to this hotel and feel it should be advertised more for families with young children.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 21, 2024
Lovely 2 bedroom bungalow, loads of room and clean for a family of 4, nice food with plenty of choice, great animation team who interacted all day with adults & kids, great entertainment at night. Entertainment staff made our holiday very memorable. Thank you
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 19, 2024
Definitely NOT a 4* hotel. At best possibly a *3. You’ll need your phone flashlight if arriving at night as no lighting very dark. ROOMS Hotel room not as advertised - next day discovered blood on curtains and nets.! Avoid 1135!! By day 2 one of the rooms were infested with Ants which spread throughout other rooms. Despite treatment problem persisted and cleaners told us it was a continuous issue that hotel management were aware of. Clearly they have no intention of resolving the issue. There is an indoor outdoor shower which is great given the intense heat however the roof is open air so the floor can become very messy. Carried my UV light (thank goodness) as it showed up all of the muck and dirt. Reported it to hotel management but couldn’t get a move as no availability. The cot that was provided was filthy. FOOD & DRINK Plenty of it for breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner however VERY monotonous. Same foods more or less on rotation. I am gluten free and I must admit they accommodated my needs as and when required. There is a serious risk of getting food poisoning as cold foods not kept on ice and hot food out in the open. There is a microwave for use if needed. There are an additional 2 restaurants, TexMex and American. Which had to be booked. We opted for the Tex Mex. Awful. Everything was cold and most of the food was taken from the main restaurant. Drinks machine broke down several times. However limitless cold drinks. Brink your own bottle to fill it up throughout the day as the paper cups dis-Intergrated in minutes! The free cocktails - awful basically juice with a splash of alcohol. Other cocktails need to be paid for. FACILITIES This is a family hotel so not one for a quiet break! Several pools however we discovered a quieter area with an Olympic pool at the back of the hotel which was great. Different entertainment shows in the evening for kids and families. Quite annoyingly, on our last day having spoken to another family they told us any hotels with a ‘HL’ in there brand name could be assessed by guests at Playa Blanca including food and facilities. We weren’t Informed of this by the TUI rep or hotel management. Duty manager rude and dismissive however restaurant and bar staff are lovely. I saw 1 lifeguard for the duration of our 1 week stay and he was more concerned with walking around basically doing nothing. There is an onsite shop and one point to remember when going out exploring - everything is to the left! Spar supermarket, chemist, local Shops etc. The beach is a 5 min walk away. Definitely go to the ‘Asia’ Chinese restaurant, food was amazing. Personally I wouldn’t book at this hotel again and they need to seriously take on board the complaints - the TUI reps book was overflowing with them.