Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Golden Tulip El Mechtel Reviews

Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Av. Ouled Hafouz, El Omrane, Bab Souika, Tunis, 1005, TunisiaView Hotel Details
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El MechtelGolden Tulip El MechtelGolden Tulip El Mechtel
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Golden Tulip El Mechtel Guest Reviews

4/5
Very Good
59 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.0
Amenities4.0
Service4.0
Cleanliness4.1
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(59)
Positive reviews(32)
Reviews with photos/video(3)
Negative reviews(5)
Pavol
Standard Room
Checked in Oct 2021
Business travelers
10 Reviews
4.5/5
Great
Posted on Oct 7, 2021
Good location, good price, nice staff. Definitely recommend this hotel.+++
Guest User
Standard Room
Checked in Aug 2022
Business travelers
1 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Aug 26, 2022
It was oka
Anonymous User
Executive King Room
Checked in Jan 2024
Business travelers
29 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 27, 2024
I like the atmosphere of this hotel very much. It's quiet, elegant and allows people to relax. The attentive and thoughtful service of the service staff is impressive. The location of this hotel is very good, the transportation is convenient, and the rooms are clean, tidy and comfortable. It is my ideal place to stay in this city. I really like this hotel, the rooms are bright and spacious and the beds are comfortable, allowing me to have a good night's sleep. The staff are very enthusiastic and proactive in providing help, which makes you feel warm.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Club Room-2 Single Beds
Checked in Jun 2024
Business travelers
15 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 11, 2024
Very good, the service is also good, but the breakfast variety is relatively small
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Executive King Room
Checked in Jan 2024
Solo travelers
1 Reviews
3.2/5
Posted on Feb 5, 2024
・Location The area itself is not a problem, but there is a lot of traffic on the street in front of you, so it is difficult to cross the road (there are few traffic lights). ·service The timing happened to coincide with the check-in of a group of guests, but the check-in process and payment of the accommodation tax took more time than I expected. ·facility The closet and other areas seem to have deteriorated and are rattling.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Xiaomi
Superior King Room
Checked in May 2024
Business travelers
7 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 2, 2024
Overall it's good, but the equipment is a bit old
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Executive King Room
Checked in Oct 2023
Business travelers
52 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 24, 2023
Excellent hotel. Central but quiet location. Comfortable executive room lacking some details but still of a good standard. Good and efficient room service.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Sophie Lau
Superior King Room
Checked in Apr 2024
Business travelers
9 Reviews
4.8/5
Amazing
Posted on Jul 14, 2024
Very good and clean
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Standard Room
Checked in Sep 2021
Family
1 Reviews
1.5/5
Posted on Oct 9, 2021
The room was not clean. The sheet on one of the beds looks unwashed, the carpet old and full of dust, old hand dryers torn and with holes in them, there was some construction in the almost desert corridor on the fourth floor and the workers were talking and joking loudly at any time of the day. Poor breakfast with unprofessional service and questionable hygiene. I had to make a complaint to the reception but no action! The only positive point was the bar in the insert, also frequented by non-residents. Bad quality / price ratio. Objectively, and if they improve the hygiene aspect, it would deserve 2 Tunisian stars and 1 European star. I categorically advise against it.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Mar 2, 2024
Warm welcome, but the facilities are somewhat shabby. Clearly an 80's hotel in need of work....and they have done some in the rooms and corridors which look OK until you look closely: a very cheap make-up job. The room was comfortable and clean, but for over 100GBP/night, I expected more. The only English TV channel is CNN, if it is working. Wifi is slow and crashes often. I got ONE complimentary teabag and one bottle of water during a one-week stay. But the main area of discontent is the food and restaurant management. As a vegetarian, I got tired of only having salad to eat every night. There is only a buffet. You cannot order anything specific. There are one or two veg 'dishes' (grilled veg, dauphinoise potatoes, rice), but they often have some form of meat in them, are totally overcooked or just look very unappetising. The salads themselves feel like they come out of tins. Lots of watery liquid everywhere and pretty limp and tasteless. The restaurant itself is so much in need of a total refresh and is managed very poorly. The breakfast buffet is ok, but pretty cheap. The egg guys are good, but again their managers are just awful: floating about being superior and unhelpful. I was hosted here by the organisation that I was working for. If I had booked it for myself I would have left after the first night. Not bad enough to totally trach it but seriously, you need to buck up Golden Tulip: It is a competitive marketpace out there.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 3, 2024
I had stayed here a few years back on my regular trips to Tunis. I gave up on them a while ago. The place was old, dirty, living in the 70's. But this time, there was a good offer so I took it up. And I am glad I did, what a change. The rooms have had a complete makeover, light, fresh, plenty of space, modern. The bed is super-comfortable and the staff are so welcoming and friendly. I dined at one of the restaurants and I could easily have been in a very good European restaurant, the service was great and very friendly. I need a good desk space and storage and the rooms have plenty of it. Power points in abundance, including different types for those of us who aren't European. The bathroom was suitable for one person at a time, water pressure wasn't great, in fact, terrible, but that is my only criticism. Over the past 2 years I have struggled with hotels in Tunis, all very sub-standard in the price bracket I want to pay ( c USD 80-120 ), but I have re-discovered Golden TulipEl Mechtel and will now call this home for the foreseeable future, whenever I am in Tunis. Well done folks.
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 15, 2023
This hotel is newly refurbished, it’s brand new, and amazing. The check-in service is great. I can’t remember the name of the person that checked us in, but he was so lovely. The only down side is the breakfast, especially table set up (mise en place), you find yourself collecting cutlery/tissues/salt&pepper from other tables. But other than that, it was an amazing stay, if you are looking to stay in Tunis this hotel is GREAT!
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 6, 2023
Nice hotel and nice staff, somehome breakfast room furniture could be improved.The same staff since 10 years ago friendly and welcoming, good food in general , a small but nice spa and gym.Central tunis .
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
As part of an expedition to the Sahara for a month we stayed here on the way there and again before we caught the ferry back to Girona. The first room was relatively clean but the bathroom was in need of renovation and redecoration. The bedroom itself was far too hot and the AC was ineffectual. When checking your room beforehand ensure the room has been left with the AC on or it will take a day to reduce the temperature. I had a much better experience on the return trip. We also had a great deal of help from the hotel staff who did all they could to help us with mechanical problems that we had with our vehicles. Also they helped in enabling us to contact the right people to change bookings & names on ferry tickets. In the hotel kitchen a western palette is not catered for. The food is not great for breakfast although croissants & yoghurt is in plenty supply. A decent cup of tea is almost impossible as boiling water appears to be anathema to hotel kitchen staff. Always go for the omelettes, they are the best option. Fruit is not checked with the previous days offering wheeled out the following day so is often soft or on the way out. Having said all this it felt like the hotel was ready for or already in transition to another chain. I hope their attention to detail is better.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Business travelers
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 11, 2023
I have visited this hotel dont never seen before since I was living near by Bad I was so surprised it's still good after many years Service was good food excellent The room 😍 acceptably all services also