Hotel California Palace

Hotel California Palace Reviews

Hotel California Palace

Carrer de la Ciutat de Reus, 7, Salou, SpainView Hotel Details
Hotel California Palace
Hotel California PalaceHotel California PalaceHotel California Palace
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Hotel California Palace Guest Reviews

3.5/5
46 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.5
Amenities3.5
Service3.5
Cleanliness3.5
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(46)
Positive reviews(33)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(13)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jun 15, 2024
The biggest let down of this hotel is the majority of the staff! A very un welcoming arrival! Staff member checking us in was rude! I was only glad i had printed the hotel voucher as others in my party who didn’t had issues! I had emailed months prior to ask about upgrading to a pool view room which i was willing to pay for as Love Holidays didn’t have the option when booked! Anyway all i got told was the person that emailed me to say it would be ok at a charge at €48 which we were happy with, but was rudely told no we can’t have as the person who emailed no longer works there? What that had to do with it is anyones guess! 3 other couples in our group got the pool view at no charge! No idea what that was about plus they did themselves out of extra money! We were given no information on dinner times breakfast or anything else for that matter! Then was tourist tax next which i read up on but the receptionist thought they would pull a fast one and charge me €26 when it should be €18 this got her back up and just made the rest of check in rude! I wanted away from the desk so taken the key to get to the room the key didn’t work! Had to go back and get sorted which they couldn’t as the system was down despite everyone else had no issues? I was told that the maid will let us in no idea what they thought i would do when i wanted to leave the room? Honestly i really just wanted to leave! This hotel is not 4 star! Food was the same every night pork, pork and more pork! Only breakfast was ample choice but dinners not so! Restaurant staff are rude and had a real hard time accepting that there was 12 of us who are travelling as a family who would like to eat together! This was an ordeal every single day for the whole 10 day stay! What really lets this hotel down is the staff! The exception to this is the bar staff and entertainment staff, they were friendly and accommodating! Cleaning of rooms was not great, don’t expect full clean being done the shower was never cleaned the whole 10 days i know as the same sticker that fell of my label on day 1 was still there the morning we left! Floors are dusty and everything just swept under the bed and bedside cabinet Location was good we enjoyed the old town and happy to walk to lively bars etc! We would return to Salou for sure but defo not this hotel. Its a 3 star at best!
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 14, 2024
Great stay again ( our 5th visit here ) . Room 314 - @ side of hotel , sun in the morning and nice and shaded the rest of the day to cool off .Rooms cleaned everyday Made very welcome by the restaurant staff who remembered us from last year, it's a buffet with plenty of choice both at breakfast and for your main evening meal - which also had a cook freshly frying meats for you this year , the chicken was delicious. Great location in the mostly Spanish area with the bus stop to Reus and Tarragona only minutes away - buy a multi person ATM card , 10 trips for 6.5 euros . Plenty of bars ( Sunset St. was our favourite ) , shops etc nearby and about a 20 minute walk to the "tourist" side of town. The Tuesday market is worth a visit about 5 minutes from the hotel , as is the Saturday one in Reus and Tarragona's on a Tuesday and Thursday. Cant wait to go back again next year ! .
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 14, 2024
Really nice hotel can’t fault it, bar staff are lovely really polite and friendly. hotel is clean and well looked after. Rooms are cleaned every day and are just as advertised. If you come here i’d recommend monsoon beach just round the corner lovely restaurant with nicest food.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Family
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on May 31, 2024
We stayed here from May 25th-28, 2024, so very recently. My son and a few friends jumped into the pool at 6:10 pm. The life guard came over shouting, telling them to get out. When I asked why, he said it was shut. I said we were on holiday and he replied it was finished. I went to the reception and asked for a manager where I was presented with a lady named Victoria. She stormed out and asked, "What is the problem?" I explained about the pool and said we were on holiday, and that I ha e paid a lot of money to come to stay in this hotel, and she spoke over me, dismissed me, and told me to go somewhere else. I have never been treated in any hotel in my life and spoken to with such disrespect. The children were all running around the hotel playing hide and seek because they were bored and had nothing to do when all they want is to go in the pool. You are not allowed to have any balls or inflatables in the pool either. They are all forbidden. I asked Victoria, who was her manager, so I could raise my complaint further seen as she was no help whatsoever. Victoria walked in the back, then came out and threw a piece of paper at me. Another receptionist named Lindon (I think) could not apologise more for her rude, antagonist, behaviour. When I asked her a question, she ignored me. This lady needs to find a job she likes or even better apply for some courses in customer service, she is definitely in the wrong job. London was very helpful and caring. Just what you would want representing your business. The food was poor, and there were a lot of people in there who had disabilities who were also eating. They were taking bites of food and putting it back. We didn't eat from there again. So I spent a lot of money eating out. The cleaners shout up and. Sown the corridors so you are woken very early. They drag beds around and slam the doors with no care for they holidaymakers. We even had the do not disturb on the door. However, she still walked into our room in the mornings. The hotel has chairs and tables on the first floor at the end of the corridor where my room was. At night, there were 20 or more people sat laughing, drinking, and eating once all the disabled people had gone to bed. I presumed they were the care workers. They didn't realise how loud they were and my 10 year old, and I couldn't get to sleep, so I had to walk down to tye end of tye landing more than twice in one night to ask them to be quiet as people were trying to sleep. I should not have to do this. Also, the bar shuts at 11. You are then locked out and not allowed to walk through the bar, nor are the children able to play in the game area. It's more of a prison than a holiday. Never have I ever stayed at a pace like this in my life. Victoria also need sto go. She needs the sack, and Lindon deserves a pay rise for his excellent customer service skills. I even saw her speaking to him with disrespect and anger in her voice. Not how you want to see people treated. I will never
Odyssey61582713825
Checked in May 2024
Other
2.0/5
Posted on May 22, 2024
Just back from a one week stay at the California Palace. When checking in, we found the staff did not have a very good grasp of the English language, which I don’t have a problem with, after all we are in Spain. To get the room safe, it will cost you €35 for one week, 10 of which is refundable. This plus the €18 tourist tax and it’s cost you €53 before you’ve seen your room.. The room itself was fine. It was clean, there was good storage space and a small fridge. We were given a room on the first floor, facing the main road, so it was noisy from very early. It was cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied. For a 4 star hotel, the quality of the towels was poor. So small and thin you could hardly get dry. The shower was the worst I’ve ever used in any Spanish hotel. It was impossible to keep the temperature constant for more than a few seconds, either freezing or scalding was the two choices. Only one day from the 7 did I get hot water at the sink when I was shaving. The fire alarm went off at about 08.45 on Sunday morning. We got up and left our room, the fire doors had been closed at the one end of the corridor and the fire escape doors had been opened at the other. We proceeded down the fire escape, the alarm stopped as we were going down. There was no staff to be found at the muster area and no explanation ever given regarding the alarm. The food in the restaurant was at best, edible. Most things recycled and disguised as something else each day. The best choice was off the grill, which is cooked while you wait. The pool area is nice enough and when we stayed there was always enough sun beds, but not so many sun shades if you wanted one. We had one round in the bar, 4 &T’s and it was over €40 and with the cheap tonic off the tap at that. This is probably why there was never anyone in the bar in the evenings. Soft drinks were more reasonably priced. Mainly Spanish guests in the hotel, especially over the weekend and it was very obvious they were given preferential treatment over us Brits. The hotel is situated about a 20 minute walk from the beach and slightly more to the main drag. There are a few bars and restaurants in the vicinity. To summarise, the hotel is nowhere near a 4 star standard and I personally would not stay here again.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 13, 2024
Stayed in Hotel California Palace recently on a short holiday with my 9 year old daughter. Arrived very late (3am) unfortunately the gentleman at Reception had little to no English so we struggled to understand each other and book in to our accommodation. A very nice African man was present also and did his best to reassure us and helped us out with the little English he had so appreciated that. Mostly found Hotel to be very clean and staff very helpful. In particular a girl called Natalia at Reception was extremely helpful and went out of her way to help us. She deserves a big thank you. Also the African man I didn’t get his name he worked the evening shift he was very helpful also. Was disappointed no kids club opened until the last day but that can happen in low season have discovered. Overall a positive experience and would gladly stay here again! Máire, Dublin, Ireland
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 17, 2024
Really liked to his hotel and went all inclusive which we only had on two occasions. We find time restrictions on eating was a little awkward. The food appeared to be the same most nights. But it was nice to have the option. Room were clean and change of towels every other day. Staff were friendly and helpful. It was a little more than 10 minutes to the beach but we didn't really mind. Coming back was the problem with the heat. Nice hotel and not very noisy.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Family
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Aug 15, 2023
Just back from the the California Palace, great hotel, cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in from the rooms being cleaned, to the pool area even the grass cut around the pool area daily. We were full board, the food wasn’t exceptional but it certainly wasn’t poor either. We like to go out for dinner but had breakfast and Lunch most days, huge selection and something for everyone. Drinks are priced ok with beers at 3.50 euro and cocktails at between 6-8 euro but they had very large measures in them. Entertainment was ok for what we seen again nothing spectacular but ok. Sam is very friendly and speaks to you as if you have known him for years. Reception staff greeted us well whenever we spoke to them, bar staff were good also apart from one who I won’t name but felt most times we asked for a drink it seemed like it was a hassle with shakes of the head and groans. I would say with the hotel being in the old town it is catered for mostly Spanish, not an issue to us as we were in Spain after all, it was a little difficult at times to order drinks if it wasn’t a straight forward drink. Overall we were very happy with the hotel and are already looking at booking for next year. On a minor note I would like if the hotel got a new dartboard at the poolside as the one they have has seen it’s best days by at least a year. Location wise as I said it’s in the old town, lots of restaurants close, mostly Spanish but quality none the less especially the Theatre Restaurant. It took 15mins to walk to the beach but lots of shops etc on the way down to keep the family entertained. 10 euros in a taxi to Porta Venture which is 10 mins away or a 30 minute walk. We did walk to the park but wouldn’t recommend it certainly when it’s 35 degrees 😂
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 30, 2023
Really enjoyed staying here, had no problem with breakfast and dinner, good range to choose from. For the price you pay it's worth it, I believe people's expectations are way too high expecting food to be Michelin star style . I definitely recommend going to the spa, spent 3 hours there in the small pool, jacuzzi and steam room, well worth the price you pay. Location is ideal, 10 minute walk from the beach and 10 minute walk from the supermarket,
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 9, 2023
I think on reading some of the reviews there is some reviews on here that I don't agree with 100% I thought the hotel was completely fine, the rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed when needed or if they were left on the floor. We got a delux room no idea why we never asked for it just happened and the balcony was huge went right round the corner of the building. The food wasn't amazing but was okai and if your not too fussy and like fish you would be completely fine, breakfast was good and lunch was brilliant. We were half board and twice we swapped dinner for lunch and this was never an issue. The hotel was clean and round the pool area was also clean and there is plenty of shade when we were there. The bar staff, reception staff and restruant staff were all friendly and helpful and were also absolutely chuffed when I attempted to speak the little spannish that I know. Entertainment was on pretty much every night and was really good we throughly enjoyed our stay and would probably return We went down to the spa twice €6 for 3 hours and was brilliant pool was warm and the jacuzzi was ace also has a sauna and a steam room definitely worth the €6
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 7, 2023
I think I have to review this hotel in response to some of the reviews I have read. Some were quite off-putting and made me think twice about whether I really wanted to go. Main things I read were that the pool and area was dirty and the food was cold and generally not very good. I found neither to be the case - the pool was among the cleanest I’ve seen and the food was genuinely very good - varied and cooked very well. The dinners particularly were very good indeed - the dishes too numerous to mention. A couple of points I would agree with - there seemed to be a few too many picky rules at the pool and some of the staff didn’t have brilliant English, but their English is better than my Spanish so I can’t complain. We managed between us in the end! The room was fine - no issues there. Good shower cupboard space, mini fridge, tv and it was plenty big for a single or couple. If you bring kids (I didn’t see too many) then perhaps you’d find it a bit cramped especially if you need a cot. I didn’t get his name, but the chap who arranged the entertainment was really good. A genuinely friendly guy who worked hard and likes a laugh. The cleaning staff, bar staff, restaurant staff and reception staff all seemed helpful and happy in their work. I read reviews about some of them being a bit cross or unhelpful with UK guests, but I didn’t find this at any point. About the general area around the hotel. Although I have been to Salou before, on more than one occasion, I wasn’t that familiar with the Old Town. It was quiet - there were places open but they were empty. If you want a bit of life, it’s a tenner in a taxi to the town centre, and even in October there’s plenty going on. Would I go again, yes I probably would. If there was to be anything to put me off, it would be the location being a bit too quiet, but that suits some people very well indeed, so that’s a matter of preference.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Oct 4, 2023
This hotel is NOT a 4 star. It lacks in many ways to be at 4 star level, torn bedding, damp/rotten woodwork and unclean in certain areas. First impressions we thought the hotel seemed quite good, but a few days in and realised most of the other reviews were actually quite accurate. Some of the staff need customer relations lessons. The cleaning of the rooms left a lot to be desired. One day the pool was closed until 6pm, then re-opened for just 1 hour. Everyone were told lie after lie as to why it was closed, we were told it would be opened in an hour, then another hour..... The dining hall was probably the best thing about the hotel, the food was quite good, always quite hot and tasty. We reported our findings to LastMinute.com, they said they had contacted the hotel with my concerns and said the pool was cloed briefly! Thr ripped bedding was still in our room on the day we left and we were there 14 nights. LastMinute.com also said I should have read the reviews before making the booking when I told them I booked a 4 star hotel so I thought I should get a 4 star hotel, and the star rating is managed by an independant company...who do not read any of the reviews....WoW
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Oct 4, 2023
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, looks lovely on the outside and clean inside. When we went to our room again, it was clean. However the mattresses on the beds were rock solid and there are no kettles in rooms to make tea or coffee (first hotel I’ve stayed at that doesn’t provide a kettle) so we had to buy our own (other holiday makers there suggested this to us) You’re told if you need ice in your room just ask the bar staff, where one barman was very rude and because he didn’t speak much English he put his finger up saying “only one cup ice” I ended up buying ice from the supermarket so I didn’t have to speak to him again. The breakfast was ok but most of it was cold - beans, sausages, eggs etc. The dinner was the same cold meal with not much variety. We ended up eating out most nights. In the morning you’re allowed teas, coffees and juices with your breakfast but in the evening if you want a soft drink (including water) you have to pay for it. You’ll be charged to use the gym and spa facilities per day. Overall not really a pleasant stay.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 30, 2023
We had a wonderful time,the hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are very friendly. The food was very nice and fresh, maybe could hv been hotter but it's a buffet so always being topped up. The pool area is spacious and relaxing. The hotel is based in the Spanish quarter so nice and peaceful in the evening. Our room was so comfortable and the best bed we hv ever had on holiday. Overall an excellent holiday and no complaints.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 29, 2023
4 of us have just returned from a 10 day stay September 2023 at the California Palace Hotel this is my experience. Maybe the staff have changed since other previous reviews. Employees. The ladies on reception were polite and helpful. One of our group lost a tooth cap and the ladies on reception spent a long time helping her find a dentist. All lady managers in restaurant were fine, we wanted to change dinner one evening to lunch and there was no problem. We were politely asked to move one evening as table had been reserved. It was not a problem for us as there were plenty of other tables with cutlery to use. Food. Breakfast, buffet style consisted of fry up, cereals, continental, fruit, bread and rolls, jams plenty of choice. Food was perfectly edible, hot enough and never cold or greasy. Unfortunately I am no fan of tea or coffee out of a machine but that seems to be the way these days. As a comment to the person complaining about being told off for taking food from restaurant there is plenty to eat and eat as much as you require. Would you go into your local cafe or restaurant buy a cup of tea and decide to take some cake or sandwiches for later? Of course you wouldn't. Dinner, Dinner was never going to win any awards but perfectly edible. Pork every night but always plenty of other choices. Again food was not cold or greasy. Room. A good size, kept nice and clean and beds made every day with a good size balcony. Pool area kept clean and tidy. Maybe it was a quieter time while we stayed there but plenty of sunbeds available. Parasols used more for decor than sheltering from the sun. Also no loud music being played all day. Great. This hotel is in a good position with access to local amenities. Shops, bars, restaurants etc. I would say this hotel is better suited to people who want a quieter holiday. There are no night clubs or all night bars in the area so we were not disturbed when in bed by people coming and going all times of the night making a noise. There is entertainment at this hotel or hotel next door generally between 10 and 11pm every evening. There is a childrens pool and play area but no staff employed to keep them entertained while we were there but there maybe during July And August. The only criticism I would have is the awful Spanish rap music continuously played at loud volume in the bar area, liked by a bar staff member but not many guests as bar area empty most of the time during the day perhaps something more varied to suit most tastes and lower volume may encourage more people to use bar area during the day rather than going elsewhere. Would we stay here again? Definitely, we are already thinking of dates. Given 4 stars out of 5 as like a lot others most everything, people who work there, rooms etc are ok except food (apart from one time we ate at hotel every evening) although perfectly edible is unlikely going to win awards. Please lose the Spanish Rap music!!!!! Don't be put off by negative reviews as I think other hot