Ferry Inn

Ferry Inn Reviews

Ferry Inn

10 John St, Stromness, KW16 3AD, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Ferry Inn
Ferry InnFerry InnFerry Inn
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Ferry Inn Guest Reviews

4.2/5
Very Good
70 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.2
Amenities4.2
Service4.2
Cleanliness4.2
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(70)
Positive reviews(28)
Negative reviews(5)
the_oleander
Checked in Jun 2024
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 20, 2024
Loved this stay at the Ferry Inn! It is exactly across the road from the ferry, thus aptly named and couldn't be easier to get to. (Also, buses for neolithic sites leave regularly from right in front of the ferry.) It's a gem of Orcadian welcome--cozy, clean, comfortable rooms; convivial dining area with excellent food; and lively pub. There's also outdoor seating if weather allows. Takes only moments to be on the main street of Stromness, one of the most lovely, welcoming, intimate towns I've ever visited. The proprietors are warm, friendly, and efficient--just great people, as are all the staff. Can't overemphasize the great care they took of us. Would stay again in a heartbeat--and hope I can sometime!
Response from Property: What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you loved Stromness and the Ferry Inn. You are very welcome back sometime :)
Companion51863797559
Checked in May 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 10, 2024
We stayed here 3 nights and it was a very pleasant experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was tiny but cozy. The beds were comfortable and there was lots of hot water in the shower. The breakfast was very filling with fruit, yogurt, cereal and croissants on a buffet as well as a menu with cooked to order hot food. This inn is right across from the ferry terminal, so very convenient. The only negative aspect is that there is no elevator and the stairs are very steep and narrow. This was a problem for a few people in our group. However, all in all, I would definitely recommend this inn.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jan 10, 2024
I would not recommend this hotel. Not because of location or the small rooms but because of the poor communications with the staff. I have reserved 2 rooms and requested they be close together - which they were not. Our rooms were on different floors. During these communications, we were encouraged to get dinner reservations as the restaurant that is in the hotel gets very busy - which I did. Before arriving I emailed numerous times for confirmation with no reply. When we arrived no one was at the desk and we had to go looking next door for assistance. Upon arrival, we were notified that their restaurant had closed early for the season but we could go next door to eat only to find out they were booked for the night. NO place in all of Stromness was serving dinner so we had to drive to Kirkwall to eat.
OldNo7Black
Checked in Nov 2023
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 27, 2023
Three of us stayed here for one night in November, and the service was amazing even before we arrived. We were contacted just after booking to confirm arrangements and made aware that the restaurant was closed for evening meals, but breakfast (that was included, and delicious) was still available in the morning. We had a follow-up call to check everything was OK for arrival due to recent weather disruptions and ferry cancellations, and we also requested an iron for our rooms - we were also offered early check-in which was a great bonus. Both rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable and roomy. We would highly recommend staying here, and if we ever need a night in Stromness again, we would book here first.
Response from Property: Hello, thank you for this amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us this winter and really appreciate that you have taken time to write with this super feedback. We do hope that you will be able to stay with us again :)
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Family
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Sep 20, 2023
Chewy scallops, son had diarrhoea after eating Lovely waitress and staff but manager was arrogant and rude. Not keen to come back. Sad as lovely location and with a better manager could be amazing Great whisky and also great cheese menu. Has so much to offer if was better managed
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 31, 2023
The Ferry Inn had comfortable and clean accommodations. Everyone on the staff was incredibly friendly and polite. The location really is just about 1 minute to the ferry terminal which also serves as the bus terminal so all your transport needs are steps away. I would return and stay here in a heart beat. I had a few issues. We stayed in the main building on the top floor. This has 3 issues. 1. The stairs to the top floor (in particular) are quite narrow and steep. I have a bad knee and while i could negotiate those stairs if i had any more serious mobility issues it would have been an issue. 2. The ceiling on the top floor is about 6'2" high. I am 6 foot and the ceiling felt close if I were a taller person it would have been a more serious issue. 3. The wifi was very intermittent in our room. When connected it was quite strong but it dropped a few times an hour.
Response from Property: Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us:)
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 18, 2023
Welcoming and a provided good meal before catching the ferry. Well stocked bar. This is now the cosy hub of Stromness. Thank goodness this place continues the local tradition of warm hospitality. Thank you.
Response from Property: Thank you for supporting us :)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 30, 2023
We had a one night stay in the excellent, and recently refurbished accommodation across from the pub. Karen was attentive and friendly and as we were checking out early to get the ferry (which is 100m away) she made us breakfast bags which kept us going until lunch. The evening meal we had was superb and the staff were well organised and friendly. Would definitely come here again
Response from Property: Thank you so much for this lovely review :)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 14, 2023
I cannot say enough about the friendly and caring staff at the Ferry Inn. Karen, the owner kept her kitchen open for us as our ferry came in after closing hours then proceeded to serve us the best fish and chips we had during our 3 week stay in Scotland. The ever cheerful Bo gladly assisted us with our luggage and other needs and Kathleen took great care with our breakfasts. I highly recommends the salmon with scrambled eggs. The salmon was delicious and the portion generous. The beds were comfy, the location convenient and parking was easy. Again, the wonderful staff would have me stay at the Ferry Inn if I am ever fortunate enough to return to beautiful Orkney.
Response from Property: Thank you for this amazing review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Ferry Inn and really do hope that you will be able to return one day :)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 1, 2023
We loved our time at the Ferry Inn. Karen and Gareth were wonderful hosts. The rooms were well appointed and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The restaurant/pub was a great place to unwind at the end of the day. Its location right across the street from the ferry terminal and parking was really helpful.
Response from Property: It is so good to hear that you loved your recent stay with is at the Ferry Inn. Thank you for taking time to write this review. it is very much appreciated.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 15, 2023
I haven't even arrived yet and already Bo has been very helpful. I was confused as to the check-in instructions and Bo was extremely helpful. I hope I get the chance to thank them personally when I arrive in June.
Response from Property: Hello, Bo will be delighted to see this lovely feedback and I am sure that he will be around to say hello when you visit in June.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 30, 2023
Busy pub where the bar fills up quickly and you should reserve a table in advance. Very comfortable, homey feel inside, with families, tourists, and friends dining in convivial atmosphere. Service is friendly and food served in a timely manner. The food was AMAZING: the soup of the day was rich in flavour and spices and so velvety. The lamb shoulder was tender and priced right. Scallops were divine with the apple salad. This is a gastropub— they serve high quality food which is presented with flair but with reasonable pub prices. Ingredients are locally sourced. Located 2 minutes walk from the ferry terminal; parking lot located 5 mins walk north of the terminal. Totally recommend!
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 30, 2023
We visited the Ferry Inn twice in late August this year. The service and food were excellent. We both had the haddock on our visits. Great selection of drams and good advice on them from the bartender. .
Response from Property: Many thanks for this super review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your times at the Ferry Inn
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 30, 2023
We had dinner in Stromness our last night in the Orkney Islands; we drove from Kirkwall, which was an easy drive. Food at the Ferry Inn was very good and service was friendly. I enjoyed the slow-cooked lamb shoulder, which was very tender and well-seasoned while my wife enjoyed the soup of the day and the carrot and coconut pudding. We would return if back in the Orkney Islands.
Response from Property: Thank you for this lovely review :)
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Family
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jan 30, 2023
The food was delicious, an excellent combination of flavours and texture. However, the service was poor. We, my son and I, felt ignored, especially by the owner who had time to exchange pleasantries with everyone else but us. Quite frankly, rude.
Response from Property: We see you have altered this review since our chat earlier today. We are sorry you felt ignored, but would highlight that the owner greeted you, offered a pre dinner table for drinks, arranged for you to eat early, poured and served your drinks and cleared starters, as well as helping your son to butter bread when you were away from table. Our most experienced staff member took your order and our youngest looked to your dessert as soon as you clicked your fingers(literally). We serve over 100 customers nightly and unfortunately as owners we can’t give all our time to any or each. There certainly was no intention to ignore or offend. Glad you enjoyed the food.