St Mawes Hotel

St Mawes Hotel Reviews

St Mawes Hotel

2 Marine Parade, Saint Mawes, TR2 5DW, United KingdomView Hotel Details
St Mawes Hotel
St Mawes HotelSt Mawes HotelSt Mawes Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

St Mawes Hotel Guest Reviews

4.3/5
Very Good
40 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.3
Amenities4.3
Service4.3
Cleanliness4.3
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(40)
Positive reviews(36)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(4)
breakaway2010
Checked in May 2024
Friends
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 22, 2024
Lovely hotel for lunch. We went 2 days in a row. Weather was lovely so we had lunch on the balcony both days. Food was excellent and good value for the quality. Ben who served us was friendly knowledgable and provided excellent service. Views amazing. Although we only had lunch here we were impressed enough to consider coming back to stay for a few nights.
Response from Property: Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us earlier this year. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 20, 2024
Such a lovely weekend in the St Mawes Hotel - made extra special with Ben and his lovely young team - so helpful - we had a ball! Rooms very comfortable, food excellent and even the sun came out! Can recommend this hotel 100% - we will be back! Thank you again Ben and the boys (especially Alfie - even though I didn't get my chocolate on the pillow) - hope to see you again soon.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 16, 2024
Ben who runs the place is absolutely BOSS ! He is a true credit to the hotel and runs it with professionalism and friendliness in abundance. Well done Ben and we will be back. My only slight irk was that the family room had an issue with the frying vent outside which I think needs attention as it can be quite overpowering.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 13, 2024
We came here for a quick drink with our family, and the girl behind the bar was so helpful when we discussed coming for dinner the following evening. They managed to squeeze a reservation in for us, despite it being a really busy evening ahead. Ben, the manager went above and beyond. Such a lovely, helpful, down to earth man and a real asset to the hotel. We loved the food, the wine and the laid back atmosphere. It was great. Even bringing an 8 and 2 year old was no trouble for anyone (sorry if we were loud!). We came a long way to visit St Mawes and it did not disappoint. We will be back!
linshimm
Checked in Jun 2024
Friends
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 29, 2024
The menu was a bit limited, and everyone in our party ordered the same thing, fish pie. It was very nice, but the greens that accompanied it were rather salty for my taste. We had a lovely table upstairs and a view out across the bay. The staff were friendly, very good and we enjoyed a long lunch. Will certainly go again.
Response from Property: Thank you for your feedback, we have taken your comments on board and hope to welcome you again soon!
BrainyUK
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 2, 2024
We had supper on the upper deck this evening (02.06.24) and were greeted by Ben. His attitude and service was just so refreshing and absolutely brilliant. If only he and Liam (F & B Manager) would run both the St Mawes Hotel and the Idle Rocks then two establishments would be much more respected in our opinion. Well done Ben and see you tomorrow. Regards Angela and Geoff
Response from Property: Thank you for your feedback and your comments have been passed onto the team. We hope to welcome you both back in the near future.
Tourist00490329771
Checked in May 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 5, 2024
We were met by the waiter Ben. I have the highest praises for that gentleman. Nothing was too much hassle for him. After he showed us the Sunday lunch menu, we were gutted that there were no pizzas as mum and I always go there for them. After seeing how gutted we were he was quick to ask the Chef Julian what they could do, and after we had given up he surprised us at the table saying they would still make the pizzas for us. Thank you so much to Ben, Julian and the rest of the team for making our visit the best! We are both incredibly grateful for the attitude of the staff and of course the amazing pizza. I would definitely recommend this place!
Response from Property: We were delighted to be able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed the pizzas! Your comments have been passed onto our team here and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 20, 2024
Just called in for lunch and a beer. Elected for the pizza and it was divine! Great surroundings and staff friendly and pleasant. On the grounds that you can never get a 10, it scores 9.5! Excellent 😁
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 2, 2024
We had dinner in the restaurant. Excellent service and very good well cooked food...looking out over the bay was a delight. The fish pie is to die for... Good value for sure .An experience...a.must have on a visit to this harbour village.....
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 17, 2024
We had dinner at the St Mawes hotel last night. It was a birthday dinner for my husband . The staff made the experience very special with lovely touches including champagne. The food and service were exceptional and much appreciated. The restaurant’s atmosphere is cosy, comfortable and friendly. We will certainly return.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 12, 2024
We came for Sunday lunch and they managed to get us a table which was great. Liam was so helpful and on the ball with everything he was fantastic. We had Amy serving us at the table and she was so lovely and very efficient. We only really have lamb when we go out for a meal as it is a treat and we was really looking forward to it however it really wasn't great, it was so tough. The potatoes where lovely and the salsa verda was yummy but when you are paying for the most expensive meal on the menu you expect it to be topnotch. We both wished we had the roast beef as that looked yummy.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 5, 2024
Well, where do I start? We drove all the way down to Lizard (about five hours) for a booking we had made through Secret Escapes only to find the hotel there didnt have our booking. The manager was so rude and unhelpful and really not bothered about our predicament so we left and I remembered driving through St Mawes once and thinking how lovely this hotel looked. I jumped online on the car and booked - we drove straight there. The reception we received could NOT have been more different! We were greeted by the utterly charming Lydia who asked if we had had a good day so far, when we told her our story she immediately upgraded us to their best room, we couldn't believe it! We then got offered a couple of drinks on the house and tickets to their private cinema that night, anyone would think the Lizard problem was their fault! We sat in the beautiful upper deck bar looking out to sea and were incredibly well looked after by Matt who was new to the role but so welcoming. We stayed three nights and it was genuinely one of the nicest stays I have ever had - from staff recommendations of where to eat (Lydia even booked a local pub for us), where to visit (thanks for the ferry to Falmouth tip), the suggestions of what to order from the menu, the company of the staff and locals at the bar, I couldn't fault anything, and I am a fussy guest. We cant wait to go back, what a stunning place.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 6, 2024
Really delicious and substantial pizza, the atmosphere is always great even when it’s not busy. We watched 2 Six Nations matches in their wonderful Secret Cinema too. Excellent Guinness was enjoyed also. They have superb background music playing with even a speaker outside.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 2, 2024
Although we weren't stying uni the hotel, We came for lunch yesterday and ate in the private room at the hotel. We all had lovely time and the food service and staff were all fantastic. The room room itself is stunning and we had very relaxed fun afternoon after a walk along the coast. I'd, also like to say a special Thank you to Mimi, who looked after us all afternoon and was, efficient, funny and very welcoming. We will definitely come back again all the food was fantastic and a special mention to the Fish pie which was fantastic. Thank you for looking after us and we will definitely be back !
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 27, 2023
5 plus, stunning location, super helpful and friendly staff and the food to match. Sunday Lunch is a must. We had a fantastic anniversary weekend. The rooms are really nice and the location couldn’t have been better. 2 minutes to the ferry to Falmouth which was a nice afternoon stroll.