The Daizongfang Arch is an ancient four-column and three-hole archway built during the reign of the Ming Emperor Longqing. Located at the northern entrance to the Taishan Temple, it is the main gateway for climbing up the Taishan Road to the top of Mt. Tai. Three golden characters "Zhai," "Zong" and "Fang" are inscribed on the gate. The architectural style of the Daizongfang Arch is lofty and refined with rounded tops and carved animals. The four columns are supported by supplemental stone pillars to the front and back. Mt. Tai in the background stands magnificent and imposing and adds to the gravitas of the scene.
Nearby AttractionsMore (1334)
Shandong University of Science and Technology Digital Reading Room