Colonial Village Motel

Colonial Village Motel Reviews

Colonial Village Motel

136 Frankton Road, Queenstown, Otago, 9300, New ZealandView Hotel Details
Colonial Village Motel
Colonial Village MotelColonial Village MotelColonial Village Motel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Colonial Village Motel Guest Reviews

3.9/5
Good
36 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.9
Amenities3.9
Service3.9
Cleanliness3.9
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(36)
Positive reviews(11)
Reviews with photos/video(5)
Negative reviews(5)
Anonymous User
Twin Studio
Checked in Sep 2023
Family
24 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 17, 2023
The lake view is beautiful, you can directly see the lake view while lying on the bed The heating is very warm and the bed is comfortable to sleep on. The overall experience is very good. Although the location is not in the town, it is not too far away. I will consider staying here next time.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Twin Studio
Checked in Apr 2023
Couples
39 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 26, 2023
The location is great, the bus stop is right in front of the door. The towels in the room smelled bad.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Rocks
One Bedroom Suite
Checked in Jan 2023
Family
9 Reviews
2.5/5
Posted on Feb 10, 2023
There is no choice but to stay for one night, there will be no next time!
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Feb 7, 2024
Do NOT stay here in their 2 bedroom apartment. It is actually a 1 bedroom apartment with its lounge converted into the 2nd bedroom - this leaves your living space (a 2 seater sofa) in a bedroom! Reception is not manned (there is ALWAYS as sign on the door that says, please call us as we are cleaning)! You will need a working NZ mobile to be able to call for assistance. There is no guest Laundry - The motel is happy to charge you $14 per load for them to do it on your behalf. There is no privacy in the outdoor area - you are right next to the unmanned reception, so when trying to enjoy the view and family time, you are often interrupted by guests searching for the staff. You are also constantly on view of their security cameras! They have NO way of communicating other than via phone (no email, Facebook page etc), even our booking agent has been unable to get hold of them. We are still waiting the owner to contact us regarding our stay.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 15, 2023
Excellent views, friendly staff and clean room and the most comfy bed- the owners have recently taken over so they are renovating the motel. I would stay there again the only thing was when we came back at night all the parking was taken so I suggested they need to number the car parks to the rooms - otherwise it was a great stay
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 10, 2023
Gorgeous view from beautifully renovated unit: sleek tiled bathroom, new kitchen and a great bed. 20 minutes walk beside the lake along Franktown walkway to town or 5 minute drive. About 30 steps to the upstairs units.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Family
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Feb 9, 2023
Views were great and the staff member was very friendly. Paid for 2 nights but only stayed for about an hour. Too much traffic noise. Linen all nice and clean, but just too run down for us to feel comfortable. Decided to take the loss and move on.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Mar 28, 2023
The motel advised that due to the presence of scaffolding, the view from the windows is obscured. That's a minor problem and not really a problem. What the motel did not make any mention of when both booking and checking in, was the fact that major renovations are taking place. This meant that at one point during my stay I returnwd to my room during the day hoping to relax, but discovered that all tne furniture and my belongings had been moved so that drilling, plastering and painting could be carried out. Had I not requested a new room, they would have expected me to sleep in the room with wet plaster or paint. Furthemore, the electric door lock kept failing, leaving me locked out of my room on multiple occasions. The customer service is awful and the planning of major work when guests are staying is thoughtless. The noise of tools and workers is very disruptive.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 23, 2023
Very pleasant stay,despite scaffolding could easily get to room 4,new bathroom,balcony,lake view,no complaints,microwave,fridge,easy walk to town.Keep curtains open and watch sunset over lake,and watch it rise in morning,would go there again.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2022
Family
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 24, 2022
The reception staff were really attentive and responded really quickly and positively to our requests for extra bedding and towels etc. They were also really accommodating when our arrival and departure dates had to be adjusted because the Haast Pass was closed for 2 days due to severe weather. Extra mattresses on the floor really helpful for our party too. And the dogs had a great stay too. Really good location and great views from the rooms.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2022
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 15, 2022
My review is not for the above. I just wanted to thank Paras, the duty manager at Colonial Village Motel in Queenstown, New Zealand South Island where we stayed for one night and for his help in making sure our forward journey went smoothly by ringing ahead and confirming all our b&b bookings because we were let down by *********** cancelling them. The rest of our holiday did go smoothly and stress free thanks to this gentleman. Thank you sir.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2022
Friends
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 7, 2022
The view is the best thing about this place. The rooms were tired and old and despite booking a 2 bedroom apartment there was no real lounge area to comfortably sit and watch tv. And it was quite noisy both with other guests and road noises. It was cheap-ish by Queenstown standards and now I know why. But an easy 15 min walk into town and it is located right on the bus route.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2022
Family
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jun 28, 2022
Place needs urgent maintenance. Bathroom door not functioning. Door leading to viewing patio could not latch or lock, unacceptable with small children. Carpets and chair had stains. Curtains had mold and cigarette burn marks. Rotting smell evident walking into 'main bedroom'. Booked in for the night, but left promptly. Place is terrible, needs urgent makeover. View can't nearly make up for this. Terrible.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2022
Solo travelers
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 29, 2022
Very good customer service. Nice views from room. room had everything I needed. Bed was not very comfortable though. Apart from that room was good for price. Pretty clean and tidy. Had good heating/cooling unit. Plenty of parking for vehicle.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2022
Family
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jan 12, 2022
The late view was absolutely amazing. The customer service was great. The room was nice and tidy but it was pretty old. Normal wind had a lot of creaking. The neighbouring room guy was quite creepy, kept staring onto our room which was quite uncomfortable. The motel was close to the city centre which was great.