Risby Cove Boutique Hotel

Risby Cove Boutique Hotel Reviews

Risby Cove Boutique Hotel

44 Esplanade, Strahan, Tasmania, 7468, AustraliaView Hotel Details
Risby Cove Boutique Hotel
Risby Cove Boutique HotelRisby Cove Boutique HotelRisby Cove Boutique Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Risby Cove Boutique Hotel Guest Reviews

4.4/5
Very Good
54 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.4
Amenities4.4
Service4.4
Cleanliness4.4
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(54)
Positive reviews(36)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(2)
Odyssey29902744888
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 5, 2024
My family of two adults and two older teens stayed overnight in a 2 bedroom deluxe waterfront suite in July. The hotel is beautifully located and the collection of buildings is pretty. We enjoyed watching the colours of sunset and sunrise over the water. Comfortable beds. Wifi was adequate. Parking on-site not far from our room. The heating in the room was very effective. Bathroom was medium sized, the towel warming rail a welcome touch. We stopped at the local IGA for breakfast supplies to prepare in the well equipped kitchenette in our room. And for dinner we booked a table at the on-site restaurant where we enjoyed a lovely meal. Would recommend to visitors to Strahan.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 30, 2024
Beautiful accommodation - well appointed and warm - very comfy bed - bath and shower are separate and the room is extremely well set out. Evening sunset spectacular. Also close and a walk to the town centre - 400m away on a dedicated walking path. Cafes close by with great coffee and stroll to the Red Boat for your trip up the Gordon
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 31, 2024
Stayed in one of the suites overlooking the water. Room was lovely and well laid out apart from the bathroom. Toilet was located right next to the door and the door would not lock due to the door being poorly adjusted. Not ideal when the door is a few feet from the bed! Other than that everying else was first class.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 31, 2024
Stayed for 2 nights in one of the Sawmill Apartments right on the river. Is a really lovely place. Very clean and comfortable. Whilst we did not get to see the sunset due to the weather could imagine would be lovely. The only downside is that the toilet is located right next to bathroom door which is adjacent to the bed. ( Bit awkward even for a married couple of 20 years)
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Mar 30, 2024
We had a 2 night stay at Risby Cove and on arrival, thought wow, the location is amazing. Then everything else went downhill from there. The rooms and furnishings are very outdated. The bathroom vanity tap dripped continuously; thankfully the closed door silenced the sound. The bathroom fittings were old and there was considerable mould around the basin. The TV didn’t work and there was no locking mechanism on the front screen door. We had a great view of the harbour from our upstairs window. Sadly, the flyscreen was covered in dust and there were dead insects at the bottom of the window. Even the downpipes (at eye level) outside our room were rusted and covered in cobwebs. The hotel needs a lot of love and attention to bring it up to a quality standard.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 19, 2024
This Hotel may have seen better days but they charge like they’re five star. The location of our accommodation was overlooking the cove - spectacular view from the front verandah. So much potential but overall experience was just disappointing. Rooms were spacious but very dated & tired looking. The heater didn’t work and the television didn’t work. We couldn’t contact anyone as the office was closed. There aren’t a lot of choices for accommodation or restaurants. They’re so ridiculously expensive. NRMA recommends the village as a tourist destination but apart from their cruises along the beautiful Franklin River & the various hikes - there’s not a lot to do.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 29, 2024
Great location, lovely room, super comfy beds and stunning views! We loved our stay here and would definitely stay again. It’s an easy stroll around the water to the restaurants etc. and the waterfall walk is across the road. Strahan itself is gorgeous!!!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 29, 2024
Such a special place to stay. The views are really something special, and the rooms are beautifully appointed, spotless, and make for a real oasis. I had waterfront view and it was just incredible. The staff were also very helpful, calling ahead of time to organize a dinner booking with them (so delicious!). Highly recommend!
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Dec 22, 2023
Comfortable and quiet, but I agree with other reviews. This is far from being a boutique hotel. On the plus side its setting is beautiful and the restaurant very good, but the furnishings are tired, old fashioned and basic. Had we been expecting a motel we wouldn't have been disappointed, but as it sells itself as a boutique hotel we were.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 3, 2023
Wonderful place to wake up. The service was great at the reception we loved the views. We will be back. Quiet and homely when you sit with the curtains open all you see is the wilderness and water. A short walk to the pub and trips up the river. Thanks so much.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 26, 2023
I would say this is a decent motel, not a boutique hotel. Props to the marketing/website person for making it look so desirable online when in fact it's a bit old, tired and...well, deserted. Look, if one is keen to stay in a motel thats clean, quiet and where the staff (when you find one) are friendly then it's a nice place. But to be a boutique hotel it would need a fair few adjustments. We stayed in Cove, one of the king cabins. Good bathroom, good heating, decent enough spot by the lovely water. But if you wanted to call it boutique you'd need to change the carpet, update the furniture and give everything a coat of paint. It's a motel. Laundry facilities are helpful after a while on the road, mind you. Just be aware it's one washer and one drier so you may have to get in early or wait a while. Anyway... Aside from being a bit let down by the actuality opposed to the website, it was a comfortable stay. On the first night we had the place entirely to ourselves. Not a soul on site, the water lapping, a strange noise echoing from the forest.... All we needed was a fog to roll in. 🤣 Next day three more roomloads of guests had arrived when we came home from a walk, each looking bewildered as the check-in process for them involved a key in an envelope left by the door. (We had been fortunate enough to find someone on site when we rolled in). The restaurant was closed except for Wednesday, I guess because why would you fire up the ovens for eight people? Fair enough. But none of it the twinkly waterside off season wonderland we had anticipated. If there's anything we have learned in Tassie, it's that a good font will get you far. Backing it up is the hard part. Stay at Risby Cove if you're not too fussed and just want a place to sleep.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 11, 2023
A great apartment on the waterfront for the three of us. Watched the sun go down from our windows. Super meal in the restaurant well looked after by the staff with a great range of food and wine choices (recommend booking a table). We had travelled over from Hobart. Our only regret was that we should have stayed another night, but then ....
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 28, 2023
👍we had a top floor 2 bedroom apartment. Overlooked water way,very comfy,clean,electric blankets to warm bed for sleeping. Quiet and very peaceful. 👎unfortunately the same couldn’t be said for their restaurant. Our scallop marinara was very disappointing 🥺
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 26, 2023
We stayed in a waterfront room and it was absolutely fabulous - plenty of space, well equipped, spotlessly clean and with a lovely balcony at the water's edge. Its a pity there is no meaningful breakfast option, given that there is a restaurant on site.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 25, 2023
Stayed 2 nights in Strahan. The afternoon we arrived power was out in a large part of the town including our accommodation. The proprietor, Zarela, kindly offered to make us a cheese platter for dinner as the restaurant was out of action. They were able to make a lovely vegetable soup using their gas facilities and they provided this free of charge to all their guests. This was delivered to all their suites which was a lovely touch seeing that it was difficult to find somewhere to eat that evening. The accommodation was very comfortable. We stayed in the Sawmill which looked over the harbour. A short distance away is a lovely walk through the rainforest to Hogarth Falls. A stay at Risby Cove is highly recommended.