Hotel Altes Brauhaus Garni

Hotel Altes Brauhaus Garni Reviews

Hotel Altes Brauhaus Garni

Wenggasse 24, Rothenburg ob der Tauber, 91541, GermanyView Hotel Details
Hotel Altes Brauhaus Garni
Hotel Altes Brauhaus GarniHotel Altes Brauhaus GarniHotel Altes Brauhaus Garni
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Hotel Altes Brauhaus Garni Guest Reviews

4.3/5
Very Good
57 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.3
Amenities4.3
Service4.3
Cleanliness4.3
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(57)
Positive reviews(22)
Reviews with photos/video(5)
Negative reviews(2)
Guest User
Superior Double Room
Checked in Nov 2023
Friends
3 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 12, 2023
Very satisfied, a very distinctive tourist town
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 4, 2023
I love this hotel. Location is few minutes walk to the centre and 2 mins from train station by taxi. The hotel's history speaks for itself from the decor and the building. While the room is not those swanky modern decor, it is traditional and huge with a settee and table and a nice welcome card from the hotel. Just like staying in your favorite grandma's house. Comfy and adequate with all the usual hotel amenities. The room opens to a verandah with a good view of the surrounding area and one can hear the church bells ringing which makes my stay more authentic as if I am transported back in time. The bathroom is clean and adequate toilettries and has good strong shower. The staff are polite and professional. Breakfast is adequate with the usual servings eggs, cereals, cheese, breads, fruits etc. And they have elevator to take up my large and heavy luggage. I had a nice stay and wished I could extend my stay but my itinerary is tight. Perhaps next time.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 27, 2023
It was the perfect location for our Christmas trip - our family was delighted with the warm welcome at the hotel. This is an old building with a stylish interior, Santa Claus with cookies on the couch and lots of nice details. Spacious warm comfortable room with pleasant surprises - sweets, a very tasty and varied breakfast in a large beautiful old hall. Here there is a feeling that you are an invited guest who came to relatives. We thank all the hotel employees, the time spent in the city and the hotel is remembered as a small trip to a fairy tale!
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Aug 3, 2023
Bar is never open vending machine sells beer. No air con and afterbyou leave room they go in to make sure you have turned fan off, if not they turn it off so you come back to an oven. Tried to charge a friend Euro200 for smoking in his room. All he had done was put the butts in his pocket and dropped them in the garbage bin when he got back to his room. Really really Petty they refused to let me fill my Thermos cup with hot water at breakfast as not allowed, 300ml of hot water so had to go back to room and their slow coffee machine. Petty Petty Petty Will not return. Shame. Lovely building but lots of other hotels in this beautiful City
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Tonight is our third night in this hotel at it has been a wonderful stay! The staff is helpful and pleasant and their English is very good. We stayed in the Junior Suite. It was air conditioned and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! Highly recommend!
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 1, 2023
Perfectly located in the centre of the city with good parking, priced at either €13 or €18 depending where you want to park. It’s a big hotel, very tastefully decorated with large clean rooms, comfortable beds and most of the facilities required for a comfortable stay. However in the so called “superior” rooms there is no air conditioning! However, there is a small fan. The description of the room facilities states there is a “minibar” which is in fact a vending machine in the foyer. There is a fridge in the room but that is empty. The restaurant is closed (at the time of writing) but the breakfast was very good with hot food options and plenty of continental options too. The walls are quite thin and the cleaners start very early so don’t expect to have a relaxing sleep in beyond 8am A very nice hotel in a good location with good parking. Nothing special about the superior rooms but if you are driving/riding to this beautiful city you will struggle to find a more convenient hotel.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jun 6, 2023
This hotel was disappointing. the bathroom did not have a walk in shower, and the shower over the tub could not be turned on. The room key is bulky, and therefore a nuisance to carry around. The breakfast was only average. The hotel seemed to cater primarily to tour groups. I would not recommend staying here as an individual traveller.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We arrived a couple of hours early, but the reception clerk checked us in and gave us our room key right away without our asking. He was very helpful with directions for parking (just around the corner - you could actually see it from the hall window). The breakfast buffet was lovely, the hotel was extremely quiet, and it was very convenient to the Rothenburg's Old Towne. We checked out early the next morning, but the reception clerk very kindly told us that we could stay in the parking lot until 2 pm so that we could explore more of the area.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
This hotel was wonderful! Very clean, spacious, quiet, and comfortable. I loved the little ducks they include in the rooms. The common areas are clean and beautiful as well. Breakfast was great as well. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing...very close to the center but far enough away to avoid the noise. Off street parking is available for an extra fee. I would definitely stay here again.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Business travelers
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Terrible customer service, rude and arrogant. It's advertised as a 4 star and it doesn't come close. Elevator is ancient and slow and lobby old. No night staff to help you with problems, and no Wi.Fi. I booked a room on line and when I got to the hotel I told the woman at the front desk that I had already paid and she ended up embarrassing me in front of other guests and made me feel like a cheat because she claimed that I didn't pay and that everyone pays when they check out. Finally, after a long time she found my payment and never apologised, and I told her that I can't believe how she treated me and how she was about to double charge me. And, when I checked out the next day, this other woman at the front desk told me it was my fault that I chose a room with no air conditioning and I explained to her that I taught it was normal for a 4 STAR hotel to have air conditioning. I also experienced yelling and talking over me from an old lady member of staff when I made a complaint about the Wi.Fi. Absolutely a terrible experience I will never forget. "Is this Germany" I said to myself. wow!!!
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
The Hotel was easy to find, parking was available. The rooms were spacious and clean. There is no AC so be aware, however there were fans. The breakfast buffet was great and the hotel overall was very comfortable. There were patio sections, a beer dispensing machine, free glasses to take to your room, a play corner for kids and it is centrally located.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2021
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 21, 2021
Took a junior suite just before Xmas 21. Alexandra was very polite and knowledgeable at reception. The hotel was only doing B&B due to CV19 but we had some great ideas from Alex before setting off. The room was a fantastic size with a nice arrival basket. Great views over the inner city rooves with St Jakobskirche as the backdrop. Underground parking and a breakfast to fill even the hungriest.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2021
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Aug 27, 2021
My wife is the best trip planner as she chooses places based on location, parking, price, and breakfast. Altes Brauhaus was the best choice for our July holiday. Upon arrival, we were quickly informed that we were wearing the wrong type of masks. We learned that surgical masks in Bavaria are not in compliance as Bavaria mandates the FFP2 masks. While we felt chided somewhat, the desk clerk provided us with the right kind of masks since it was a Sunday afternoon and everything was closed. He also made recommendations on where to park, where to dine, and even gave us directions to a secret wine bar. While I don't remember his name, I do remember how much we appreciated his suggestions. Parking was in a secure underground garage. The room was simple, but we used it only to sleep. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was in compliance with COVID measure. While it was still a buffet, we had to wear the masks while getting food, which is understandable. What did not make sense was the requirement to wear plastic gloves. Nonetheless, a hearty breakfast was held in an elegant large room. Throughout the hotel, there are rooms where couples/families can sit and relax together. They also have a few outside garden areas to do the same. Overall, this is a great place offering everything one needs. It is a minute's walk to the heart of town.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2021
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Aug 9, 2021
We really enjoyed our stay at the Altes Brauhaus. The reception was friendly and helpful. The parking was easy! The location is fantastic - you are in the city walls and only a short walk to the main square. The rooms are clean, spacious, and quiet! And a lovely terrace that looks out on a garden. The breakfast was great - the bread was fantastic. The hotel is very COVID aware, which we really appreciated. They asked for our vaccination evidence upon arrival and masks were worn in common spaces. The one minus of the hotel is the bathroom. First, it is great in that there is a wonderful shelf for all of your toiletries. However, two things. First, the lighting isn't perfect for those of us who need to shave! I wish that there was a light near the mirror to make that a bit easier. But the big drawback is the shower. Rather than a shower, there is a shower in a tub. I really dislike this. Having to climb in and out of the tub is not my favorite - but the problem is that the "shield" makes for a tight squeeze - and the shield is not on the best side of the tub. The side where you get out is exactly where the sink and towel racks are - making it rather awkward. That design flaw is why I wouldn't give the hotel a perfect score. We also had very cool weather in August - but an FYI, there is no AC. There is, however, a fan in the room. I would, however, strongly recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Rothenburg!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Family
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 5, 2023
Friendly people, helpful. The cheerful lady at reception always makes us happy. Excellent beds. Spacious clean rooms and an excellent and versatile breakfast. The location is central in the town with a private parking garage behind the building. In our opinion, highly recommended.
Original TextTranslated by Google