Gornergrat Dorf Hotel

Gornergrat Dorf Hotel Reviews

Gornergrat Dorf Hotel

Bahnhofstrasse 1, Zermatt, SwitzerlandView Hotel Details
Gornergrat Dorf Hotel
Gornergrat Dorf HotelGornergrat Dorf HotelGornergrat Dorf Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Gornergrat Dorf Hotel Guest Reviews

3.8/5
7 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.8
Amenities3.8
Service3.8
Cleanliness3.8
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(7)
Positive reviews(3)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(4)
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Friends
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Mar 11, 2024
If you want to be near the train station and have the convenience of an in-hotel bar and restaurant, then this is for you. BUT you also need to be able to put up with rude, unhelpful, and distrusting owners/front desk staff, stained walls and carpeting in the halls and rooms, and minimal amenities.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jul 24, 2023
Location is very good, just across from the station. The room was clean with modern decor and (basic) furnishings. Nice to have a balcony. The staff are mostly friendly. The breakfast is pretty basic - cereals (no proper museli or granola), bread rolls, a few sliced cold meats, yogurt, and a bowl of fruit cocktail. You get what you pay for and the price per night is very good for Zermatt. I found the wifi fine in my room, but no signal in the breakfast area. The not so good - no kettle in the room, which is first time I’ve ever stayed anywhere where that is the case. So don’t plan on coffee on the balcony. They will give you hot water if you have a flask. When they say check out at 11am they mean it. I got back to the hotel at 10:50am only to find my keycard had stopped working and the receptionist told me it’s because 11am is checkout time. I had to point out it wasn’t 11 yet, which for me finished the stay on a slightly sour note.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Mar 24, 2023
The Good - Location. Best location in Town !! 150 feet from the Train that goes up the mountain.... and it ends there. Wait.... Breakfast was very good every day. Staff very nice. However it is mostly family members running the hotel, cooking and cleaning rooms. Beds are very comfortable. The Bad - the decor and repairs are badly needed. Water dripping in dining area, hardwood floors coming up do the the water dripping. Molding coming off. Small TV's in bedrooms. The Ugly - first let me mention that my parents came from Germany so I am accustom to very good German food. I decided one night to have McDonald's (right across the street) instead of having another dinner at the Hotel G. The blue cabbage was the WORST in my life. The food was edible, that is it. Another night I went to the butcher shop up the street who and an outside grill and grab a delicious sausage there. A Motel 6 in the USA would be an upgrade to this premiere property location. It is just a shame that this 6th generation hotel is failing sooo poorly. It is appropriately rated 102 out of 109 hotels in Zermatt.
Caspartje
Checked in Aug 2021
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Aug 10, 2021
Went to the Gornergrat Dorf Bistro for something to eat for dinner and did not want to spend too much. Very friendly staff, and good food (think Rösti and other Walliser dishes). Excellent value for money and recommended if you want something simple for dinner. Did not visit the hotel.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2022
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jan 25, 2022
AN ABSOLUTE SHAME!!! The photos below, taken in the room (the 2nd, after having already been changed rooms) immediately give you an idea of ​​the place, before reading my comment! I booked this hotel for 2 nights in January 2022, we fled after the 1st night and requested a refund for the unused night... The room allocated to us was dilapidated (this would still be okay if it had been clean) but equipped with a bathroom with a broken and completely blocked sink, the water remained all the way to the top, without flowing! The shower tiles, also fractured. The shower tray was completely dilapidated and yellowed and there were still hairs there...I called the owner who tried to clean in front of us and told us that the stains were encrusted and wouldn't go away...never apologize or dismantle! She still offered us another room. Not better !!! The bathroom was less horrible than the 1st, but there were no more silicone seals around the bathtub and black mold... When we got into bed to sleep, we discovered that one of the bed was completely sagging...we lifted the mattress and discovered that the box spring (very old) had 2 broken slats and was no longer supporting the mattress!!! Under the bed, full of dirt: they don't vacuum under the bed and there was an earphone left from a previous guest... The toilets were black and full of yellow marks!!! I took photos and when I came down the next day to complain to the boss, showing her my photos, she replied with a little smirk and remaining very zen: “Useless, I know my house.” !!!! Unbelievable...I asked her if she didn't feel bad for scamming customers like this by selling her dilapidated and dirty rooms at such a high rate while pretending that her hotel is a 3 star...This hotel is not worth not even a zero hotel in Switzerland, it feels like the third world! A real SHAME! Note that as I requested assistance from the platform through which I had reserved the room (which I of course had to pay in advance when booking online, one wonders why! and which was non-refundable. The platform was great and thanks to it (and not thanks to the hotel) I obtained a refund for the 2nd night that we did not use. Note that I was not able to leave a comment regarding the hotel on the reservation platform, this function being inaccessible to me, which is not normal. The hotel therefore prevented me from making a comment, before I wrote it! which means that the Gornergrat Hotel eliminates negative comments and sorts them out, therefore false advertising... Fortunately, Trip Advisor is there, to prevent other customers from being scammed in the same way.
Original TextTranslated by Google
6/12
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2022
Family
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jan 25, 2022
Hello we had booked in this hotel for four nights there is nothing to say about the location which is absolutely ideal in front of the train station. The reception at the reception and the staff nothing to say either. Except maybe the maids who come back to the room at 8.15 am, it's a little early when you're on vacation. Remember to put up your do not disturb sign. the rooms, on the other hand, leave something to be desired. A bit old-fashioned still happening. But the bathrooms are limited, date from 1950 and the knobs are damaged or even non-existent BUT it is the bedding that is the worst in all of this. We had to change rooms for an extra charge for 2 other mattresses because we always had the Sommier in the first: the Seconds were a little better but not great either, it's unfortunate when you pay for the Hotel and you can't not sleep there properly. If you want to sleep well you should not come to this hotel even if the rest is acceptable. Good day to all
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 17, 2023
Nous étions partis pour juste boire un verre et finalement, nous sommes restés pour manger une morce grâce à la gentillesse et l’efficacité du serveur, la crème de la crème, le meilleur de Zermatt !! Bref, situé juste en face de la gare, ce restaurant est idéalement placé pour faire une pause.
Translate