Construction of the Zhou Family compound was started in the late years of the reign of Qianlong in the Qing Dynasty in 1787. After ten years, it was completed in the early years of the reign of Jiaqing in 1797. It was the maternal home of the Anwu town's widow, a nominal foster daughter of the Empress Cixi, and the residence of Zhou Meicun, a member of the Ministry of Punishments in feudal China. Zhou's Family originally built up seventeen houses, with every courtyard and every household being interconnected. At that time, a huge ancient architectural complex was formed in Luqiao Mengdian Village, which was called "Mengdian Zhou". During the reign of Tongzhi in 1874, 16 houses were burned because of the war, and only one has survived until today. This compound has a layout with five separated courtyards. It combines the features of South and North in the architectural style, sitting south and facing north.