Ormonde House Hotel

Ormonde House Hotel Reviews

Ormonde House Hotel

Southampton Rd, Lyndhurst, SO43 7BT, United KingdomView Hotel Details
Ormonde House Hotel
Ormonde House HotelOrmonde House HotelOrmonde House Hotel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Ormonde House Hotel Guest Reviews

4/5
Very Good
78 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.0
Amenities4.0
Service4.0
Cleanliness4.0
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(78)
Positive reviews(38)
Reviews with photos/video(3)
Negative reviews(2)
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 8, 2024
Great hotel! 5* service and room. Owners very kind and attentive to needs of guests. Food top quality. Has breakfast there. Hottub was wonderful after long day of cycling. Very comfortable mattress. Great location to go straight into forest.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 1, 2024
This is excellent location with in a very short walk to the main high street. We received a warm welcome to arrivals with the lovely ladies. Room was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was delicious and generous portions. Thank you Bipana and all staff for making our break so enjoyable
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 29, 2024
It was a lovely experience staying at Ormonde during our trip to New Forest. Loved the location. It was a few minutes walk from the Lyndhurst centre. The rooms were neat and clean with cosy beds. The staffs were very friendly and the welcoming. There were a wide range of options in the menu. The food was tasty and of excellent quality. Absolutely enjoyed the stay.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jun 26, 2024
I booked this based on great reviews but unfortunately I had a totally different experience Firstly we were told to go away and come back as we arrived at 1410, not a friendly start. Our room had a totally frosted glass window! Couldn’t see out at all so felt like a prison! The shower was lukewarm and the bed was the worst I’ve ever slept on, we could feel every spring moving! Breakfast was very limited to choice, no juices, cereals or fruits laid out as mentioned on another review. Budget supermarket branded condiments. I ordered the waffle which showed a picture of waffle with yoghurt and berries as served most places so was shocked to be served a waffle with yoghurt and 3 green/brown grapes! The only positive about this hotel was sadly the location which is great!
Ray H
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 10, 2024
Just come home from a stay in the New Forest, staying at the Ormonde House Hotel. What a great stay, just 10 min walk from the centre. Lovely friendly family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. The food is lovely & if you want a treat & coming special then the Gurkha Curry is amazing.
Response from Property: Dear Ray, Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you have taken the time to leave this for us and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
flower68London
Checked in May 2024
Friends
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 26, 2024
Great stay at Ormonde House hotel, room was very large with a sofa and dressing table, bathroom was very clean and shower good. We ate dinner on first night and the curry was good , drinks were reasonably priced . Breakfast was lovely. Staff and manager Susie were very friendly , helpful and attentive and we had a good chat with Susie who is so lovely and made us feel at home. Chatted to a few guests who return here regularly. The location is great a 5 min walk to the village and opposite the New Forest. Highly recommended and I’m sure we will return and hopefully stay a bit longer next time.
Response from Property: Dear guest, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Ormonde House Hotel
alangolds
Checked in May 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 21, 2024
Great visit. Has everything needed for a comfortable stay. The shower was piping hot. Rooms clean. Comfortable bed and the breakfast and service was great. We didn’t use the bar but there was one if needed. Easy walk to centre of Lyndhurst - 6 minutes - with parking at the front and easy to walk into the New Forest from here. All in all very good value for money and a good location. If coming back to New Forest we will use again.
Response from Property: Dear guest, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Ormonde House Hotel
Evelyn C
Checked in May 2024
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 19, 2024
Just returned from a pleasant stay at this hotel. Felt very welcomed on arrival. Room was of a high quality, with the most incredible spa bath, which was very much needed after miles of walking! The room also had 2 lovely arm chairs, which meant that you could actually relax in the room and not just use it for sleeping. We had breakfast and dinner booked, for which you must order the night before (breakfast) and an hour before eating at dinner. No problem with this, but the dining room was very quiet at dinner, so perhaps not needed? Food was of a good standard in the evening, and breakfast was great! Few small things to consider: the toilet roll holder is nowhere near the toilet in the bathroom and the vanity table could of done with a clean underneath the glass as it was quite dirty (room 12). Would stay here again if we were to visit the New Forest.
Response from Property: Dear guest, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Ormonde House Hotel
EllClaire
Checked in May 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 5, 2024
We had a lovely stay at Ormonde house as a group of 8 visiting for a wedding this weekend. The rooms were immaculate, the breakfast was delicious and the staff were attentive & so welcoming to us all. It was only a short walk into town and the hotel is situated just opposite the New Forest so the hotel is in a prime location. We will definitely be coming back to stay next time we’re in New Forest & highly recommend.
Response from Property: Dear EllClaire, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It was such a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We loved meeting you all and we are delighted to hear everyone enjoyed the stay. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Ormonde House Hotel
ReesyIam
Checked in May 2024
Business travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 3, 2024
Great little hotel, friendly staff, nice food and everything at a fair price. This was a business trip, my room was large and spacious, ideally located for domestic or business visits. Would strongly recommend. Great value for money in a usually expensive area
Response from Property: Dear Reesylam, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to family and friends. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Ormonde House Hotel
Simon S
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 22, 2024
I've just returned from a stay in the Ormonde House Hotel and wanted to immediately recommend it to others. If you are looking for a clean, super friendly 'home from home' hotel, a minute or so from the Forest, but still within a 5 minute walk from Lyndhurst town this is the place for you. My party and I (4 adults) got the impression that nothing would be too much trouble for the the owner and his team, and can't wait to return in a few months time. We didn't have an evening meal due to previously arranged engagements, but can confirm the hot breakfast, including the vegetarian option, was excellent. The sizable bar also provides a refreshing place to relax after a walk in the Forest. Great stuff!
Response from Property: Dear SimonsP946MB, Thank you for taking the time to leave a 5 star review, we really appreciate it. We're delighted to hear you and your party enjoyed the stay and would recommend us to family & friends. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and felt welcome by our owner and the team. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Ormonde House Hotel
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 15, 2024
Picked this place for its location and the fact it’s within driving distance of some wonderful tourist attractions. We were greeted and treated so so well during our stay. The food is good here, and you can get breakfast and dinner on a half board deal. Our room came with a big bath with jets, so it was basically a hot tub. Room was cozy and comfy. The staff were great and couldn’t do enough and were always friendly and willing to help. Will recommend this for short trips to the area
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 4, 2024
Excellent location and hotel for a quick trip to the forest. Food was excellent and hot. The staff friendly and helpful. Room comfy and warm. Easy to find and useful central location. If you want to pay more, you might get a more flashy experience but great value for money and just right for a three night break. Menu was appropriately limited for the size of the establishment but the Nepali curry was awesome!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 17, 2024
We chose here as our overnight stop for visiting attending another local event. Staff were lovely, room facilities were good and breakfast was great quality. Excellent value for money To improve, the hotel could put the central heating on during the peak check in windows or provide thicker duvets during the colder months. Our room was on the second floor so was cold at arrival, but we did get this warmed up eventually using the electric heater provided.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 14, 2024
Overlooking heathlands, At this hotel we had a clean comfortable room with modern en-suite facilities. Friendly owners. The hotel has good free parking and is only an easy ten minute walk into the centre of Lyndhurst, which has a wide range of eateries.