MAD Monkey Potts Point

MAD Monkey Potts Point Reviews

MAD Monkey Potts Point

27 Orwell Street, Potts Point, AustraliaView Hotel Details
MAD Monkey Potts Point
MAD Monkey Potts PointMAD Monkey Potts PointMAD Monkey Potts Point
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

MAD Monkey Potts Point Guest Reviews

3.6/5
9 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.6
Amenities3.6
Service3.6
Cleanliness3.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(9)
Positive reviews(8)
Negative reviews(1)
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 2, 2024
MadMonkey was the first stop in our Australia’s WHV trip. The hostel is cheap for the services included (free dinner every day, event, free beer and more) and it’s a good choose for know people. The location is perfect for visit the city by walk or train
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 7, 2024
Great value for money, nothing you wouldn’t expect for a busy hostel! The food every night was all home made which was a bonus! To top it all off the guy with the glasses at the front desk made everything so easy explained how things worked! As long as you don’t expect 5* hotel standards you’ll be okay as you’re not paying for a 5* hotel.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 15, 2023
Very nice social hostel, in the hart of Sydney. Free food was very nice and the free gym was very nice as well. Staff was super nice and the rooms and showers were clean at all times. Kitchen was always in great condition.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Dec 10, 2023
Many of the guests seem aged (or acting like) 18-22. The hostel has to repeatedly remind of the basic rules of social conduct - wash the dishes, flush the toilet, act like an adult. Hence, all dishes are plastic. Many of the guests are on long-term stays to work odd jobs and party, coming in and out of the rooms during all hours of day and night, often loud despite the no-noise (after midnight) rules. The common areas get rowdy throughout the evenings. The building is crowded and old. Only 2 toilet stalls per floor, often taken or clogged - so need to journey up & down the stairs to find a free one. The kitchen only has 2 sinks and 6 working hobs, so need to line up to use; and the fridges (only 2) are down the hall. The rooms are small and stuffy; beds are so close to each other that only one person can fit in between. There is no AC and only a small corner window - even keeping the room doors open and the 2-3 fans working 24/7 are insufficient to ventilate the smells. Much of the luggage lies on the floor, restricting the already limited movement area. The kitchen is closed off during peak dinner hours (about 17:30-20:30), because staff is cooking and serving the free dinners. But the portions are small and limited, so many cook anyway - mostly after 20:30. When the free dinner is ready (often later than the claimed 19:00), guests line up to the serving window - but staff (and friends) have priority, so the rest needs to wait their turn. Then there’s no room to sit in the common areas, so need to sit outside next to some dumpsters (frequented by cat-sized rats and cockroaches) or eat standing up (if it’s raining). And then the party starts. I can believe some guests like this hostel. But it’s hard to believe anyone would think it’s absolutely perfect, so the 5/5 and 10/10 scores seem surprising. The pros: - in-room storage lockers fairly spacious - power outlets and lights at each bed - free dinners actually taste quite good - free access to a nearby gym (though limited to 4 passes for the entire hostel and 2 hours per session)
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Dec 2, 2023
There are probably worse places to stay but this definitely wasn’t the best. The rooms are so small and there is not enough space for everyone to move around in the room, there was thick black mould on the window and the rooms were so stuffy. A lot of long term people who have been there for over 2 months. They have social events each night which were good and free dinner that caters for vegetarians too. I wouldn’t stay here for any longer than a few nights
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 13, 2023
Jake was an amazing receptionist. He was so helpful with everything! He not only was so friendly but helped me with my Job hunt in Sydney - which I really Appreciated! Would highly recommend staying here
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 9, 2023
Mad Monkey potts point is one of the best hostel experiences I had so far in Sydney. The facilities are very clean. The kitchen has a lot of supplies basically everything you need. The staff is super friendly and all in all it was just a really nice experience especially if you travel alone and worry about making friends since this hostel is very social
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 9, 2023
Great atmosphere in this hostel. They’ve new activities every night to get people socialising. The free dinners are always great and quite u inquest to this hostel. The staff are very accommodating and friendly and even helped me up the stairs with my bag. The free gym pass is great for the long termers as well. Free beers and alcohol if you’re into partying. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and it is by far the best hostel I’ve stayed in while being in Sydney. The kitchen was always kept very clean along with the toilets. TV room is great. 10/10 will be back. Slay.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 30, 2023
I had a great time at this hostel. The staff were so friendly and had great advice on how to get started in Sydney. They provide a free dinner each night and have access to a proper gym that’s just around the corner! I’ve stayed in lots of hostels in Victoria but none offered such great services and events at such a great price!