Danhostel Aarhus City

Danhostel Aarhus City Reviews

Danhostel Aarhus City

Fiskergade 10, Aarhus C, Midtjylland, 8000, DenmarkView Hotel Details
Danhostel Aarhus City
Danhostel Aarhus CityDanhostel Aarhus CityDanhostel Aarhus City
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Danhostel Aarhus City Guest Reviews

3.8/5
Good
69 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.8
Amenities3.8
Service3.8
Cleanliness3.7
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(69)
Positive reviews(25)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(17)
Guest User
Bed in Shared Dormitory, Mixed Dorm, Shared Bathroom (Linen Excluded)
Checked in May 2024
Friends
1 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on May 11, 2024
Location and property was amazing. Staffs at the reception were very helpful. Room was bit smelly. Having said that it was a great deal. Truly a value for money
Guest User
Double Room with Shared Bathoom
Checked in Sep 2021
Solo travelers
1 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 27, 2021
the environment is very nice!
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jul 15, 2024
I was extremely disappointed with my stay here. First of all they charge you an unnecessary amount for bedsheets and towels. I mistakenly paid for bedsheets and promptly requested a refund. I dealt with a staff member named Cia who was very unpleasant to be around, cranky, unfair and extremely rude. I explained my situation to Cia and asked to get a refund for the bedsheets. Her dismissive attitude and lack of empathy were shocking. Instead of providing assistance, she was condescending and made the whole situation totally unnecessarily stressful, especially for a young student who has been traveling for months and who is low on funds. Customer service should prioritize helping customers and resolving issues, but Cia’s behavior was the complete opposite. This experience has left a very negative impression, and I will think twice before returning.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 9, 2024
A fine short stay, nice room and good beds and we were welcommed good and nice. Placed in center near ARoS, shopping, restaurants and Den gamle by. Didn’t find a kitchen to place and make our food, and the reception was unfortunately without staff, when I needed help to find it.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 21, 2024
One thing I apreciated was that my bed didn't rattle when the sleeper on top moved. The bed confort was good. Very good location. Well maintained. Less good : Quite few toilets on 5th floor. I wonder if the one near room 515 - which is rather large - could be divided (upon length) in 2 toilets with entrances in the corridor of room 515.
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 10, 2024
1 bed in a 8 person room at a fair price. Helpful staff. Great central location. Close to Busgaden and the central station. Perfekt for my purpose: Northside 24 Breakfast: Plenty of it, very moderate = not much taste eg. apple- and orange juice, cheese
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jun 9, 2024
We had a good stay at the hostel. The room was almost clean except for a stain on the carpet. The ventilation system in the bathroom did not work, but it helped to open the window in the room. At first we parked our car outside but were worried at night because of party people in the street at night. Also the party noise was very loud because of the echoing place. The location is very central in the city which is great and some might expect noise. However, we would like to know this beforehand. Also the price of the parking seems a bit high with 199 DK, 26 €. As I said, the hostel was very central and parking elsewhere was not so easy, but as a hostel guest I would expect some discount for the parking. We had breakfast for two days, which was ok for the price, but it took a long time to refill the buffet and it was a bit crowded at the buffet. The staff were helpful. All in all we enjoyed our time at Danhostel.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on May 30, 2024
I spent three nights at Dan Hostel in April and had a terrible experience. The last night I was there in my bed there were a lot of bedbugs and that was by far the worst experience I had with an accommodation in my life. The reception was closed so after I realized around 1 am – because I started feeling itchy – that there were many bedbugs, some quite big, on both my pillow and my blanket, I woke up and spent the whole night sitting on a chair. I left all my belongings in the property, went to buy new clothes in the morning, to avoid bringing them home. But this was not even close to be the end of the story: the day after I woke up with around 50 bites per arm, and on my face, neck, etc… for an allergic reaction I ended up at the hospital. And the only thing the management of the hostel did is to refund me not even the three nights but only the last one. They told me they would have make somebody treat the room, but I am not sure whether that happened. Besides the bedbugs, the level of cleaning of the hostel is very poor, the shower room extremely cold and the showers very uncomfortable. Rooms do not even have the basics as lockers for example. In addition, they charge for towels and bedsheets… I think the hostel does not reach the minimum standards for an accommodation.
Guest User
Checked in May 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 15, 2024
Very nice stay for an adult couple(60 and 69) on bicycle. Perfect routines for booking, welcoming and helping with advices during our stay. Earplugs useful during the night; most of the guests are young. Cleanliness great. Excellent breakfast.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Apr 14, 2024
Nice environment however there are bedbugs on my bed which I discovered the morning I checked out! There was a bedbug hopping on my mattress! Now I have more than twenty bedbug bites all over my hands arms back neck and legs! Please do something about it I've seen people complaining about bedbugs on google a long time ago. Never stayed at anywhere with such sever bedbug problems
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Apr 8, 2024
We payed for a parking spot and when checking in I asked what would happen if someone else stod in the parking spot when we arrive. They assured that it wouldn't be an issue and that it have never happened before. Well, when we arrived a danish car stod at the spot. We had to find a parking spot ourselves. When we cheched out I told about the issue (and showed a picture) and the answer I got was "We have other parking spots, you should have been told about that.". First, I wasn't and second, it doesn't matter. I paid for a service and didn't get that service so the answer should be "We're sorry for the inconvenience and will refund the amount for the parking spot.". The bathroom had used towels on the floor. Old makeup pencils/brushes on the counter and papper tissues with makeup (pretty nice color) laying all over. The room also had used towels hanging next to the door. We had to take them out ourselves. Over all the place was in a really bad shape and the cleaning was done by someone who just don't care. The place is close to what you need. Espresso house for breakfast etc, Normal for general stuff like schampoo, deo etc. A place called Cross Cafe which had a really nice breakfast and the staff was very kind. Beautiful city but find another place to stay.
Björk H
Checked in Mar 2024
Solo travelers
2.0/5
Posted on Mar 3, 2024
Definitely mixed feelings about this one. On the positive side: It’s affordable and very well located in the city, near to everything and anything one might wish. There is quite well equipped kitchen space and the common areas are alright for sure. But my first impression wasn’t the greatest ; the room I got access to looked absolutely nothing like it was advertised, the bunk bed didn’t have curtains and there was no space for storage, it was just bunk beds in a cramped room . I was sure some mistake must have been made so I went back to the service desk letting the receptionist know that this wasn’t what I had booked. And that I wasn’t comfortable in a shared room without privacy curtains for the bed. They didn’t argue with me but didn’t offer any explanation or excuse, just gave me a new card key and told me to go to another floor. The new room looked more like it was advertised but it felt like nobody had opened a window in a while, it was messy, small and had an unpleasant smell. All bunk beds were occupied except two. When I looked up at my designated bed ; it didn’t have a curtain. I go back to the service desk a second time saying that my bunk bed did not have a curtain. This time the receptionist was apologetic but tinted with annoyance. They followed me up to show me the 3rd room to see “if this fits”. They opened the room and to my surprise it was more spacious, all bunk beds had curtains and there was only one other person staying in room. I accepted but still wondered why I wasn’t offered this the first time - highlighting the importance of privacy, then offering yet another room without it a the second time. All while this third room was available. It felt a bit weird and unwelcoming. The whole hostel has an unpleasant odour coming from what I’m guessing is the sewers since the smell is really bad in all bathrooms and showers. The general cleanliness isn’t the greatest either. I think staying here for maximum one night or two on the go is probably fine if you’re young and backpacking. But in my case; I will definitely book something else if I come visit Århus again.
Response from Property: Hej Alex, Thank you for your time writing the review. I'm sorry that the first two rooms didn't have curtain ( they were being washed at that time and I had not received that information), I wasn't aware of that before giving you your key card. I did not offer you the last room as your first option because you had not reserved that type of room, but I tried to help you in the best way to make you comfortable :) Kind regards, AarhusDanhostel city / Florencia.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
This place it horrific. No bed sheets unless you buy them, pillows stained, bathrooms smell like a sewer and the showers where rank. The staff where lovely however and the common rooms where quite nice, however the rooms where not. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm, would not recommend.
Response from Property: Hi Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing feedback from our guest. It's stated during booking that sheets and towels are at an extra fee. Your feedback about stained pillows and bathrooms are of course not our standard. We will take this feedback into consideration for the future. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful and hope You enjoyed Your stay in Aarhus :-). Kind regards Reception Danhostel Aarhus City
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
very nice and very clean place to stay, very well located. a bit noisy in the nights but thats part of staying in a hostel ;). the staff was always super friendly and helpful! I Will stay here again remembering some earplugs :D
Response from Property: Hi Cesar, We are happy to hear you enjoyed the stay at our hostel! We will be looking forward to having you again! Kind regards, Martin.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jan 26, 2024
Mixed experiences staying here. Staff was super friendly and helpful, location is nice and central and cleanliness was fine. However, info on website on opening times, additional fees and breakfast availability was NOT accurate, which altered my stay quite significantly. The pics on the website of the shared dorms were not at all accurate, there was no curtain for privacy and no chests under the beds to lock away your stuff.