Kilindi Zanzibar

Kilindi Zanzibar Reviews

Kilindi Zanzibar

Zanzibar, Kendwa, Kaskazini A, Zanzibar North, TanzaniaView Hotel Details
Kilindi Zanzibar
Kilindi ZanzibarKilindi ZanzibarKilindi Zanzibar
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Kilindi Zanzibar Guest Reviews

4.7/5
Amazing
45 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.7
Amenities4.7
Service4.7
Cleanliness4.7
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(45)
Positive reviews(40)
Reviews with photos/video(3)
roy u
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 16, 2024
We spent 6 nights at Kilindi. All inclusive. Worth every dollar spent. Our private server Lillian was so kind and attentive to our needs. Villas were so private with amazing views of the ocean. Bathroom was open air and amazing privacy. Pool was perfect for lap swim. Spa was amazing. Do the 2 hour African Experience. We did this as a couple. General Manager Lisa was very attentive to our needs as well.
Response from Property: Dear Roy U, Thank you for sharing your luxurious experience at Elewana Kilindi Zanzibar. We are delighted that your six-night stay was exceptional. Lillian will be pleased to hear your kind words about her attentive service. We are thrilled you enjoyed the privacy, ocean views, and unique open-air bathroom of your villa. It’s wonderful to know the pool met your needs for lap swimming, and that your spa experience was exceptional. Thank you for acknowledging our teams efforts. It was a pleasure to ensure your stay was outstanding. We look forward to welcoming you back for another unforgettable stay. Warm regards, Lisa General Manager Elewana Kilindi Zanzibar
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
The beach is a huge disappointment! Kilindi hotel has a beautiful territory. It also has a very friendly and helpful staff and a very good kitchen with diverse food. However, when you are on Zanzibar the most important is the beach and here we had a huge disappointment. The hotel shows very beautiful pictures of the beach with blue water, however, you need to be aware that it’s not always like that. During low tide which is between 9am and 15pm the beach is completely dry and there is no place to swim, unless you want to walk around 20 mins to the public beach or get back in the swimming pool. The sunset is at 18.30, so basically you can only swim for 3 hours during the day. See the pictures of what we experienced during our stay in the end of September. Besides that, there are lots of fisherman boats (which don’t look nice at all when there is no water) and you almost constantly hear how fishermen fixing their boats with some hammers. There is also quite often a smoke from the fire that fishermen make to repair their boats. It was very disturbing. But the worse part is that either due to the low tide or because fisherman don’t throw away dead fish- but the last 3 days we also had an absolutely horrible smell of dead sea animals or rotten fish coming from the beach. The smell was even at our villa, so we had to close all windows. Another thing is that the hotel has 5 starts, however, there is no gym. The quality and cleanliness of the public furniture (e.g. sunbed covers and towels) is not on the highest standards as there were lots of yellow stains (probably from the suncream) Also, the bathroom is located outside in the separate area. It has a cool view but not complete privacy and it requires you to climb a few stairs which is not convenient in the middle of the night when it’s dark and/or raining. So some improvments defifnitely needed to justify the 5 star rating and the price. Overall, I would give 4 stars to the hotel and 2 stars to the beach.
6/14
Response from Property: Dear IraKru87, We are absolutely delighted that you took the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at Elewana Kilindi. Your input is incredibly important to us, and we appreciate your kind words about our beautiful property, friendly team members, and diverse culinary offerings. We sincerely apologise for the disappointment you experienced with the beach. We understand that our guests come to Zanzibar for a pristine beach experience, and we are taking steps to address this issue. We're excited to inform you that we will soon be receiving new sun-bed covers and towels to enhance your comfort by the beach. Your comments regarding the beach conditions, the presence of fisherman boats, and the smell have been noted, and we will work to minimise these inconveniences. We are also looking into the possibility of adding a gym facility to meet the expectations of our guests. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, with improvements in place, to provide you with a more enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, Lisa and the Kilindi Zanzibar team
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 6, 2024
Stayed for five nights following a safari in Tanzania. Service was amazing, took care of our every need. Our Guest ambassador Barike was wonderful and attentive but not overly so that you felt uncomfortable. All of the other staff we encountered were also lovely and very efficient. The pavilions (rooms) have everything you could need. We loved the included laundry service daily. The beds are huge with mosquito nets are very comfortable. I must mention however that the bathroom was in a separate pavilion up a flight of stairs ( not fun when needing to use in the middle of the night). However we did mention this and were offered an alternative room, which we declined but this might be something to consider requesting if you think it’s an issue for you. The food here is absolutely outstanding! We had seafood platters TWO nights which was delightful!! You can eat anywhere at the hotel even in your room if you want. We opted to eat in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and always had lunch by our own pool. Every meal was top notch!! Cocktails also delicious. It was my birthday during our stay and that night all the staff sang Happy Birthday to me Zanzibar style. Lilian has an amazing voice!! I had a spa treatment which was delightful and included a bottle of champagne! All in all a great place to just chill and relax in total privacy. Thank you again to all the wonderful staff at Kilindi!
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 1, 2024
One of the best resorts I ever stayed in. 1- The service is incredible, the people here are amazing and it ia humbling how great the treatment is. 2- They went above and beyond to provide services that we requested even if not available. 3- The food is great and the experience is special 4- VERY SPECIAL RECOMMENDATION: DON'T MISS TASTE OF ZANZIBAR, amazing culinary experience. 5- The place is quite and relaxing with great views. Most importantly we met great people and made great memories. Special thanks goes to: *Michael: For great hospitality and overall a great person * Witness: Always available and providing the best support with a smile * Nasra: For taking care of our villa * The people at the beach for providing amazing experience with great spirit * Housekeeping for keeping the room in best condition and always leaving some nice messages * The people at the bar for the amazing moments and celebrating with us our special occasion * The great chef organizing Taste of Zanzibar for one of the best experiencez we had Thank you Kilindi Team for the amazing experience
Hanna T
Checked in Mar 2024
Solo travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 12, 2024
For me it is very rare to Write a Review, but in this case I could not help, I needed to let you Know! I have been to the best Hotels around the world (FourSeasons, Mandarin Oriental, SixSense and so on) but in my opinion there is no better experience than a really good Safari lodge. You have a Great Service, Great Food and the best of it is that it is a quite intimate experience. But what Kilindi gives you, I have Never experienced before! It is as if you are in a Safari Lodge on the Beach! The Service is so overwhelming (They will Know what you want and think Even before you do), the Food is absolutely astonishing and your surrounding is like paradise! I stayed for 10 Nights and i have to say it will be my number one Memory. I have to thank especially Saloum, who was my guest ambassador and has always been there when I needed him, but was Never TOO attentive. It was the Perfect Balance (which is very Hard to achieve). Thank you so much for this. Also thanks to the General Manager, who was always really and truthfully interested in the wellbeing and feelings of her guests. Even if i just mention those two, everyone is great! After mentioning all the above, I think I do not have to say, that the Food and the rooms are georgeus and yes, you have sometimes quite some tide, but when you have high tide there is no better (Most beautiful, calm and intimate) beach than this one. If you can, do Not hesitate to come here.
Response from Property: Dear Hanna T, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your incredible experience at Kilindi Zanzibar. Your review truly captures the essence of what we strive to offer our guests – a unique blend of luxury, personalised service, and breathtaking surroundings. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us surpassed your expectations and left a lasting impression. It means the world to us that you found Kilindi to be your number one memory, especially considering your extensive travels to renowned hotels worldwide. It's wonderful to know that you felt so well taken care of by our team, especially Saloum, who provided the perfect balance of attentiveness and respect for your privacy. We will ensure that your kind words reach him and the rest of our staff, including our General Manager, who is dedicated to ensuring the well-being and happiness of all our guests. We're delighted that you enjoyed our exquisite cuisine and found our rooms to be gorgeous. The beauty of our beach, especially during high tide, is indeed unparalleled, offering a serene and intimate setting for relaxation. Thank you once again for choosing Kilindi Zanzibar for your holiday in paradise. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another unforgettable experience in the future. Warm regards, The Kilindi Team
253jaroslawt
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 10, 2024
Staying at Kilindi hotel was an unforgettable experience. From the beautiful location, in a bush garden, to the uniquely designed villas, set on multiple levels, with separate bathrooms, lounge area and two plunge pools. One pool was accessed from the room. The room was very large, circular, decorated minimalist yet very functional. Everything very nicely maintained and very clean both the room and the entire resort. Thank you very much to our housekeeper. We stayed in villa 5, but next time we would like to stay in villa 3. We were visited daily by monkeys, eating in two trees nearby. The entire resort is all-inclusive and adults only. The food was excellent. From breakfast through lunch to dinner. Breakfast we generally ate in the villa, on the terrace only once during our week-long stay we had breakfast in the restaurant. Lunches and dinners are generally ordered from the menu, with daily catch of the day offerings. We had two exceptions to this rule, an amazing Valentine's Day buffet with lobster, seafood, and other great food. The second instance was a dinner on the beach also grilled seafood, chicken, lobster. A wonderful dinner. The restaurant itself also beautifully located and designed with a pool around which tables were set in the evening. And most importantly, what makes this hotel great - amazing people. from our maid Felisterto the buttler Saiun (sorry if I spelled it wrong), to the gardeners, the people cleaning the pools every day, to the chefs to Derren and Liz managing this hotel. Very friendly, helpful, smiling and trying to make your stay a memorable one. Especially thank you for your help with my wife's illness. Liz recommended us a hospital arranged transportation. so that after a few hours we returned with a diagnosis and medication. Thank you again to the entire Kilindi team for a wonderful and memorable stay. We will be back!!!! Derren for you with Żubrówka.
Response from Property: Dear 253jaroslawt, Thank you for your heartfelt review of your stay at Kilindi Zanzibar. We're thrilled to hear that your experience was truly unforgettable and that you appreciated the beauty of our location and the unique design of our villas. It's wonderful to know that you found your villa to be spacious, functional, and impeccably maintained. We're delighted that you enjoyed the company of the visiting monkeys and that our all-inclusive, adults-only concept added to your experience. We're pleased that you savoured our delicious culinary offerings, from breakfast served on your villa terrace to the special Valentine's Day buffet and beach dinner. It's fantastic to hear that our team, from our housekeeper to our butler, gardeners, chefs, and management, made your stay memorable with their friendliness, helpfulness, and dedication. We're especially grateful for your kind words regarding Liz's assistance with your wife's illness. Your comfort and well-being are our top priorities, and we're glad we could assist in arranging transportation and ensuring she received the necessary care promptly. Thank you again for choosing Kilindi Zanzibar, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Derren will be waiting with Żubrówka! Warm regards, Lisa and the Kilindi team
doctenor
Checked in Mar 2024
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 2, 2024
Kilindi is an oasis. It is where we ended our East Africa trip, and was the perfect ending for the hustle and bustle of our various safari stops. While we didn't love that it was a 90 minute drive to and from the airport, it was well worth it. I believe that there are 15 suites in the all-inclusive, adults only property. We were in one of the suites that was facing the beach (I don't think that any of the suites are directly on the beach), and it was stunning. We saw both our suite and the suite that our friends had (numbers 8 and 7, respectively), and both had multiple levels, spaces, and structures. There is an outdoor open large bathroom space with double sinks, rainhead shower, toilet, etc. Below the bathroom is an open lounge area. There is also a main structure that houses the bedroom. The bedroom is large and well-appointed. The suite also has 2 (yes, TWO) private plunge pools, of which we took advantage. The main area has a lounge, bar, dining area, large T-shaped pool, etc. The food was delicious. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner in the main dining area except for one dinner on the beach, and one breakfast in our room. The beach dinner was beautiful and quite memorable, not only for the gorgeous setting and sunset, but also for the grilled chicken and seafood that were served. This review HAS TO mention our personal butler, Lilian (Lily), who took care of both our friends and us. She was so wonderful and took great care of us!
Response from Property: Dear doctenor, Thank you for sharing your experience at Kilindi Zanzibar! We're delighted to hear that we provided the perfect oasis for the conclusion of your East Africa journey. While we understand the commute from the airport may have been a bit lengthy, we're thrilled that you found the journey worthwhile upon arrival. It's fantastic to know that you appreciated the design and layout of our villas, as well as the stunning beachfront views. We're glad that you enjoyed the culinary offerings at our main dining area, and we're especially pleased that you found your beach dinner to be memorable. Lilian (Lily) was thrilled to receive your special mention! We're delighted that she provided you with excellent service throughout your stay. Thank you for choosing Kilindi Zanzibar, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another unforgettable experience! Warm regards, Lisa and the Kilindi Team
Michael D
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 25, 2024
We cannot speak highly enough about our time at Kilindi! From the moment we arrived, we were impressed by not only the beautiful property but with the welcoming staff. They gave us a quick, yet thorough, tour of the grounds (restaurant, bar, main pool) then showed us to our Villa which was perfect in every way. From our beach front vistas to the 2(!) dipping pools, it was everything we had hoped for and more. The A/C and oversized bed was also an added bonus! We can’t count how many good meals we had because every meal was fantastic / fresh! Breakfast typically consisted of perfectly cooked eggs or fluffy pancakes which were always accompanied with an assortment of fresh fruit & juice/coffee. The fish or calamari tacos & assortment of salads at lunch are a can’t miss and the pre-fixed dinners were always something to look forward to! (Fish, chicken, and a traditional Zanzibarian BBQ). Our concierge, Julius, was outstanding and extremely friendly. He arranged some wonderful meals / beverages and went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable during our stay. Chef Doris lead an amazing cooking class one afternoon where we helped cook a traditional Zanzibar lunch which consisted of steak & fish skewers, rice with chicken, shrimp curry, and Chapati! Darren, the assistant manager, was very friendly and not only handcrafted some amazing cocktails but also provided us with interesting insight into Zanzibar, the resort itself, and African culture we had not known! The house keeping staff (especially Hamis) was thorough and very flexible as our morning routine was not very consistent! They not only kept the villa neat & clean but also left wonderful flowers/fauna each morning and turned down the bed each night (along with a little bedtime snack!). The beach attendant was always eager to assist with a kayak, paddle board, beach towel, or cocktail! In short, if you have the opportunity to stay at Kilindi, you 100% should! You won’t be disappointed!
Response from Property: Dear O4295HAmichaeld, Thank you so much for your glowing review of Kilindi Zanzibar! We're thrilled to hear that your experience with us was nothing short of amazing. It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the beauty of our property and the warm welcome from our staff. We're delighted that your villa exceeded your expectations, providing you with beachfront vistas and the luxury of two dipping pools. We're glad to hear that you savoured every meal at Kilindi, from breakfast to dinner, and that Chef Doris' cooking class added an extra special touch to your experience. Julius, Darren, and the entire team were delighted to hear your kind words. We're thrilled that they could enhance your stay with their exceptional service and friendly demeanour. Thank you for choosing Kilindi Zanzibar for your getaway, and we can't wait to welcome you back for another unforgettable experience! Warm regards, Lisa and the Kilindi team
ZaphiD1
Checked in Jan 2024
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 30, 2024
Loved everything about Elewana Kilindi. The staff were very kind, made our stay so pleasant. Everyone was so available to make it perfect. Anything you need, they manage to make it happen. You have your private villa, that makes you feel away from the rest, with an amazing pool. The front beach is breathtaking. And dining there was so special. Everynight a different menu. Such a good experience. Ideal for couples! Bucket list worthy!
Response from Property: Dear ZaphiD1, Thank you for choosing Kilindi Zanzibar for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was memorable and that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. It brings us great joy to know that our staff's kindness and dedication contributed to making your stay pleasant and special. Providing exceptional service and ensuring our guests' comfort is always our top priority, and we are thrilled that we were able to meet your expectations. We're delighted that you found your private villa to be a tranquil retreat and that you enjoyed the breathtaking views from the front beach. It's wonderful to hear that dining at our restaurant was a special experience for you, and we're pleased that you appreciated the variety and quality of our menus. Thank you for recommending Kilindi Zanzibar as an ideal destination for couples and for considering us worthy of a spot on your bucket list. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future. Warm regards, The Kilindi Team
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 11, 2023
My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon and loved our time at Kilindi. The villas are stunning and we had 2 private pools that overlooked the ocean. The food was SO delicious! Our last night we had the most amazing grilled seafood we've ever eaten. The staff is great - special shout outs to Jacob, Deucen, Abdul, and the two managers, Lisa and Darren, for taking care of us during our stay.
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 14, 2023
After a long week+ receiving African massages in a land cruiser on safari in the Serengeti, a stay at Kilindi Zanzibar is the perfect way to relax, unwind and sleep in past sunrise. Despite some persistently rainy weather during our stay in early November, we enjoyed paddleboarding in the Indian Ocean, enjoying their amazing dining and being cared for by our thoughtful and immensely helpful liaison, Bariki. The private villas are so spacious and comfortable, with ample space to lounge and relax in private plunge pools, a massive rain shower and a beautiful bedroom with an incredible view from the balcony. Cannot recommending wrapping up a trip to Tanzania with a stay at Kilindi enough! Special thanks to Jessica and Dancing Zebra Safari Co. for connecting us with this amazing property and for planning the honeymoon of our dreams.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 21, 2023
My boyfriend and I visited Kilindi for their beach BBQ dinner. The food was devine, the cocktails were delicious and the team were all simply amazing. We celebrated our anniversary and my boyfriends birthday, they made a special cake and sang happy birthday in English and Swahili, each team member gave a special greeting which I could see made my boyfriend so happy! Even though we were so full of after dinner, we couldn’t say no to cake and it was delicious. A special thank you to our waitress Julieth, she took such good care of us and is such a lovely lady with an incredible singing talent. This was my second time visiting Kilindi, the atmosphere is so calm and you’re really able to appreciate the sounds and tranquility of nature here. Can’t wait for our next visit!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 26, 2023
Great villas in the north of the island. Nestled on a beautiful beach, the staff are all courteous and welcoming with an all-inclusive board that made the stay even more delightful. The butler for our room did an exemplary job and kept us comfortable throughout our stay.
Response from Property: Dear Sabine & Rabah Aissaoui, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us and other travellers on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our villas to be great and beautifully situated on the beach. We are also glad to know that you found our staff to be courteous and welcoming, and that our all-inclusive board made your stay even more delightful. We are especially grateful for your kind words about your butler. It is always our aim to provide exemplary service to all our guests, and we are delighted to hear that your butler kept you comfortable throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future. Warm regards, Remsi and the Elewana Kilindi Zanzibar.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 10, 2023
We spent 8 wonderful days in this fantastic hotel. Really a special place in the middle of nature. The hotel is top managed. All the staff were very helpful and accommodating. Everything is very clean and tidy. The food was exceptional in quality and choice. Special thanks to Julieth who was very supportive during our stay. We can highly recommend this place.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 9, 2023
I don’t know where to begin with Kilindi. First and foremost, I have to send the biggest thank you and hug to our butler Lilian, words can’t express how well she took care of us. She sang us the most beautiful song To celebrate our honeymoon on our last night and she always made me the most delicious Kachumbari. I miss her already! Kilindi is that kind of place that doesn’t feel real, our room (if we can even call it that) felt like 3 villas in one. We had two plunge pools, and an exceptional shower which stared at the ocean. On top of being located on the most beautiful beaches of Zanzibar, the hotel provides the coolest attractions, one of our favorites was the Swahili cooking class Chef Helen gave us, it was the most fun!! Private beach dinner BBQs, amazing cocktails, poolside service are what awaits you when you visit Kilindi. They also pack you a fun lunch if you’re traveling around the island. We’d also like to thank their general manager Lisa who was very attentive and would always check in on us. We are counting down the days for when we get to go back!