Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort Reviews

Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort

401 4 St, Cypress County, CanadaView Hotel Details
Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Elkwater Lake Lodge and ResortElkwater Lake Lodge and ResortElkwater Lake Lodge and Resort
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Elkwater Lake Lodge and Resort Guest Reviews

3.9/5
Good
42 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.9
Amenities3.9
Service3.9
Cleanliness3.9
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(42)
Positive reviews(37)
Negative reviews(4)
Karen
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 11, 2024
We stayed Friday & Saturday in a fireplace room getting away after a lose of a Parent. The room set up is a bit different but works actually really well. We didn't swim or eat in the restraunt as we were looking for more of a secluded weekend. Our room was tidy but the tub wasn't very clean because the doesn't drain so there was a lot of hair and things in the bottom, which we know was due to the lack of drainage & drying after cleaning. Sunday morning before check out time, they were knocking on doors which I found of & have never had happen before. We don't live that far and though we thought the weekend was okay, we'd likely opt to not stay a full weekend again, maybe just a night before/after skiing if the weather's bad.
Dana
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 15, 2023
CONS:They need to lose the old 'Motel' wing that the diner is in as it detracts from the overall first impression. This lodge has great potential but needs to address a couple of key issues. The restaurant is awful. Even if they make decent food the environment is bad enough to turn your stomach, especially to spend premium dollars on a steak. Little things like the children's size mismatched damaged cutlery, dirty menus, artwork not mounted in the frame or the waiter's shirt half tucked into his pants. Plainly simple, the restaurant needs a new, updated location to fit into the look and feel of the lodge. No grab-bar in the shower and floor level shower is without a glass door and wall. It's very dangerous if you slip or lose your balance. The hide-a-bed is low-end and very uncomfortable!! PROS: The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The main lobby is nice and exudes the wilderness atmosphere. This lodge is very welcoming and the rooms have a beautiful wilderness feel and appearance. Good fridge and microwave, very comfortable king size bed. The whirlpool tub for two is very nice as is the fireplace. Decent flat-screen with Shaw cable (needs to have a movie package added that's easily available from Shaw). Good air-conditioning/heating and a secure double-lock door with privacy pull-down, at least there was one in a jacuzzi suite. The lodge is located close to everything as Elkwater is small and lakeside. This is an amazing place to visit.
Todd
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 5, 2023
Close to restaurants and the beach. Dog friendly room was right next to the elevator so with the increased traffic/noise caused increased barking. Probably should have those rooms down at the end of the hallway on both floors.
Verified traveler
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 1, 2023
We enjoyed our stay in the Cypress Hills. Our room was clean. However, we were disappointed by the lack of property maintenance. This needed care and attention. There was an old truck filled with broken appliances and bits of wire (trash) that was very visible as you drove from the office to the parking lot. Discarded refrigerators and washing machines were visible. The outside garbage can was full so it was difficult to dispose of garbage. We noted surrounding properties were clean. While we appreciate there may be staff shortages, first impressions and outward appearance count, especially in the hospitality industry. The Elkwater Lake Lodge would benefit from taking a look at itself from a visitor’s perspective. Perhaps “Management” should start a quality assurance program.
Linda
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 29, 2023
Located well to walk anywhere in town/lake. The room was not ready at check in time. Bring your own food as there was only 1 place to eat and the hours of operation were limited. Thank you.
Patrick
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
2.0/5
Posted on Aug 11, 2023
Enjoyed stays at this property in the past, but the new management appears to have no experience or training in hospitality services. Unlike every other hotel that we have used, no daily maid service is provided (e.g. bed-making, bathroom cleaning, etc.) and this was not indicated at check-in. Room was not ready at 4:00pm check-in time. This is not the three star hotel that it used to be - more of a campers' hostel.
Michele
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Aug 10, 2023
An upper floor room would’ve been excellent had balcony and quieter no one above but felt as paid through ******* automatically got a room on main floor versus top (2nd) floor.
Aaron
Checked in Aug 2023
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 3, 2023
The stay was amazing, the lodge is just really old but that’s to be expected at these locations and the lodge has a lot of unique characteristics and the kids has a great time!! Family friendly!! The on-site restaurant is more of a pub, sticky floors and over priced, was not clean and dark and dingy. The rooms have full kitchens so better to cook your own food.
Noel
Checked in Aug 2023
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 31, 2023
Very nice place. Will definitely be going back. Nice clean rooms. The staff where great.
Irene
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 4, 2023
The room was not clean , the sheet had a spot . The hotel main area was not clean .
Susan
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
3.0/5
Posted on Jun 17, 2023
Hotel was nice, lovely bed and clean room. Was very disappointed in the restaurant. It was more like a cafe to be honest. I ordered the butter chicken thinking it would be good as the staff was Indian and its an Indian dish. My mistake! Rice was obviously reheated and watery like mush(rice shouldn't be reheated its a health hazard), the butter chicken was insipid with no taste. (I make it much better at home myself) I told the waitress and was told everyone loved it. The manager didn't even ask how everything was when i went to pay, I thought they might discount the meal at least, but nothing was said and I paid the full $24 which was a rip off for a terrible meal. All in all it really ruined the stay and decided not to chance and pay $17+ for breakfast. I won't ever go back. The hot tub was closed also. I should have got something from the little store/gas station up the road.
Sharon
Checked in Jun 2023
Family
3.0/5
Posted on Jun 14, 2023
Outdoor deck not cleaned and needed repair.Guests expected to wash any dishes used.No control for hygiene especially following pandemic!
Roy
Checked in Jun 2023
Friends
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 4, 2023
The property nestled in the picturesque Cyprus Hills park close to the lake has very much a lodge feeling. The accomodating staff make every effort to make the stay an enjoyable one. A great place to meet up with friends or share time with family.
Mike
Checked in May 2023
Other
1.0/5
Posted on May 26, 2023
Horrible restaurant in the hotel. Dirty, bad service, bad food. Bring food or plan to buy overpriced food at the local gas station instead.
Lori
Checked in May 2023
Other
2.0/5
Posted on May 15, 2023
We went exclusively to use the hot tub which we found out wasn’t working but we were unaware. They moved us to a room with a jacuzzi and the key card lock wasn’t working so we had to move again. The hours for the restaurant were different then the sign on the door and so they closed the restaurant an hour early so we didn’t get to eat breakfast. They couldn’t tell us why the restaurant closed early and offered nothing for us. If it wouldn’t have been asking for upgrades or perks they wouldn’t have offered anything. Second time we stayed - second time it was very disappointing accommodations. We likely will never go for a third visit and tell others the same. Which is too bad because its a nice short drive from home.