Built in 1907-11, the oldest of the Elbe Tunnels links the district of St Pauli with the island of Steinwerder. The twin tunnel is 426m long and runs just 6m below the river. Built for traffic, cyclists and pedestrians, the tunnel is decorated with ornaments and tiles and can only be reached by lift or down the staircase. The interesting dome-shaped entrance hall on the north side was built by Ludwig Raabe and Otto Wohlecke. Due to increasing amounts of traffic, even the New Elbe Tunnel has been extended an extra lane.