The Gin Trap Inn

The Gin Trap Inn Reviews

The Gin Trap Inn

6 High St, Ringstead, PE36 5JU, United KingdomView Hotel Details
The Gin Trap Inn
The Gin Trap InnThe Gin Trap InnThe Gin Trap Inn
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

The Gin Trap Inn Guest Reviews

4.6/5
Great
63 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.6
Amenities4.6
Service4.6
Cleanliness4.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(63)
Positive reviews(22)
Negative reviews(2)
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 28, 2024
Standard of room, service, food above all expectation. I cannot recommend highly enough. We were made so welcome from the moment we arrived. Our room though small, was full of character, perfect for our stay. Food was out of this world! Keep up the good work all.. hope to be back soon
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Apr 20, 2024
Disappointing experience overall. While the bar staff are commendable for their service, the mismanagement of the restaurant leaves much to be desired. It's perplexing that steak is advertised on the menu but unavailable in the bar area, forcing patrons to seek dining alternatives elsewhere. As a local, it's disheartening to resort to ordering takeaway from nearby establishments due to the pub's lack of accommodation. Management should seriously reconsider their approach to customer satisfaction.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 18, 2024
Oh, here's the place for a bit of pampering on the edge of the Norfolk coast. We've been to North Norfolk many times. It's a haven for people seeking escape for the city who want good food, informal service, exquisite accommodation. Many places may do that, but the Gin Trap does it effortlessly. The accommodation has every attention to detail - milk in a thermos flask, fresh coffee, treats for the dogs. ut it's in the restaurant where you see the lovely relaxed service, the simple menu of local product, the accomplished cooking. We had an amazing evening meal, washed down by some superb non-eye-watering wines, and a stunning breakfast the following morning. The Gin Trap is definitely a trap - and one I'm more than happy to become ensnared in again in the future.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 7, 2024
Fantastic weekend stay in ‘the stables’. Customer service was first class, accommodation was like a home from home - well appointed, clean and warm with some great welcome gifts. Food in the restaurant (dinner & breakfast) was excellent throughout. The ‘Cote du boeuf’ special was absolutely fabulous and the Cheese Soufflé a firm favourite.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 17, 2024
This was our 3rd weekend at The Gin Trap and the second time we took Mr B. He had his own welcome pack, bowl and towel and was made every bit as welcome as everyone made us. Beautifully equipped rooms and gorgeous food We're all booked to go back in October.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 10, 2024
Superb dinner mid week in pretty Norfolk village. It was a busy service that evening but great service with delicious and imaginative food with great service and a comprehensive wine list. It’s a long way from Cornwall but worth the journey.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 14, 2023
We stayed in the Stable Room. Beautiful room, nice sitting area on the ground floor with big bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Fun pub in the main building with the restaurant in the back. We had breakfast and dinner there two days and all meals were very good with wonderful service. Highly recommended.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 23, 2023
Such a special visit for our anniversary weekend, staying in the dog-friendly gallery with our greyhound. Lovely cosy inn with plenty of thoughtful touches. Loved the soft ambient lighting, the reusable v high quality toiletries, and the fabulous in-room bath. They were so accommodating of our dog, he had his own little package made up with a local walk and some treats - lovely touch. The food is absolutely stand-out. We ate here two evenings in a row and for breakfast. The menu is superb - really creative and interesting, fantastic flavours. That said, my highlight was actually very simple - the lincolnshire poacher twice baked souffle, insane! And the incredible chocolate, cherry and pistachio delice. Can't wait to come back. Staff are so lovely, all around a fantastic experience, and I'm surprised that the prices for the accommodation are so reasonable.
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 2, 2023
Went here for a drink whilst on holiday. It's a great place with a lovely seating area outside - looks great. We didn't get the chance to eat here on this trip but we'll definitely be back next time we visit to try the food!
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 3, 2023
Another excellent 2 night stay at the Gin Trap. We stayed in Brockmans, which is a lovely large room above the bar. Huge bathroom with a free standing bath and separate walk in shower. 2 miniature gin and tonics, bottled water and fresh milk for the room on arrival. Be aware the rooms above the bar are accessed via a steep staircase so may not be suitable for everyone. The bar is great, full of character and with a real fire. Bar staff are friendly and helpful. Dogs are welcome in the bar and are well looked after. The food is high end restaurant quality. It is not, and does not pretend to be ‘pub grub’. The kitchen uses top notch produce therefore is not cheap, however, it is delicious and not expensive for the quality. Bread with home made black garlic butter was lovely. The cheese soufflé starter is delicious. I’ve eaten cheese soufflé in lots of restaurants and this was one of the best. My partner loved the spelt porridge with deboned crispy chicken wings. Mains of cod with champagne sauce and tempura vegetables and halibut wrapped in seafood were both tremendous. Steak on the second night was perfectly cooked, with a lovely bernaise sauce and triple cooked fries which were almost like chip shaped roast potatoes. Some people have said the portions are small, however, we didn’t find that with the courses we had and we have good appetites. Breakfast had a good choice of fresh pastries, cereal, smoothies etc as well as options for a cooked breakfast, smoked salmon and eggs on a muffin or French toast. Unlike the last time we stayed dogs were allowed into the restaurant areas for breakfast which made it a little noisy one morning. All the staff, whether at breakfast, dinner or in the bar were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful. They genuinely seemed to want you to have a good time. We will definitely return. Our one small gripe (and it may have just been a teething problem from a new electronic order system installed the day before) is that when we checked out a 10% service charge had been added for every bar transaction. That’s fine for drinks ordered at dinner and brought to the table, however, it seemed a little excessive to be charged 10% service for a beer or glass of wine ordered at the bar.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 17, 2023
Lovely cozy pub, staff all really friendly. We stayed for 2 nights and our room (Bloom) was very inviting, the bed was very comfortable, in fact struggled to want to get out of it each morning for breakfast, but glad we did as was excellent. We didn’t eat there in the evening though as husband vegetarian and only 1 option, which he didn’t fancy, however, we did find an excellent cozy old pub nearby in Thornham and came back to Gin Trap after for cozy drinks by the fire. Loved our stay and hope to return again next year.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 17, 2023
We had heard the Gin Trap had been upgraded so after visiting the nearby Ward Nurseries we popped in for a quick pub lunch What a wonderful surprise This isn’t what we anticipated We enjoyed a top cuisine lunch Crafted duck liver parfait of top restaurant standard A generous steak with a selected chopped salad dressing with a bearnaise sauce Thin light batter on haddock with mushy peas and chunky chips right out of the best Michelin cookbook No room for pudding Delightful and helpful associates We won’t be coming back for a quick lunch but will return soon with friends for a great night out The Gin Trap is a star addition to the North Norfolk restaurant scene
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 21, 2023
I had tried to book a night at the Gin Trap for a while but it was always fully booked, now I know why. This was one of the best places we have ever stayed in, if not the best. I have stayed in similar atmospheric country pubs but what made this stand out from the rest was the food, it was stunning. The previous week we had dined in a 5 Star Mayfair Hotel but this beat it all ends up. The menu was imaginative and so original, I've never heard of Smoked Mash Potato before which was a show stopper. The staff could not have been more helpful, even explaining how to make Smoked Mash!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 21, 2023
We spent new year at this fantastic pub. Great party laid on. Food always exceptional, entertainment great and staff never fail to impress. It was a relaxed atmosphere no stuffy sit down meal just a good old fashion knees up.with people wanting to have a good time. Thanks to David and his team for making it one of the best New Year’s Eve we’ve had in a long time. Happy New Year.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Friendly, attentive staff with a good range of drinks. Rooms was welcoming, main light could have been brighter but I am pushing it a little! Breakfast muffin a tad too hard, apart from that a super place and we will visit again soon. Can’t comment on evening meal as ate out.