Wilton Castle

Wilton Castle Reviews

Wilton Castle

Wilton Castle, Wilton, Wexford, County Wexford, IrelandView Hotel Details
Wilton Castle
Wilton CastleWilton CastleWilton Castle
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Wilton Castle Guest Reviews

4.8/5
Amazing
46 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.8
Amenities4.8
Service4.8
Cleanliness4.8
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(46)
Positive reviews(6)
Reviews with photos/video(2)
Negative reviews(1)
Charles S
Checked in Feb 2024
Family
1.0/5
Posted on Feb 17, 2024
My teenage daughter and I called to Castle Wilton this afternoon, as we were in the locality. We live about an hour away, and our own house has a connection with Castle Wilton in that it was designed by the same architect, Daniel Robertson. We arrived and had stepped out of our jeep, when we were confronted by a gentleman, whom we presumed to be the owner. I was asked to remove my jeep as a B&B party were arriving. I replied of course, and enquired if it was possible to take a look around, but unfortunately didn't get a chance to explain who we were and why we had called, as we were both told "No" very abruptly. With that the gentleman got back into his own jeep, and drove off leaving us standing there ! Our interaction only lasted a few seconds, but we were shocked by the rude reception. We were polite and respectful, and were not expecting this. Naturally we left without delay, but would have no interest in ever returning, as guests or otherwise. For someone in the hospitality business we were rather bemused !!
Response from Property: Hi Charles, Some important points of clarification. You were not a guest at our property. You arrived uninvited to the castle while another group had rented the castle for exclusive use of the castle and grounds. You ignored multiple signs indicating that the castle was not open for non-resident guests. We then received a complaint from our guests about two unknown people walking around the property. You were then met by the caretaker and informed of the above situation. You then asked if you could continue to walk around the property anyway despite having just been told you were trespassing. When you were told no, this seems to have upset your rather large sense of entitlement. Your being “shocked by the rude reception” implies we asked to receive you. It would have been much simpler to call and ask if it would be appropriate for you to visit instead of going to the trouble of setting up a new TripAdvisor account just so you could leave 1 star review of a business you were not a customer of. One final note, I am very familiar with a lot of Daniel Robertson’s buildings and I am quite confident in saying few if any of the current owners of those buildings would want random uninvited people to show up including to your own home as you well know.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 2, 2023
A beautiful venue for family gathering, loads of space for a large number of people and a very relaxing setting. Easy check in, and good recommendations given for food catering in local area. The house is split into suite areas which was very helpful for people who wanted an earlier night! Wonderful memories were made :)
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We stayed at Wilton Castle for a celebration of our 20th anniversary with our siblings and their spouses. It was a group of 12 people, and we rented the entire castle for our exclusive use. It was absolutely worth the money. Wilton Castle is beautiful, clean, well-kept, and the hosts are wonderful. Sean and David (hosts) were so helpful in coordinating a planned anniversary celebration dinner, and also gave recommendations for things to bring for our trip, and things to go see. The grounds are gorgeous and we all enjoyed morning walks around the property with coffee. The older "ruins" portion of the castle is lovely to see, and proved to be a perfect backdrop for professional anniversary photos. The kitchen provided everything we needed to cook for ourselves. (There ARE places that will deliver food, even late at night) There was plenty of space for couples to have their own private areas, and a large dining/livingroom area for us all to talk and enjoy time together as a group, as well. We can't say enough good things about this trip. If you get the chance to visit, go! You will not be disappointed.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We stayed in the Thornton Suite with another couple for two nights. There was so much room and we were so comfortable. The grounds are beautiful. Check in was a breeze. We were able to cook a simple pasta meal one night in the kitchen. Most everything is available. Highly recommended!
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
This was a stunning place to stay. The rooms were clean. The rooms were extremely spacious. It is a bit of a drive to get to any restaurants. This was a self catering location. The Kitchen was beautiful and spacious. The only reason we did not give this a 5 star is that the Internet was extremely poor and we are heavy users of the Internet.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
One of the nicest places I have ever stayed. We were in the Butler Suite, everything about it was just a touch above what we expected. Rooms were spacious, beautifully decorated & fully equipped..this is truly a hideous gem & I will not only be back but will recommend to anyone who will listen..
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 8, 2023
This place just blew me away!! Such a beautiful castle, half accomodation, half in ruins, it really is magical , I honestly cannot fault the place, we stayed 2 nights, David was such a pleasure to deal with, we actually cancelled our dinner reservations so we could stay in the suite and cook ourselves, rather than leave!! So warm and cosy, it really is a gem.