Dempsey's Self-Catering Guest House

Dempsey's Self-Catering Guest House Reviews

Dempsey's Self-Catering Guest House

36 Lloyd Rd, Walmer, Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, 6070, South AfricaView Hotel Details
Dempsey's Self-Catering Guest House
Dempsey's Self-Catering Guest HouseDempsey's Self-Catering Guest HouseDempsey's Self-Catering Guest House
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Dempsey's Self-Catering Guest House Guest Reviews

4.7/5
Amazing
14 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.6
Amenities4.6
Service4.8
Cleanliness4.8
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(14)
Positive reviews(14)
Pride Phiri
Checked in Dec 2021
Friends
22 Reviews
4.5/5
Great
Posted on Feb 23, 2022
Great host and a good place to stay
doogsie111
Checked in May 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 9, 2024
Wonderful, value for money, clean place. Kathy was so friendly and accommodating. Family room exactly what we were wanting. Close to many restaurants.
Response from Property: Many thanks Doogsie 111 for your super review, always great to receive. I loved meeting you and your family and thoroughly enjoyed the chats we shared. Please spread the good word about us and we hope to see you soon. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.
mccabedylan23
Checked in May 2024
Business travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 8, 2024
The rooms were clean and tidy. The host was warm and welcoming. Would highly recommend. Would definitely book again.
Response from Property: Wonderful to receive, thanks so much Dylan, it was a pleasure to meet and host you. We look forward to your return. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.
annelie272
Checked in Apr 2024
Business travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 26, 2024
Very happy with the friendly service. Everything is very neat and clean and true to what is shown on the online pictures.
Response from Property: Thanks Annelie for your input, we greatly appreciate it. We strive to maintain what we advertise, thank you for noticing. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
The overall experience was great. The host friendly and respectful. Very clean and safe environment. Kitchenette adequately equipped to do basic cooking. Will definitely go back and will recommend place to others.
Response from Property: Thank you 'Adwoway' for your positive feedback, we are thrilled to hear that your stay at Dempsey's was a great experience. Thank you too for spreading the word about Dempsey's to your friends and family. Wishing you a super new year. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
No Tips everything is just perfect. Lovely guesthouse and Cathy is a super person to deal with! It is a quiet place, very peacefull and near our destination where we must have been! We had to be at the St Georges Hospital which is only 7 minutes away from the guest house, which suits us very well. Thankyou!!
Response from Property: Thank you to the Liddells for taking the time to share your good experiences of staying at DGH, sincerely appreciated. Please spread the word in your community, hoping to have you stay again soon. It was a pleasure to host you and wonderful chatting with you. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Family
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
l was happy and content with my choice Dempsey guest house is a lovely place to stay when you are in Port Elizabeth. Kathy is very transparent regards the dos and don'ts and a great host very quient and safe suburb.
Response from Property: Thank you to our guest 'Trip643230' for sharing your happiness about choosing to stay at Dempsey's Guest House, please spread the word. Best regards from Kathy and Team DGH.
pampedrick11
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 11, 2024
I (and various members of my family) have stayed at Dempsey's many times and have always enjoyed the experience. Kathy is a welcoming and gracious hostess and the accommodation is always comfortable and clean. The surroundings are peaceful and attractive. Always an absolute pleasure to stay here.
Response from Property: Thank you dearest Pam for your lovely review, it was a treat to receive, as are you each time you arrive at Dempsey's:) We love your energy, attitude and friendliness each time we see you. Please spread the word about DGH and continue to visit us. Wishing you a great year. Best always from Team DGH.
boygiftmkhize2
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 9, 2024
The place was welcoming at its own. Location is so good the owner was very much welcoming and giving us advices of where we can visite because of kids. The staff that helping the owner were extremely friendly. Garden well kept. The pets there some of my kids were afraid of those two cats I saw. But never thereless we will book the place next time probably this year in December again and we will stay longer.
Response from Property: Thank you Gift for taking the time to review us, we appreciate it greatly. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay and we look forward to your next booking at DGH. Please spread the word about Dempsey's. About the two cats who like to visit, they are not our pets, they belong to distant neighbours, they come from good homes and are well fed, they just enjoy being here when it suits them and are inquisitive and loving. We try our best to keep them away from the rooms and ask guests not to encourage them into the rooms or to feed them but it is often a losing battle keeping the cats away. I apologize if their presence was a damper on your holiday. Best regards from Kathy and Team DGH.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Business travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 18, 2023
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Dempsey's Guest House on a recent business trip. The room is comfortable and the host, Kathy, is very welcoming. The location is ideal for my purposes: it is a five minute ride from the airport in a quiet, leafy suburb. I look forward to my next stay.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 11, 2023
Thank you Kathy for a wonderful stay. Felt like home from home. Amazing comfortable room and bed. Beautiful garden surroundings and safe parking for car. Ideally situated near all amenities. Highly recommended.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Business travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 31, 2023
Was a good experience from our arrival to our departure. Kathy is a great person and really cares about her guests being well taken care of. She went out of her way to accommodate us. Rooms were clean, neat and comfy. We really loved it there and will most certainly go back. Perfect location to where we needed to be during the day.
Response from Property: Wonderful to hear, thanks so much Alda, you're a star for making the effort to write a review, it is greatly appreciated. You and family and team, were easy to host and easy to please, you are all most welcome anytime. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 31, 2023
Our stay was an emergency overnight stay. And our request was graciously accepted. We found Cathy very accommodating considering our last minute request. The room was very clean but needed airing. We thank Cathy for her hospitality.
Response from Property: Many thanks for your good review Mark, it was great to meet you both and it was my pleasure to host you. Regarding your comment about airing the room, we do our best while being challenged by two neighbourhood cats... they spend their days waiting for the guest room doors to be opened so that they can dash in and take over. It was especially challenging when you visited as we'd had a bout of rainy weather and we were avoiding muddy evidence of cats in the rooms. We hope to host you again. Best from Kathy and Team DGH.