Novotel Rouen Sud

Novotel Rouen Sud Reviews

Novotel Rouen Sud

Angle Avenue De L'Université, Rue de la Mare Sansoure, Saint-etienne-du-Rouvray, FranceView Hotel Details
Novotel Rouen Sud
Novotel Rouen SudNovotel Rouen SudNovotel Rouen Sud
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Novotel Rouen Sud Guest Reviews

3.7/5
68 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.7
Amenities3.7
Service3.7
Cleanliness3.7
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(68)
Positive reviews(53)
Negative reviews(15)
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 7, 2024
Lovely hotel in a quiet location. It is undergoing renovation at the moment but it caused us no problems and the staff were great. The buffet breakfast was fantastic.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
What a terrible hotel! The staff were rude and could not care less about our concerns. The rooms were outdated, dark and creepy. The cleanliness was awful with hair in the bath and on the floor. The shower was actually a bath with a shower head. The room key kept failing. The pool was tiny, gated in and had floor tiles missing. The garden area had rusty chairs and broken flooring that several children fell over onto! The breakfast was a joke, the coffee machines kept breaking, there were no plates, the toaster didn’t work, the food and drinks ran out, the tables were dirty and the selection was poor. The surrounding area looked like a building site and the staff just shrugged when they were told about any of the above failings.
Response from Property: Dear Madam, I thank you for sharing your review again about our hotel for the second time after the one on Bookingcom. It is very unfortunate that you have to write a comment again on this subject, I am really sorry that your stay has disappointed you so much. I unfortunately cannot tell you more about what has already been said by comment via the travel agency, other than that we are again sorry. This experience you have had is not what we try to bring to our customers on a daily basis. Your comments have been seen by the Manager and we will do our best to improve ; hoping to be able to see you again after our renovations in 2024. Kind regards,
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Oct 21, 2023
We were given a room that has been renovated!!! Bugs on the carpet in the corridor. Be aware that dogs share the same part of the hotel as those with no pets! can you imagine what you might be walking on? KEEP YOUR SHOES ON. The toilet cover had not been cleaned for a long while (yellow). The new bathroom: water does not drain, the drain cover was very dirty, the shower tray was so slippery that a towel was required in order to have a shower safely, the finish of the bathroom was appalling at best peeling ceiling, corners of the shower not sealed. Extractor fan full of dust. One bathrobe was stained and smelly returned on arrival. The following day we discovered that one of the bath towels had the same issue, returned to the front desk, unable to complain to a manager as it was sunday! and no-one bothered to contact me in 4 weeks (only after I sent a very long email with photos). The king size bed is in fact 2 singles put together, but not tied together which mean that you sink in between the 2 beds if you happen to be in the middle of the bed! See standard reply from the manager ignoring all the issues raised. Whilst the location is perfect the fact that THE BATHROOM, TOILET AND BEDROOM ARE NOT CLEAN is not acceptable. Reply from the manager Nous venons de prendre connaissance tardivement de votre mail ainsi que des désagréments qui ont altérés la qualité de votre séjour et croyez que nous en sommes désolés. Nous sommes désolés que la prestation en chambre n’ait pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes, et soyez assurée que nous partageons et sensibilisons nos équipes . Notre hôtel est en cours de rénovation et les chambres le seront également dans un futur proche pour regagner la qualité que nos clients attendent. Veuillez recevoir encore toutes nos excuses et nous créditerons votre carte de fidélité de 4000 points.
Paul
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 22, 2023
We had a very good stay at the Novotel. We chose the hotel to charge our Tesla and have a good night's rest while driving home after our holiday and it was a good choice. The room and the bed were comfortable, dinner and breakfast were very good, with a great variety of dishes, and the personnel was warm and friendly. When we go on our next holiday in France we have found a place where we'll definitely stop!
jglaw
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 26, 2023
Although our executive room on the ground floor was in good shape, the hotel obviously needs a renovation and is worn out. Renovation is announced on the spot up to 2024, but I was told by the lady at the desk it would no more be a Novotel. Special thanks to te rude young guy who tended the bar en was unable to do his job on a professional way. We had a generous buffet breakfast with outdoor seating, and freshly pressed orange juice at no charge. Free gated outdoor parking, small pool.
Response from Property: Dear Madam, Dear Sir, I thank you telling us more about your experience in our hotel. I'm sorry to see your stay did bring you some disappointment... Indeed, our hotel is going to be renovated but we will keep the Novotel brand ; the fact is we no longer belong to Accor legally speaking. I'm sorry if you felt offended by one of my colleague at the bar ; the attitude you mentionned is not acceptable and it would be great to hear from you more details about that situation. Otherwise, your comment has been shared with the F&B Manager so that we can see with the team and take the right measure to improve ourselves for the future. I'm glad to see you liked the other amenities, such as the safe and free parking and also the buffet breakfast. We would like to thank you again for your trust and we apologize for the inconvenience. We sincerely hope to share the result of the important renovations with you in a next stay in 2024. Kind regards,
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 21, 2023
Average business style hotel on the edge of Rouen. The front of house is light and airy and the grounds are well kept. The staff were cheerful and polite. We stayed in a ground floor room. While the room itself was a good size, it was cramped because of the fold away bed. There was about 15 cm between the bed and the wall. There were not many power points to use. The bathroom was ok. The soap dispenser had come away from he wall and was left with fitting at the side of the wash basin. There was a separate toilet. The flush got stuck often so leaked water away. There were also a good many cobwebs in the corner. The toilet roll holder was not securely attached to he wall. The restaurant was clean and tidy, but we felt it was quite pricey. It was very crowded at breakfast. The bar was ok, but again more than I am used to paying. The bar staff were excellent. There is seating outside as part of the restaurant and they have an outside pool and tennis court. Parking was OK. Ok for an overnight stop, but I wouldn’t want to stay longer.
KELLY
Checked in Aug 2023
Family
2.0/5
Posted on Aug 21, 2023
The pool was tiny with bars around it and damaged flooring. The surrounding garden area has broken floor tiles and rusty seats. The breakfast was a joke, there was not enough food or drink and the machines kept breaking. The rooms were old fashioned, creepy and unclean. The staff were rude and acted as though they couldn’t care less about our concerns.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 31, 2023
We have stayed here about 8 times as it is a good stopover on our journey and they take dogs. We have accepted the high price despite the dated facilities, but what I do not accept is rudeness. The staff has always been very friendly, but the girl on the front desk needs some training in basic manners. After what seemed like an age, we were eventually given our room keys. One room would not open, so my husband went back to reception and was told 'you are not using the card properly'. She sent her colleague to open the door, but lo and behold, she couldn't open the door either. We were told to wait in the corridor...with 2 dogs and our luggage. After 10 minutes I went back to reception and asked what was going on. They had given us a key to a room already occupied! So then they found another room and I was given the key and told the room number. I looked at her, expecting some sort of apology for the wait and mix up. Nothing! I couldn't believe how rude she was. The room was stifling and the aircon didn't work properly. This was our last stay at the Novotel and we will stay elsewhere in future. It's a pity, but we don't need to pay high prices for bad service.
Response from Property: Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel and for your loyalty towards our hotel. I'm very surprised and sorry to read your comment and to know that your stay brought you such a disappointment especially because of our staff. You've been already in our hotel and you've used to be welcomed by our friendly staff at the reception desk, I thank you for emphasizing this point. It would seem on that evening you had an inappropriate experience with one of our colleague and I'm sincerely sorry for that. You shouldn't have waited for so long to get a new room and it is unfortunate to see that no apologies or gestures could be made to excuse us for the inconvenience. To apologize for this inconvenience and for the in-room amenities that could not ensure your well-being and satisfaction, I would very much like you to contact us again in order to find out more about your dates of stay and to determine which people were working at the reception that day. As this situation isn't acceptable, we would like to take the necessary measures to avoid any recurrence in the future. Please accept our apologies again for this unfortunate experience with us. If we won't have the opportunity to see you again in the future, we would like to thank you for trusting us during these 8+ stays in our hotel. Kind regards,
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 16, 2023
We were there for five days in late May. This is a dated hotel. Rooms and bathrooms very 1970s. The pool was full of water but not open (25 May). The barman had to be summoned from his distant cave by telephone from the front desk, any time anyone wanted a drink (thirty times+ per evening, with all the guests), which includes the entirety of so called happy hour. Huge arguments from other guests about issues concerning the vanishingly thin happy hour, when he was never there. Perhaps the worst was that the restaurant chef had no idea what vegetarian means - he thought it meant nothing but vegetables (no protein!). Fine for us, but not for our friends. Waiting staff in the restaurant were at times Fawlty Towers. Entertainingly rude and generally unproductive. The barman even more so - everytime he was summoned from his cave by the reception staff by phone - often took 10-15 minutes to emerge - I expected Manuel shouting "Que?!"
Response from Property: Dear Madam, Thank you for letting us know more about your stay in our hotel. I'm sorry if your experience didn't meet up your expectations at all, please accept our apologies... On our website page you could find the details about the swimming-pool with the opening. I can confirm it wasn't opened yet on 25th May 2023. I'm quiet surprised about your remark about the availability of one of our barman on that day and during the Happy Hour. Indeed, the whole team strives to be available and to participate in the well-being of each of the customers at the hotel. I'm so sorry this lack of availability brought you such a disappointment... For the restaurant, the team use to try his best to respect any special diet for ech guest. It would seem that the person mentioned did not sufficiently understand or respond favorably to the expectations of your friends and I'm sorry again for this inconvenience. It's such a pity that you felt in a cartoonish way about your experience in our bar and restaurant. I do hope, however, that you enjoyed the room during your stay. Rest assured, Madam, that your comment has just been shared with the corresponding services so that we can talk with the teams and prevent this from happening again. If you have the opportunity to return to our region for a future stay, do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will do what's necessary to ensure that it brings you much better satisfaction. Hoping to see you again, Kind regards,
Joshua
Checked in Jun 2023
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 16, 2023
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was great. Bed was comfortable. Close to lots of good restaurants and things to do. We were very pleased with our stay!
Adele
Checked in May 2023
Other
3.0/5
Posted on May 22, 2023
The hotel had no water when we arrived. So after driving 6 hours we couldn’t use our bathroom. Rooms are tired & basic. The bedding was awful polyester waterproof type sheets….not nice. Staff were polite.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as part of a package would not recommend it the room carpet was dirty behind the doors underneath the bed covered in dust I am tall but the shower was very low and then the water just went out over the side of the Bath 🛀 the menu at night very limited the drinks extortionate the swimming pool green on the bottom
Response from Property: Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to tell me more about your experience in our hotel. I'm sorry to read your experience didn't meet your expectations... Indeed, our hotel is not new but we strive a provide a superior service experience for each of our guest. Please feel free to discuss with us during your stay so that we could propose you to change the room and something else. Our hotel may have changes in the next few years ; I hope to have the chance to welcome you again and to regain your trust for a next stay in the region. Kind regards,
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
I was under the impression that this hotel was being updated or having some works done, as my original booking had been cancelled post COVID-19 and was able to rebook it the following year with a gift voucher they offered me. Although they had accommodated my request to be given accessible rooms due to the older and younger members of my group. The lighting, was poor, there was excessive furniture in the rooms which made putting a baby cot up in the room slightly tight. The bathroom and toilet was no where near the standard we have come to expect from a Novotel. Their Tours location is far better and the Customer Service desk was more inviting and eager to help. The Rouen Sud reception desk was not busy when we arrived and we were passed from one member of staff to another without the normal welcoming way that you should greet someone in the hospitality industry. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and I will not be using them again. Their only save and grace was the staff who worked in the restaurant for the breakfast service. They were helpful and a credit to the team.
Response from Property: Dear Sir, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback about your stay. I'm sorry to know your experience didn't meet your expectations... We strive to provide a high quality of service for every customer and it comes first with the welcoming. I'm going to share your feedback about the Reception desk to prevent future occurrence, I'm sorry you didn't feel welcomed and felt offended at that time. I would like to thank you for highlighting our team from F&B service. Our hotel has been closed for a while because of Covid-19 period but there was no renovation planned. However, following a recent change of ownership our hotel is going to evolve in the next few years. I'm sorry about what happened, I hope to get the chance to welcome you for a next stay at Novotel Rouen Sud. Kind regards,
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
First of 7 hotels on our tour of France coach holiday We only stayed one night and opted to eat in. The meal was okay, not the best, or the worst we have experienced. The bedrooms were very good with all facilities working. Breakfast very good and we would stay here again
Response from Property: Dear David, Many thanks for your comment about our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and your holidays with us ! I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again for a personal stay or with another trip with Leger company ! Kind regards,
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We stayed here while checking out Rouen and the beautiful coast. This is a classic Novotel as we had hoped at a nice, quiet location in the forest. Very spacious, so lots of parking spaces and a nice outside area with tennis court, terrace and a swimming pool, some benches under the trees. This made it also an ideal venue to recreate after a day of touring the region. And when you don’t feel like going out for dinner, there is always the restaurant, which had the good quality we’ve come to expect of Novotel. We used two rooms, although the number of sleeping places would have allowed us using only one room. But when staying more than one night, it is also nice to have some part as a private living room. Staff very friendly, good breakfast, cosy bar and we were able to charge our car, which was also very convenient. All in all, really recommended, whether it’s for an overnight stay or as a base for several days.
Response from Property: Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Many thanks for your comment about your experience in our hotel ! I'm glad you and your family enjoyed your stay, it's always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback ! This is very encouraging for all our teams and I won't hesitate to let them know. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at any time in the hotel. Take care and see you soon ! Kind regards,