The Oulu Castle is a late castle located in the Oulu region of Finland. It was built in 1590 on a small island in the Oulu River Delta. It was originally built mostly of wood and clay.
According to research, before 1375, there was an early medieval castle established at the location of Oulu Castle; according to the Russian "Sofia Chronicles", people from the Novgorod region wanted to conquer the Oulu The castle in the river delta, but failed in 1377. The Oulu Castle can be described as an ill-fated castle building. The Oulu Castle we can see today is only the remains of the castle that year. It was built around 1605. In 1715, because the Russian army burned down here, the castle suffered complete damage. The last time the castle was tragically damaged was in 1793, when a thunder and lightning detonated the arsenal set here.
The wooden structure of the Oulu Castle arsenal remains until 1875, and an observatory was built here, designed by the architect Wolmar Westling, which is what the current castle remains. Since 1912, a cafeteria has been set up in this building, in addition, there is a small exhibition on the history of the castle.
Oulun linna (Oulun linna) was blown up in the 18th century by the explosion of a powder magazine, and it is now a park on its site.
Originally a watchtower at the mouth of the Oulu River, it is now suitable for a coffee shop, standing there by the road. It is surrounded by a small park, where we go for a walk in the summer evening.
It's just a bunker, it's kind of funny to call it a castle
It was once destroyed by the explosion of the gunpowder depot, leaving only the grounds of the memorial park ruins, showing the former prosperity.