St George's Guest House

St George's Guest House Reviews

St George's Guest House

6 St George's Pl, York, YO24 1DR, United KingdomView Hotel Details
St George's Guest House
St George's Guest HouseSt George's Guest HouseSt George's Guest House
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

St George's Guest House Guest Reviews

4.6/5
Great
63 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.6
Amenities4.6
Service4.6
Cleanliness4.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(63)
Positive reviews(40)
Trail324617
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 28, 2024
Great place to stay. We stayed for 4 nights and had no complaints. The place was spotless, room was lovely and a 20 min walk into town . The lady who ran the place was lovely and friendly and gave us some good advice on places to go. Highly recommended and will come back again.
Response from Property: Hi, thank you so much for your lovely review! We’re delighted to hear that you had a great 4-night stay with us. It’s wonderful to know that you found the guest house spotless and enjoyed the comfortable room. Our location is indeed convenient for a nice 20-minute walk into town. We’re glad our friendly advice on local attractions was helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to York!
janeviviendyson
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 23, 2024
Great place to stay. Friendly staff, superb breakfasts, beautiful rooms in a quiet area, very close to the city & racecourse. We are regular visitors to St. George’s & we are always welcomed as special guests . Thank you team for making our stays in York so memorable!
Response from Property: Hi Jane, Thank you for your lovely review! We are always delighted to welcome you back as our special guests. Your kind words about our friendly staff, breakfasts, and quiet, convenient location mean a lot to us. We’re thrilled that you consistently enjoy your stays at St. George’s and look forward to your next visit!
Stephen G
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 10, 2024
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The accommodation was clean and well equipped with ample supplies. The Breakfast was superb with a wide range of cereals, fresh fruit and breakfast bars - the cooked breakfast offered a wide range of options and was cooked to a high standard. Alison our host was friendly, polite, offered good advice on places to visit and could not do enough for us. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone - we will definitely be staying again and are already looking forward to a September break.
Response from Property: Hi Stephen, Thank you for your lovely review! We’re delighted to hear that you had a superb stay with us. It's fantastic to know that you found the accommodation clean, well-equipped, and that you enjoyed our extensive breakfast offerings. Alison will be thrilled to hear your kind words about her hospitality and recommendations. We're so pleased that you felt welcomed and well taken care of. We look forward to seeing you again in September for another wonderful stay. Safe travels until then!
781lesleyt
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 5, 2024
Our room was lovely, with a great shower and very comfortable bed. Some nice extra touches and delicious breakfast - lots of options and well worth the money. Highly recommend if you want to be close to York. Close to a couple of pubs and the racecourse.
Response from Property: Hi Lesley, thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the boutique hotel feel. It's great to know that you found the room lovely, the shower excellent, and the bed very comfortable. We're glad you enjoyed the extra touches and found the breakfast delicious and worth the money. Our convenient location near York, a couple of pubs, and the racecourse is something many guests appreciate. We highly recommend us to others, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Lesley F
Checked in Mar 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 25, 2024
Well where do I start, we arrived Friday for a weekend stay for my daughters 21st birthday we were greeted by Alison who was just amazing from beginning to end, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotless and to have balloons and prosecco was an added bonus, my daughter was very happy and we agreed a lovely touch. We spent the weekend discovering York but knowing we had a lovely place to go back to and relax was reassuring. We started Sunday morning with Breakfast in St Georges and all I can say is WOW, hands down the best breakfast I have had in a Hotel for a long time all freshly cooked, red hot and very tasty. And to make things that bit more Personal Alison brought a Birthday Cake and Candles out after Breakfast for my daughter. Will definitely be returning and look forward to seeing the team at St Georges :-)
Response from Property: Thank you for your amazing review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us for your daughter's 21st birthday weekend. Alison is indeed amazing, and we're delighted that she made your experience from beginning to end so memorable. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the details in the room and that everything met your expectations. We're glad that you were able to relax and unwind in our lovely place after exploring York, and that you enjoyed the breakfast at St Georges - it's always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy their meals with us. We're delighted that the birthday cake and candles added an extra special touch to your daughter's celebration. We can't wait to welcome you back for another visit, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Brian f
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 16, 2024
Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. We were made to feel most welcome and able to treat it as our home. It was spotless throughout and the bedrooms were modern and spacious with an unsuited. The location was ideal with on road parking and the city centre within walking distance We will certainly recommend this to friends and family
Response from Property: Hi Brian, thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Ensuring a spotlessly clean environment and providing friendly service are top priorities for us, so we're delighted that you found both to your satisfaction. We're glad you appreciated the spacious bedrooms with en suites, as well as our convenient location and easy access to the city centre. Your recommendation to friends and family means a lot to us, and we would be honoured to welcome them in the future. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!
andrewsK9126ZR
Checked in Feb 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 25, 2024
Great guest house. Breakfast was very good and had lots of choice on the cooked menu as well as very nice fruits, yoghurts and mueslis.. The host Alison was really helpful and kind to us. The family room is spacious and the bathroom was very clean.
Response from Property: Hi Andrew, thank you for your review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our guest house. It's wonderful to know that you found the breakfast to be very good. Alison, our host, will be pleased to hear your kind words, and we're glad she could assist you during your stay. Our family room is designed to offer a comfortable space for families, and we're pleased to hear that you found everything as expected. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Suzyg81
Checked in Dec 2023
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 18, 2023
Such a lovely B&B. The bed was really comfy, room was clean and warm. Bathroom was also clean. Breakfast was delicious and filling, which set us up for the day. The staff were really polite and helpful. Walk into town took 15/20 minutes. I would definitely recommend this B&B and we would return.
Response from Property: Hi Suzy, thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are proud that we were able to accommodate you and make you feel comfortable and happy during your stay in York, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you so much for your recommendation!
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Nov 8, 2023
Last minute booking as we had booked near a flooded river !! Self check in was easy and room was warm and lovely. Stayed for 2 nights room only, however breakfast is available daily @ £15 per person, plenty of tea and cofee available for the room, beautiful bedding.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 30, 2023
This is the best B&B hotel we have stayed in. The chef/host/greeter Alison was so helpful and full of excellent advice. Her vegan breakfast was the best I've had and the room was spotless. The beds are so comfy. Would definitely book again when next in York.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 22, 2023
Thank you so much Fiona for fitting us in late after I phoned you. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious and the breakfast from Alison excellent! Really appreciate it and charging us for a double room rate in the family room.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 15, 2023
I booked this superb family-run hotel for a weekend getaway in October to celebrate my wife’s birthday. St George’s is ideally located about 15 minutes from Micklegate, York, and all the attractions, shops, pubs and restaurants that the city has to offer. On arrival, the owner was very welcoming and provided directions to the city, recommended restaurants and things to do. The local knowledge she imparted made our experience in this most fascinating of cities go much more smoothly. Our room was cosy and nicely decorated, complete with a nice comfy bed and a lovely en-suite shower room. The room and en-suite were spotlessly clean, which is testament to the obvious pride that goes into running the hotel. On the second morning, we enjoyed a lovely cooked breakfast before checking out. Overall, would heartily recommend. Very nice stay and reasonably priced. I look forward to going back.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 20, 2023
Absolutely lovely stay. I was upgraded to a deluxe room. It was very clean and tidy. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the linen was spotless. The bathroom was modern and very clean with a fabulous shower at one end.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 17, 2023
Excellent in all respects. Friendly, efficient staff, comfortable bed (very!), Excellent shower, excellent (hassle free, secure) parking, excellent location. Perfect even down to the brand of tea in the rooms! I will certainly be back. Thanks to all concerned.
Response from Property: Hi Shaggy, thank you for taking the time to leave us your kind comments, we are so happy that you had a lovely stay with us. To read that you will come back when you are visiting York again is simply the best compliment! St. George's team : )
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 16, 2023
Really pleased we found this place. Great location in a quiet residential area yet so close to the city. We walked into the centre in about 20 mins and also got the bus which stops at the end of the road. The car park was handy but there was plenty of on street spaces when we visited too. I was visiting with a trailer so I was really pleased when they allowed me to park it in their carpark under cctv. We were staying for the weekend as it was my partner's birthday and the staff were so accommodating, providing balloons and chocolates in the room. Bed was really comfy too. Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Response from Property: Hi Daniel, thank you for giving us such a nice review. It is a pleasure when we are chosen to celebrate important moments such as a birthday, we love to be part of making beautiful memories for our guests! We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!