Taibo Temple, also known as Zhide Temple, is a temple dedicated to Taibo, the ancestor of the ancient Wu Kingdom. It is located in Mei Village (Meili Ancient Town, Meili Ancient Capital). In the second year of Yongxing in the Eastern Han Dynasty (154), the county guard Mibao was built outside Changmen, and in the fourth year of Qianhua (914) after the Five Dynasties, the king of Wuyue moved to this place to avoid the chaos of the army. In 1092, the edict was Zhide Temple. The temple was destroyed in the fourth year of Jianyan in the Southern Song Dynasty (1130). In the first year of Gandao (1165), the prefect Shen Dujiu was rebuilt and built to the De Bridge in front of the temple. After 1252 years, Ming Xuande five years (1430), Chenghua, Jiajing forty-one years (1562), Wanli nineteen years (1591), forty-six years, Chongzhen two years (1629), In the 23rd year (1684) and the 59th year of Emperor Kangxi of the Qing Dynasty, the government was successively restored, and those who were in charge were the prefect Kuang Zhong, the governor Tang Bin and other famous officials. In the tenth year of Xianfeng (1860), it was destroyed again and repaired in the sixth year of Tongzhi. In the temple, there are Kangxi, Guangxu and modern reconstruction inscriptions that can be tested. There are still bridges, squares, halls, and other buildings. Zhide Bridge is commonly known as Taibo Temple Bridge. Across the bridge, there is a four-column and three-room towering stone pavilion. The end of the column is carved with a cloud pattern and the banner is engraved with "Zhi Defang". It was written by Wu Yuanping, the governor of Guangxu in the second year. Originally there were "Three Ranging and No Name", "Naturalization", "Kaiwu" three squares, Shiqiao and Fangchi, all of which are now gone. Xiangdian has three wide rooms, with a width of 14 meters and a depth of 10 meters. In the hall, there are stone carvings such as the "Reconstruction of Zhide Temple" in the 24th year of Emperor Kangxi of the Qing Dynasty, and the "Steel of the Longevity of the Governor of Jiangnan Tanggong" in the 25th year. There are three rooms in the east and west, and the walls are inlaid with the portraits of Taibo and various ancestors, which were engraved in the second year of Guangxu. The temple house is dilapidated and needs to be repaired.
Other visitors' reviews of Meicun Taibo Temple
Show More ReviewsTaibo Temple in Meili Ancient Town, Wuxi, is located at No. 21, Taibo Middle Road, Xinwu District, Wuxi City. It was built to commemorate Taibo, the ancestor of the Wu Kingdom. It was built in the second year of Yongxing in the Eastern Han Dynasty. The existing complex is a Ming and Qing architectural complex. It is one of the largest and best-preserved Ming and Qing architectural complexes in Wuxi. The temple has buildings such as the Xianghua Bridge, the "Zhide Mingbang" stone archway, and the Zhide Hall, which are solemn and simple. Taibo Temple carries the Wu culture and demonstrates Taibo's pioneering and humble spirit. It was listed in the list of national key cultural relics protection units in 2006.