Rothay Garden Hotel & Riverside Spa

Rothay Garden Hotel & Riverside Spa Reviews

Rothay Garden Hotel & Riverside Spa

Broadgate, Grasmere, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Rothay Garden Hotel & Riverside Spa
Rothay Garden Hotel & Riverside SpaRothay Garden Hotel & Riverside SpaRothay Garden Hotel & Riverside Spa
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Rothay Garden Hotel & Riverside Spa Guest Reviews

4.3/5
Very Good
99 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.3
Amenities4.3
Service4.3
Cleanliness4.3
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(99)
Positive reviews(93)
Negative reviews(6)
Stewart
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
3.0/5
Posted on Feb 16, 2024
On the whole we have to say we were disappointed. We’ve stayed here at least 5 times before (no acknowledgement of this) a “Hi welcome back” would have been nice. Dining:- we chose the “Taster menu” very disappointing and expensive. Breakfast was mediocre not what we expected. It seems everything has been cut back. The Spa was lovely we were fortunate and had the place to ourselves. The room was clean, toiletries were not great, balcony had a lovely outlook over the river, the room was far too hot and there was no way of making it cooler. Disappointed having to pay £10 for parking at the hotel (previously free) and almost £10 was added to our bill for gratuity which we weren’t even asked if that was ok.
Verified traveler
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
3.0/5
Posted on Jan 2, 2024
Booked a week before arriving- was called 5 times the day of booking to put a pre order and payment through for dinner on New Year’s Day. Was not made clear on third party website or owned website that this was the case. Food was good although some dishes were underwhelming. Service was good. Spa was ok- heated beds and aromatherapy room did not seem to be fully functioning. We feel it would benefit from better lighting in hot tub and more care. Hotel room had a leak in the night in two places. We understand that this is an old building and is part of a problem with this. Previous guests takeaway boxes were left out on balcony decking. Stay was ok but would not return as looks to be better offering in area.
Roger
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 17, 2023
We visit the lakes roughly once a month and this is becoming one of our winter favourites. Rooms are warm and cosy, staff are friendly and efficient, the hotel is well positioned for countless walks but just a short walk from Grasmere centre. The sauna and spa area are a lovely way to finish off from a day in the hills. Less pretentious (and expensive) than some of the hotels in the area, it’s still really comfortable
Adam
Checked in Jan 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 1, 2024
Beautiful hotel with small but relaxing spa facilities. Staff were incredible throughout.
Paul
Checked in Nov 2023
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 28, 2023
What a lovely place , Staff are very professional and friendly as well as very accommodating when we need a work area to work from home . Will be back for sure !
Naomi
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 27, 2023
We had such an amazing stay I can’t reccomend this place more. The spa was so lovely and calming and the local town was just a walk away. We had breakfast which was the best ever and also ate in the restraunt in the evening and had steak, incredible! It was our honeymoon and they made us feel so special. Five star!
DARREN
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 19, 2023
Fabulous hotel, friendly staff, amazing food - and an upgraded room as well! This was our second visit and it lived up to our memories of the previous visit.
John
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Nov 30, 2023
The hotel is very clean & comfortable, in a great location with convenient parking
Nick
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 29, 2023
Very nice hotel at the edge of Grasmere village with lovely gardens. Has a spa but we didn’t use it. Disappointing that you have to pay an extra £10 per night parking. We didn’t eat evening meal in the hotel but breakfast was good.
Douglas
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
2.0/5
Posted on Sep 11, 2023
The hotel is lovely. The staff are very pleasant What is not so great is the service. Portion control is the name of the game. When you pay a premium price for the accommodation you expect the service to match…this was not the case
Darren
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 31, 2023
Great location in the centre of Grasmere, SPA whilst small is good for a complimentary experience. Our room was very nice and clean. The restaurant served a good selection of food that was well presented. Overall hotel layout was modern and clean.
Ian
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 21, 2023
. Me and my partner got a free room upgrade and had a lovely welcome from Bertie the dog 🐕 😁also lovely breakfast 😋
Gary
Checked in Jul 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 20, 2023
This was a big birthday treat, and I was a bit underwhelmed. The hotel itself was lovely, set in its own lush grounds next to the river. The room was a bit disappointing - not enough 'little touches' to make it feel special. It felt a bit dated in parts, in need of a bit of tlc. The first thing we noticed was just how dark it was. The architecture plays a large part in this, but not helped by the furniture being very dark wood as well. I suspect the room would get very hot as there's no A/C. The bathroom was very ordinary for a posh hotel. The toilet was difficult to flush and there was a lot of evidence of repairs and patching. The bath was very deep and wide, but a bit short so not somewhere to laze in. The mirrors weren't heated so impossible to use them after a shower for shaving etc. In the room, a mini fridge would have been nice so we could have had fresh milk rather than UHT. The TV was disappointing: very small by modern standards and not Freeview so a lot of the channels didn't work. We didn't eat in the restaurant other than breakfast, which was very good. There was no option in the evening to have a bar snack. The bar didn't even sell crisps. A Pimms and Rum/Coke came to £27 so that was the one and only drink we had. The spa was OK. The hydropool was very noisy in operation so not that relaxing. The sauna was fine, as were the heated loungers, but the steam room didn't seem to be working. So, a relaxing couple of nights but nothing that made us feel special.
Michael
Checked in Jan 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 24, 2024
Great staff quality food and brilliant location
Hazel
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 12, 2023
Great hotel. We had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the babbling river. Fab. Breakfast was good. The lady on the reception was very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful.