Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel & Spa

Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel & Spa Reviews

Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel & Spa

Old Main Rd, Selbourne Golf Estate, Ugu District Municipality, South AfricaView Hotel Details
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel & Spa
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel & SpaSelborne Golf Estate, Hotel & SpaSelborne Golf Estate, Hotel & Spa
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel & Spa Guest Reviews

4/5
18 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.9
Amenities3.9
Service4.0
Cleanliness4.0
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(18)
Positive reviews(11)
Reviews with photos/video(3)
Negative reviews(7)
Lixinya
Guest Room with Garden View(Patio)
Checked in 2021年11月
Family
17 Reviews
4.5/5
Great
Posted on 2021年11月19日
Good stay menus is great location is great comfortable rooms
Guest User
Checked in 2024年3月
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2024年3月1日
The golf course is just stunning and kept up together very well, my wife and I had plenty of time to actually look at the beautiful scenery, as we weren’t being rushed from people behind, like most golf courses, groundsmen please be respectful of not showering players and carts with water sprinkles, remember these people pay your wages, and will not come back if disappointed, we will though, and with more family ( thank you to the golf manager for giving us another game the following morning, in mends to us having to play the last four holes drenched). The couple’s spa package was so worth going for, extremely relaxing. The accommodation was clean with lovely views of the golf course (load shedding very inconvenient), the main building and restaurant looks a little dated, but the food was very good, overall we had a very nice experience, thank you.
Guest User
Checked in 2024年5月
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2024年5月6日
The surroundings are Spectacular, but the buildings are in need of TLC. Small irritating things like loose taps on one basin and one tap on the other not working at all. The bathroom floods when taking a shower and there is a gap between the doorframe and the wall at the front door. The place needs maintenance in general. Breakfast was great !
ltrent956446
Checked in 2024年5月
Other
3.0/5
Posted on 2024年5月6日
The old-style graciousness of the buildings is a wonderful introduction to the Seborne Golf Estate. First impressions of our garden room were positive. However, this soon changed. One of the double vanity basins did not drain properly, no hand towels or extra towels were supplied. The outside lights did not come on at night. All these matters were reported to the Reception Desk with little if any response. The soundproofing between the rooms was also inadequate and we could hear two people arguing next to us in the adjacent room. The meals in the Hotel dining room were adequate but a number of wines were unavailable upon request. The staff were extremely friendly but do need more training in basic waitering skills. A superb venue spoilt by small and irritating lapses in service.
Guest User
Checked in 2024年5月
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on 2024年5月3日
I booked and paid for a garden suite (was allocated room 10) R1500.00 per night, after entering the room I found the following (pictures attached for your convenience): Dead insects (flies) scattered around the room. A broken cupboard door. A broken bedside lamp. Broken floor and wall tiles, I almost cut my foot on one of the broken floor tiles. Toilet bowl with faeces stains and a toilet seat with urine stains. A broken door restrainer, thus not enabling myself to secure myself in my room afterhours. Light bulbs not working Draws and cupboards not closing properly The curtains were brown and bad need of a wash… I then contacted the reception and was told I was being upgraded to room 2 Manor house… this was definitely not an upgrade (I confirmed this by way of going onto the website). This room was anything but an upgrade… Again, broken bedside lights not working Ceiling fan not working Sheets with holes in them Broken tiles The windows facing the conference centre did not close properly (left hand side one could not be locked), came back from breakfast and my room had been ransacked by monkeys, the monkeys were sitting on the roof with my items. I booked a massage and a facial (80 mins and 50 mins – 2 hours and 10 mins) I arrived at 09h30 and was out within 1.5 hours (including my shower and changing) On arrival, I found that the receptionist also provides the massages and facials… we were constantly bugged with phone ringing, people coming in, etc. She eventually locked the front door… The linen used on the massage bed had holes in it and the sheet used to cover me was stained. The massage was good, the facial not so much.
dsanto725895
Checked in 2024年3月
Other
2.0/5
Posted on 2024年3月4日
We have stayed at Selborne at least 5 times a year fir the past 6 yo 8 years from the hotel to the villas and have not been disappointed hence why we keep going back. Starts with us checking in and they are still cleaning the rooms at 15.55 and give me a look as though I am interrupting them. Fans not working and air-conditioned on the blink in 36 degrees heat with humidity on top of that. Reported and told that they could move us to another block. The whole idea of going as a group is that you still stay with your group next to each other. No outside chairs or tables to sit at in the garden and had to go and request for tables and chairs. gardens are unkept and could be beautiful. Breakfast was dismal. No filter coffee, salt and pepper sachets (like a cheap take away shop) on the table which we had to wipe clean first. Just no interest in anything or anyone. And the list can go on. Out of the 3 rooms we booked only one couple said it was ok. the rooms are pretty run down and need a facelift. The beds and pillows comfy though. Seriously need to up their game. Not sure what has happened since November but just not their usual standards. Not even a decent whiskey or a range of drinks in the bar to calm us down. We had to go to the clubhouse to drown our sorrows. Will give it another bash as I know they can do better. Hopefully. Just really disappointed.
skhavi637805
Checked in 2024年2月
Other
2.0/5
Posted on 2024年2月26日
I have stayed here since 2021, during covid. There has been no updates of the bathrooms to date, noted mould buildup in the bathrooms. Breakfast was aweful, the sausages has no taste. Breakfast menu has been cut down considerably.
Guest User
Checked in 2024年1月
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on 2024年1月4日
This hotel is not 4 star maybe 2 stars .The aircon in most rooms dont work. pool area very muddy pool not enough pool towels stairway and outside balcony never cleaned for the 4 day we were there christmas day no resturants open so there was no food on site
Guest User
Checked in 2023年12月
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on 2023年12月23日
What was supposed to be a 4 night stay was cut to 2: Bathrooms were moldy and had roaches Service was bad - I ordered 1 latte, 1 hot chocolate, 1 Irish coffee. The waiter insisted in bringing it to my room even after I said I had no problem waiting. 45 mins later we checked in on the order only to be told he lost track and forgot... (the restaurant was empty) Pool area has signs of no glass to be brought around yet empty beer bottles were around the pool with people drinking at the pool. Kiddies area seems like it needs attention too. Don't think I'll try this place again.
Guest User
Checked in 2023年5月
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2023年5月19日
Spent two nights at the hotel. Wonderful position, great experience. Breakfast + dinners at the hotel were delightful; the staff could not have been more professional and helpful. The grounds are in impeccable condition - wandering duiker / plentiful birdlife enriched the experience. Safe / beautiful beach house. Plenty to see / do. Wish we had had international guests to show this venue off to
Guest User
Checked in 2023年2月
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on 2023年2月23日
Stayed for one week in the Presidential Suite of the main hotel. We were visiting different relatives along the coast and this was a good central location for us to be based. Despite some initial difficulties on arrival at the main security gate (we were supposed to have been sent a code but hadn’t). This was eventually resolved but Reception seemed to have an inability to SMS a UK based landline whilst we sat in our car for ages. They just kept asking (via radio to the security gate) for an SA one which we didn’t have. It was a poor first impression. Why weren’t we sent a code? Nobody could answer that question. The hotel was clean and beautifully presented. Grounds staff doing a magnificent job on the golf course and gardens. Staff were generally friendly and helpful but notably some more proactive than others. Our room was cleaned to perfection every day. It was very comfortable and spacious. The swimming pool was large and beautifully located in the grounds, however we had to go to reception to request sunbed lounger cushions or ask for drinks etc. Also noticed that finished drinks and trays were just left lying around for hours or even overnight around the pool. Nor was the pool cleaned of tree debris at any point that we saw. The area just felt unattended and perhaps should be part of a more regular staff check. The restaurant at best was average. We had Sunday lunch with some guests but this was not the fayre of anything purporting to be of a 4* hotel standard. Breakfast was good with a choice of hot and cold items. The most crazy thing was the size of the table cloths on the tables. At least three sizes too big, all the excess material draped onto the floor. I lost count of how many times I almost tripped over the damn things just getting up from a chair and either dragging the cloth with me or getting my feet or chair leg wrapped up in it! Madness. Buy some ones that fit the furniture for goodness sake. When we checked out we weren’t asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if everything had been ok etc. Pretty standard stuff for staff on Reception you’d have thought. Despite the ******* mentioned, the hotel is beautifully set, safe and comfortable. We would stay again due to its location.
TANYA
Checked in 2023年5月
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on 2023年5月10日
Amazing stay with Family and Friends Rooms were cleaned daily, bed super comfortable and all the amenities needed.
Michel
Checked in 2023年3月
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2023年3月20日
Always love returning to Selborne and stay in the golf view rooms. It's time for bathroom modernisation though. Lovely challenging golf course with a great clubhouse. Will be back next time in the area.
Guest User
Checked in 2023年3月
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on 2023年3月6日
Many Positives: Beautiful, tranquil setting. Spacious, comfortable garden room with private patio. Exceptional golf course. Enjoyable dinner and breakfast buffets. Friendly, eager-to-please bar and dining room staff and chefs. Lovely massage, facial and light meal at the spa. Very friendly staff. Club house a short stroll away- delicious, well-priced food and lovely ambiance at night- patio, tall trees, twinkling lights. Ideal location from which to explore Pennington. Load shedding not an issue. Generator kept everything working smoothly. Some Not-So-Positives: We were not sent an access code before we arrived so had to phone reception from the gate and then wait for them to send a code. Laborious and time-consuming process. Some of the staff not welcoming, helpful or friendly. This is unfair to the staff who are hospitable and pro-active. Air-conditioner made a loud grating noise every hour or so- making it impossible to sleep properly. Reported to maintenance and front desk. Too hot not to have air-conditioner on and ceiling fan speed could not be adjusted to cool the room down. Patio door lock broken- so door could not be locked. Reported to font desk. Large broken/missing tile in bathroom. Coffee machine in room- but pods for only one cup each. Asked for more pods at reception to be told they were out of stock. Asked receptionist to “borrow” some from a vacant room. She said that she had checked and there were none. Strangely, the housekeeping lady also checked in the vacant rooms and did manage to find some. Bits of litter left in the garden beds- there from Friday when we arrived, still there on Monday when we left. All-in-all, we had a lovely stay but the hotel is not nearly as 4 star grand, well-maintained or luxurious as it used to be “back in the day”- when there were beautiful fish in the ponds, a shuttle service to the beach club, immaculate rooms and gardens and a full component of welcoming, enthusiastic staff.
Guest User
Checked in 2023年1月
Couples
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on 2023年1月31日
Hotel is neat and cozy. Presidential suite was large, neat and well equipped. Golf course was plush and a joy to play. Food was satisfactory. Kitchen closed at 8.30 pm on Saturday night and we were left with empty stomachs for the rest of the night. Not even a crisp or chocolate at reception... Very frustrating. Golf was the only highlight unfortunately