Worsley Arms Hotel

Worsley Arms Hotel Reviews

Worsley Arms Hotel

1 High St, Hovingham, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Worsley Arms Hotel
Worsley Arms HotelWorsley Arms HotelWorsley Arms Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Worsley Arms Hotel Guest Reviews

4.1/5
Very Good
58 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.1
Amenities4.1
Service4.1
Cleanliness4.1
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(58)
Positive reviews(50)
Reviews with photos/video(2)
Negative reviews(8)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 17, 2024
We ate here two nights running as the food was so delicious. By far the best Steak & Ale pie we have ever had. The meals and desserts were so flavoursome and great service too. We sat in the bar area as we have a dog (Evie) and they even brought out a sausage for her on both occasions. A lot of locals clearly use the hotel bar and were really friendly and welcoming too. Lovely place, highly recommend.
xiacanxan
Checked in May 2024
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 20, 2024
We are a couple staying locally and were looking for an evening meal on a Sunday, all pubs stop serving in the afternoon. Happened upon this hotel by accident and took a chance. Very nice meal and friendly staff, a very lucky find. Highly recommend, we even took away a nice bottle of Merlot to enjoy at our Airbnb which was excellent value at £10
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on May 14, 2024
Called in for lunch and got ignored by man behind bar. He was relaying a long story to some people and made no eye contact with us. It was our first and last visit! Made to feel invisible. We were curious about the hotel but based on this experience we would never return.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 2, 2024
Called in for lunch adhoc on a visit to the area house hunting. What a fortunate decision as the lunch was absolutely delicious (best chicken & Leek pie I've ever had) & the black pudding starter was outstanding. Fair price for a wonderful culinary lunch. Plenty of parking to the rear & friendly staff.
Turd_Tabby
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 1, 2024
The Worsely Arms Hotel has to be the best hotel I’ve stayed in for many years. Spotlessly clean and well-equipped rooms. The food (both dinner and breakfast) was excellent. The staff are truly wonderful, so much local knowledge and with exceptional customer care. Zack and the breakfast team, as well as the dinner service, were 2nd to none. A great choice of local beers, and local Slingby Gin (Marmalade was my favourite) all behind the bar. A great choice of single malt whiskeys as well. A lovely lounge with coal fires made the whole lounge area warm and homely. And dog-friendly too – with nice walks around the village. Some confusion with my booking on the booking website (not the hotels) - but the hotel manager Tony was able to sort it all out. A really lovely Easter weekend.
Journey61780533587
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 27, 2024
If I use the description 'faded elegance' about this hotel, I do so as a compliment. There is no gleaming cromium, no shiny glass wall panels, and no 'anonymous' sterile environment. Instead, there is an atmosphere of homeliness. The sofas in the lounge don't match and the walls are covered with genuine old prints and paintings, not mass-produced prints. The bar is warm and cozy with a real fire - very welcome in March when we visited - and there is another fire in the 'snug' just off the main lounge. Our bedroom was just fine. King-size bed and en-suite facilitites, TV, dressing-table, two comfortable armchairs, and a double wardrobe with one sticking door! :-) (We were too busy to spend other than 'sleeping time' in the bedroom, so more than adequate). The food is excellent. Great choices for evening meals that use, wherever possible, local ingredients. Breakfast (always my favourite meal) was first class, giving any number of choices. The key to any successful hostelry is, of course, those folk who provide the service. You would have to go an awful long way to find better than Tony, Sally and Daniella. Tony, essentially 'mine host', is the consummate professional with knowledge, charm, and style. Sally, looked after us with care and concern. She has a natural warmth that made the Worsley Arms our home-from-home for three days. Daniella is simply delightful and a very special young lady. Born and bred in the village, she is intensely proud of Hovingham - and the hotel - and her natural empathy and charm, certainly 'lit up' each breakfast! Reading this back, I realise that I have used the word 'charm' or charming on quite a few occasions...... and that's what the Worsley Arms is - charming. Geographically, it is ideally positioned to reach the City of York, the coast of Whitby or Scarborough, and the North Yorkshire Moors within less than an hour. Recommended without reservation - although of course you will need one to stay there! (Sorry)
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 23, 2024
I first visited the Worsley Arms in the late 1970s as a child with my parents and grandparents. The picture postcard village, which served a very traditional Sunday lunch always stayed in my mind. In 2022 to celebrate my father's 80th birthday, my brother and I, a friend and my father returned for the first time in over 40 years. It was wonderful to see that this historic early Victorian building had changed hardly at all. If you are looking for a modern characterless hotel with a huge TV and all modern cons then is not for you. But if you are looking for charm, and a touch of history, high ceilings slightly uneven walls and a quaint bar then you must give it a try. The hotel is also a great social hub for the local community, and its survival and old fashioned relaxed charm is down to the hard work of Tony and his wife who have owned and run the hotel since the 1990s.
120561971
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
1.0/5
Posted on Dec 3, 2023
I am not someone who relishes giving poor reviews as my mother was a hotelier, most places I review are to give praise, but in all my years travelling I have never been greeted by such an antagonistic, inhospitable, damn right rude woman- this place is amateurville on steroids. We arrived to what appeared quite a quaint location. On check in a stern woman who couldn't even say hello or offer any welcome (she was more like a prison warden in her demeanour), shoved two breakfast forms at me and said they needed filling in immediately and handing back to reception. We nipped upstairs to leave our bags, the room was adequate a bit tired and the bathroom certainly wasn't pristine, but ok for 1 night. We came downstairs to get some lunch and a drink. We entered the bar and so began our second encounter with the hotel's equivalent to Nurse Ratchet, as a guest you are certainly going to adhere to rules, you're not to relax and enjoy, you need to dance to her tune. We picked up a menu and she literally snatched it out of my husband's hand and said "kitchens closed". We therefore just had a drink before heading back into York. Having finished our drinks we were going out, just chatting with our friend when the little dictator popped up from nowhere again and interrupted our conversation without an excuse me or sorry but just screeching "you going out? What time will you be back." My husband a bit taken back by this woman said humorously "Are we in trouble?" There was no softening of her tone, just further demands to know what time we would be returning, because the door would be locked. This is rather strange for an establishment with a public bar and restaurant open to the public. I assured the angry little woman that we would not be late and she thrust a door code into my hand somewhat grudgingly. No goodbye or have a pleasant afternoon and off she trotted. We had a lovely time in York returning to the hotel about 9.30pm and guess what the door was locked-heaven forbid guests are welcomed. We were planning on having a few drinks before bed and were heading into the bar. As we were chatting convivially "she who must be obeyed" appeared like a whirling dervish brandishing two breakfast forms- again no greeting just mockingly saying "what are these, they are filled out, incorrectly, why have you got two forms room 9" I managed to utter "I filled out two forms because you gave me two forms" I was not permitted to speak any more she interrupted as clearly I needed chastising. This strange little woman then proceeded to go through my forms, not willing to listen just point by point stating what had displeased her, making her lay in wait like a praying mantis to pounce on our return. To be honest for the first 5 minutes of her sermon I was too staggered to interject and try and explain we just wanted boiled egg and soldiers each. She was getting more and more condescending in her tone and mocked that I had got the date wrong even on her beloved form. At th
Christine
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
2.0/5
Posted on Oct 29, 2023
Bitterly disappointed with the condition of the room on arrival especially as it was the end of a lovely day to celebrate a birthday. The room was freezing, radiator not working, there was an oil radiator but it was ineffective. The room was very tired & unwelcoming, dusty, old broken furniture, stained carpet, tiny tv for the size of the room. The bathroom was ancient, dead bugs all over the blind, cob webs all over the shower head, fortunately I don’t suffer with arachnophobia. The loo was dirty, stained & generally unpleasant. The staff were very nice & yes we could have complained there & then but on a Sat eve you wouldn’t get a decorator, plumber & deep clean I suspect.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 24, 2023
Great location. Friendly efficient staff and management. Service very good. Breakfasts were very tasty and varied in choice. Some people disliked having to pre order the night before, but others found it convenient. Plainly, the hotel looks a little 'tired' but that adds to it's charm. Thanks for a very nice few days.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 20, 2023
First ever stay here, in a cottage over the green from the main hotel. Room was large and provided what we needed, good sleep and warm showers. We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was very good. Tony, the owner, made us feel welcome. Overall a good weekend. Would we return, yes we would.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 20, 2023
A three-night stay that was disappointing from an accommodation perspective. Our “King-size” room was spacious but so very, very, tired. The bed was large and comfortable however the bedroom furniture was dated with missing and broken handles. The bathroom was separated from the bedroom by a short corridor that was permanently illuminated at night from the landing lights through a glass paneled door. The bathroom itself was not particularly clean and the shower was over the centre of the bath with an awful flapping curtain. Access to the shower was difficult due to the sloping end to the bath. There was no frosting on the bathroom window, so you had to pull down the blind when using the loo. Our wake-up call was at 07:30 when they switched on the kitchen extractor fans. Our group dined in on arrival night. The starters were excellent, the Whitebait to be envied, my Goat’s Cheese beautiful. The Main courses generally met with approval, the Vegetable Selection very tasty and the Slow Cooked Pork Belly a generous portion. Unfortunately, my Steak and Ale Pie was served with over-cooked French Fries (rather than proper chips) as was the extra portion as a side order requested by another of our party. Then, having literally just finished our meal we were being harried into ordering our breakfast!! I thought this practice had long gone except in an occasional Seaside B&B, but No, it continues here with seemingly no leeway. Breakfast portion control is very tight at this hotel, but I don’t think this is an acceptable practice nowadays. There’s no doubt the Proprietors work hard. Either one or both in evidence from breakfast through to the bar closing. The staff were friendly and cheery. The public rooms downstairs - Restaurant, Bars and Reception were quite warm and welcoming. The Hotel is set in a lovely village, ideal for a morning stroll and perfectly situated for Castle Howard, Nunnington Hall and the North Yorkshire Coastal Resorts. That said, the rooms are overpriced until they are seriously refurbished.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 17, 2023
Lovely location and looked good from the outside. However, once inside a lot of the rooms were very tired. Bar and downstairs rooms decor was ok and for the evening meal the starters were very good. Some of the rest of the food could have been hotter. Had a superior room which was not worth the additional expense. Big and comfy bed but that is the best I can say about the room. Had very old (not antique) furniture in the room with several items having broken or missing handles. Could have done with a very good clean and definitely repainting. Bathroom had cobwebs and shower over bath (see photos) with a wrap around curtain which was broken and stuck to you as you showered. Getting into the shower was difficult due to the bath sloping at one end. Has to pre order breakfast before 8pm the night before and staff were very shirty if you did not want to do this (including the owner). Cooked breakfast was lukewarm and you were only given one of everything. This includes the croissants (which were excellent). Some staff members were super friendly but others made you feel that you were a nuisance which was very odd. Would not recommend and we would not visit again. Hotel requires considerable upgrade to meet today’s standards.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 9, 2023
In need of some TLC inside and out. Our room was a great size with a lovely comfortable bed but the bathroom is tired and not cleaned properly i.e. lots of cobwebs. The evening meal was overpriced and over cooked. Lovely location, very quiet. Room rates too expensive.
Robert
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 5, 2023
The food served in the restaurant and at breakfast was very good. The hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. Not much goes on in Hovingham but it's a good base for walking or exploring the Moors and the Howardian Hills.