Pousada Mosteiro de Amares

Pousada Mosteiro de Amares Reviews

Pousada Mosteiro de Amares

Largo do Terreiro, Povoa de Lanhoso, PortugalView Hotel Details
Pousada Mosteiro de Amares
Pousada Mosteiro de AmaresPousada Mosteiro de AmaresPousada Mosteiro de Amares
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Pousada Mosteiro de Amares Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
52 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.5
Service4.5
Cleanliness4.5
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(52)
Positive reviews(50)
Reviews with photos/video(5)
Negative reviews(2)
nan peng
Large Family Room
Checked in May 2022
Family
2 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 4, 2022
A nice hotel
Guest User
Superior Room
Checked in Apr 2024
Friends
38 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 10, 2024
The hotel was reused and designed by Pritzker Architecture Prize winner Souto de morua. The space is great. Highly recommended!
Original TextTranslated by Google
ran
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 3, 2024
Such an honor to visit this hotel and its history. Beautiful renovation and very high standard. Wonderful staff and great cousine. What more can you ask for? Put this Pousada on your list when visiting the area - that would be our recomendation.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 20, 2023
I was greeted and treated well in English was super happy and helpful staff , brought my dog with me and they had a welcome dog package! Would highly recommend And looking forward to another visit to enjoy the peaceful nature and tranquility!
6/8
Karla
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 23, 2023
The property was quiet and in a walkable area. The dining room staff was excellent -- as was the food. Rooms were nice and the view was even nicer! Thank you!
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 14, 2023
This hotel is truly wonderful. It is the most beautiful and serene place we have ever stayed in. The room was divine. Very polite and friendly staff. A memorable and unique experience with excellent food
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 13, 2023
Lovely old monastery renovated sympatheticly with original features. Fabulous stonework. Lots of features like prayer seats and old doors. Lovely terraces and views across the valley. Staff were very attentive. Loved the bell on tables in the bar to call for staff.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Oct 6, 2023
This Pousada is located in an old Monastery. The owners have done a super job of creating a modern up to date hotel out of what was a former Monastery. The conversion from Monastery to Hotel had been tastefully and sympathetically done. This Pousada is a bit remote to get to and in a small town that has two cafe bars. We arrived here on a Sunday when the two local cafe bars were closed leaving us with no alternative but to dine an the Pousada restaurant. The meal was acceptable but a bit expensive for what it was. On arrival it is necessary to check in at Reception which is on the first floor. Ordinarily this would not be a problem but it is a problem when 30 or so guests are trying to check in at the same time with one small lift only available for the guests and their luggage. It took us half an hour to reach our room. Our bedroom was far too small to accommodate two adult guests. There was nowhere to leave a suitcase open which most touring guests living out of a suitcase need to do. Lighting In the bedroom was a waste of space. Impossible to read a book in bed. Our bedroom was badly designed. The bathroom door opens out on to the wardrobe door and bumps into the person using the wardrobe. The rail in the wardrobe is too high to be used with ease. You need to be a Giant to reach the coat hanger hooks. There were no instructions as to how to work the air conditioning. There were no instructions as to how to work the television. In the bathroom there is a notice from the hotel asking guests to save water. The hotel could lead by example and provide a plug for the wash hand basin. The wash hand basin plug was noticeably missing. This is because the wash hand basin did not have an over flow pipe. Within a few seconds the basin would fill with water and cause a flood. Whoever thought of installing a hotel wash hand basin that you could not use properly ought to be reprimanded. This hotel need to take out all the existing plug less wash hand basins and replace them with new wash hand basins with plugs and overflows. The cost should be recovered from the person who designed such stupid plug less wash hand basins. The one good thing about this hotel is the fact that the Toaster at Breakfast did work.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 17, 2023
A majestic hotel! We decided to go for the extra cost of a suite for two nights and this was well worth it. The whole building - being a former monastery - was outstandingly beautiful. The restaurant was atmospheric and the food delicious. Bar was well served and their measure of malt whisky was very generous! I had to reduce my intake of wine at the meal due to that generosity! The terrace and the pool added to a wonderful stay at this delightful hotel and it should be said as well that the staff were very helpful, attentive and friendly.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 12, 2023
Don’t let your first impression, as you pull up to Pousada Mosterio de Amares, make you think you’re in the wrong place! This venue is an 800 yr old relic that has been modernized with all the conveniences you would/will need. It could be a retreat venue, a place to get away, and really relax. Ours was for a wedding, That was unbelievable. The staff was awesome especially Ricardo. He is a real Gem! Food was outstanding, breakfast buffet was so scrumptious and fulfilling, it satisfied everyone. It’s worth the trip, off the beaten path to get there! You’ll really feel relaxed at the end of your visit.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 17, 2023
We were there for 3 days for a family wedding. The staff were most helpful pleasant and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable, spacious and airy with lovely views of the countryside. The food was excellent. Would highly recommend.
Wanderer19914965396
Checked in May 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 25, 2023
Ours was a one-night stay only, and we ate in the restaurant in the evening following a recommendation by our holiday organiser. While the hotel's monastery setting is truly outstanding, and our room comfortable enough and with a beautiful view of the grounds, supper in the restaurant was disappointing. The restaurant staff were unfailingly attentive and polite, but our meals, albeit chosen from a promising, if somewhat pricey, menu, turned out to be less uplifting than the setting in which they were served; acceptable, yes, but not in any way memorable.
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 6, 2023
We stayed for two nights since we wanted to enjoy a pousada. From the outside and inside impressive, but the room was small and disappointing. The bed was good, wifi was 28 up and down, it was very clean. The breakfast was good and also the staff was very nice. I would like to hear in the restaurant some more friendly music rather then depressing monks singing. There are no restaurants in the area only in the pousada itself.
Nomad30997496013
Checked in Apr 2023
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 10, 2023
A different and unique experience. The investment in this fortress like monastery is showing everywhere, and is well appreciated, especially considering this huge building. We had the suite, so no problem with our room size… it was very big. In such a big room we missed a little bit of touch up’s like a clothes rack, fridge (a suite !?) etc. The location is in a very small village- no shops, restaurants or coffee in sight, but the views are wonderful. Braga is 30-40 minutes drive though narrow roads. A little remark regarding finding the hotel- no sign on the hotel or a sign to the entrance, and especially considering that the reception is not on the first floor, we had a little bit of trouble figuring if we are on the right place (the surrounding is deserted and part of the building is under renovation ) and afterwards finding our way to the entrance. Breakfast is good, not extraordinary and served in a beautiful dining room. Dinner was a big letdown- main course- dry meat, medium minus wien and desert like in very cheap hotel. The price on the other hand- not a cheap hotel… The service and staff are very professional and helpful. Overall- we would certainly recommend the hotel , and not recommend the restaurant.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 9, 2023
We stayed here for 5 nights, as a base for hiking in Peneda Geres. It was much more than a base! The hotel is beautiful. A very tastefully renovated monastery. The surroundings are tranquil, located in a small village. All details in the hotel are taken care of. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast and dinner served in a superb dining hall which was the monks' kitchen . A very generous breakfast. We ate dinner in the hotel 4 out 5 nights. We enjoyed the menu so were more than happy not to go anywhere else. One night we were just too tired from hiking. Loved sitting by the fireplace with coffee or a drink. All staff in the hotel were very attentive, helpful, caring. Would definitely return to this beautiful hotel