Huka Lodge

Huka Lodge Reviews

Huka Lodge

271 Huka Falls Road, Wairakei, Taupo, New ZealandView Hotel Details
Huka Lodge
Huka LodgeHuka LodgeHuka Lodge
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Huka Lodge Guest Reviews

4.7/5
Amazing
23 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.7
Amenities4.7
Service4.7
Cleanliness4.7
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(23)
Positive reviews(23)
Reviews with photos/video(2)
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 25, 2024
Beautiful lodge, wonderfully appointed rooms, very nice staff. Nice breakfast and dinners. Book your dinner location early to mix up the views. Enjoy a cocktail, cheees and crackers in library. Excellent hiking all around - the lodge is stunning but do get out to enjoy magical hikes.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 1, 2024
Stunning priority, excellent accommodation on the river, beautiful food, lovely staff and great walks Have travelled the world and stayed at some of the best resorts. This is up there with the best. Had 2 nights, which was just perfect. Very tranquil & relaxing. Beautiful location. The accommodation is beautiful done. Captures that elegant cabin feel but it is very luxurious.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 6, 2024
This is one of the most beautiful lodges in the world. The grounds are manicured to perfection, the entire property sits on the banks of the Waikato River and adjacent to Huka Falls. The most exquisite aspect of this lodge is the setting, it defies description and pictures do not do it justice. There are blooming trees, bushes, brilliantly manicured hedges around a truly old world gaming lawn (croquet, bocce, etc) quiet spaces to sit on the banks of the river and magical areas hidden away for yoga, meditation or just to sit in awe of the grounds. The only thing that rivals the aesthetics is the cooking. My gosh, the food is absolutely amazing!! Nearly every single meal we had there ranked among the best we’ve had anywhere in the world! The chef even surprised us with an off script dinner that was lamb 3 ways because we kept raving about the lamb. Another beautiful touch is the transportation to the park where my husband and I hiked Huka Falls. When we returned the manager shared an absolutely hysterical exchange. He was fantastic the entire stay!! The villas, sitting on the banks of the river are exceptional. We had resident ducks on our patio politely asking for our minibar snacks regularly which was absolutely adorable. The rooms were spacious, lovely and perfectly cleaned. It was so perfect that we will be returning next year, in spite of the fact that it is half way around the world!
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Feb 5, 2024
Where do I begin? It was the most incredible place I have ever stayed...and I have had lot of awesome lodging. This lodge has it all- ambiance, style, luxury, amazing food, staff that are exceptional, views that can not be compared, comfortable but on a level I didn't know existed. The food was over the top and we had the most enjoyable host- Giacamo (sorry, I am sure I have misspelled your name, please forgive me). He made the entire stay fabulous, from the moment he greeted us, until he graciously helped us leave. I wish this place was closer- I would go there every year.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 19, 2024
We recently completed a two-week luxury tour of North and South New Zealand. It was wondrous in every aspect. We stayed at the best lodges including Huka, Cape Kidnappers, Otahuna, Matakauri, and Eichardt’s private hotel and reviewed them all. For the ultimate experience, book your trip through Marchay. Now for the review! Huka was our overall favorite lodge. Located in Taupo, it is the North islands recreation zone and features NZ’s biggest lake, Lake Taupo. The lodge is located minutes away and resides in a prime location off the Waikato River that leads to Huka Falls, only a ten-minute walk. Awesome white-water falls (Huka means the foam of the white water). The lodge is sweet and compact with 20 junior suites, all steps from the river. Amenities include swimming pool and 100f spa. No gym but will take you to the local gym 10 minutes away which is very nice. Dining experience is what sets Huka above all others. We were there three nights and each night they give you a designated dining spot, all outdoors in season. Each was more amazing than the other. And the food! Like all fine lodges in NZ, they start happy hour with canopies (apps to Americans). Each night featured three different canopies, yum! Alcohol is included during happy hour. The menu is changed daily, four course offerings. But hey, no need for menus here because they will make most anything you want. All food preparation was five star and not pretentious like a Michelin restaurant. I have to also say that throughout our stay in NZ, the staff at every lodge and hotel was incredibly nice, efficient and spot on. We only had two minor incidents and everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. The only downside: Four-hour drive from Auckland. However, it’s well worth it and we stopped at the Glowworm caves on the way up. I highly recommend a boat tour on Lake Taupo and hiking to Taranaki Falls. Overall: Best lodge in NZ for location, food, activities and service.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 16, 2024
Fabulous lodge! The four of us stayed in the Alan Pye cottage for 3 nights. Everything was perfect. Excellent breakfast and dinner. While the dinner menu is usually set each night, they can make changes to accommodate requests, such as vegetarian or pescatarian. The lodge can also make arrangements for local activities, such as the Huka Falls jet boat and a bungy swing. The lodge drove us and picked us up for these activities that are in Taupo. It is a short walk from the lodge to see Huka falls. We did a helicopter tour and the helicopter lands at the lodge. Definitely worth staying here if you are going to the Taupo/Rotorua area.
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 2, 2023
One of the best country lodges you will find. Pros—Accommodations, bathrooms large and well stocked, mini bar that is included in your room rate. Superb dining, terrific staff. Con or areas for improvement —no fitness center, boat cruise on Lake Taupo was not up to the standards of the lodge. Laundry service required sending in laundry the night before for next day service. But these are all small ….a hotel not to miss on a visit to NZ!
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 1, 2023
This lodge is world class and one of best places I have stayed in my life. It is picture perfect in its beauty; totally immersed in nature and architecturally beautiful. The staff are all fantastic and after a few days, knew all of our names. The chefs in the kitchen were magnificent, serving up incredible dinners and breakfasts for us each day. The highlight was our final meal, which featured the wild venison we had caught a few days earlier on a hunting trip. The rooms were comfortable and had every luxury you would want after a day in the wilderness, hiking hunting or fishing.
6/7
Response from Property: Dear Expert_adviser, Thank you for your wonderful feedback about our lodge. We are honoured to be considered one of the best places you have stayed. The lodge's natural beauty and architectural design create a picturesque setting immersed in nature. We are very proud of our team, and they will be humbled to hear you were flattered by their fantastic, first-name service. it’s also great to hear you enjoyed your culinary experience. Having your own catch cooked and prepared is a truly a liberating feeling. After a day of wilderness activities, a bit of lounging is certainly most welcome, and I’m glad our comfortable accommodation offered the perfect retreat with luxury amenities. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back for more memorable experiences. Best wishes, Team Huka
Guest User
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 10, 2023
This is a really class act. The staff make you feel very special, and the rooms and facilities are wonderful. They like to put thought into where everyone sits for dinner, and where possible dot people around so every table feels like they're the only one. Food was excellent. In hindsight, we would probably have had lunch elsewhere simply because we had a car and there were other places to explore. In fairness, they might even expect people to do that because, although lunch was great, it's not really their flagship meal. Not saying it was deficient, just that their dinners are awesome.
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 10, 2023
A fantastic place to celebrate a birthday - or any occasion. The food is fabulous, the suites very comfortable and the grounds are gorgeous. But it’s the staff who really make it. They are friendly and very good at what they do. A special shout-out to Andrew who looked after us during my birthday dinner. What’s not mentioned on the Lodge’s website is the fully stocked mini-bar included in the price and free shuttles into town. I highly recommend dining in the wine cellar.
Response from Property: Dear Anne-Marie, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our lodge. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating your birthday with us. It's great to know that you found our food, suites, and grounds to be exceptional, and that our staff provided friendly and attentive service throughout your stay. Andrew is delighted to hear that he was able to make your birthday dinner a special occasion. Our team at the lodge hopes that you will visit us again soon, and we look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, Team Huka
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Sep 30, 2023
Outstanding! Thank you Huka Lodge. Bucket list stuff. Beautiful setting and superb staff & service . Loved the pre dinner drinks meeting other guests. Kerri & Bridie and their team are exceptional. Massages and fly fishing a must.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 19, 2023
Trading off their cachet. No a la carte menu. Wine prices marked up by 2-300%. My wife cannot eat fresh coriander, we made this known on our first day, then along comes a dish with coriander on it. In a Lodge like this, this should not happen. Shows a lack of communication - not good enough. My overall feeling is 'underwhelmed' really. Staff were great, gardens immaculate, and the setting is wonderful, but for the cost, was just left, as I said 'underwhelmed'.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jul 4, 2023
No question this is a BEAUTIFUL offering. No matter the time of year the sheer natural beauty is incredible and the birdlife beautiful. The greeting on arrival is really warm and the checkin seamless. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the bedding is exceptional. The bathrooms are extremely well done and everything you could need is at your fingertips. Housekeeping is spot on. Note there is no TV in the rooms nor anywhere in the main lodge. Staff are very accommodating and the drivers are FABULOUS! Each of the three we had were great company and ready and waiting to serve with a smile and a story or two on the journey. We did struggle to contact the lodge several times when in need of transport. There system had gone down which left us booking ubers instead. This is a premium property with top notch facilities such as tennis, croquet, great spa baths and pool. The massages we had were average at best so even though we'd planned several for our stay we chose not to repeat. The one down side is the dining. There is a set menu each night and its rigid. They don't like any variations and beyond that the food was just consistently disappointing. We struggled to eat at dinner each night and the portions are tiny. The men in our group left hungry each evening. The wines on offer are limited and largely local. Surprisingly lunch each day is the SAME and only a few options to choose from. Dreadful if you simply want to remain on property for your stay and rest, dine, enjoy the outdoors etc. This is Huka's main dilemma in our view. It's a serious one. Definitely recommend experiencing Huka Lodge. It is a very special place on the planet....just don't expect a fine dining experience.
Response from Property: Dear Luxury Solo Traveller, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Huka Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you found the natural beauty of our property to be incredible, regardless of the time of year, and that the warm greeting upon arrival and seamless check-in process contributed to a positive experience. We're glad that you appreciated the beautifully appointed rooms, exceptional bedding, and well-designed bathrooms, as well as the attentive housekeeping. Our staff takes great pride in providing excellent service, and we're thrilled that you found them accommodating. It's wonderful to hear that our drivers were fabulous company, ready to serve with a smile and share interesting stories during your journeys. We apologise for the difficulties you encountered when trying to contact the lodge for transportation. Your feedback will help us improve the quality of our spa services moving forward, and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding the dining experience. We are excited to have a new Executive Chef starting this week, who will bring a new take on the Huka Lodge dining experience. Thank you for recommending Huka Lodge as a special place to visit. We value your feedback, and it will help us in our ongoing efforts to provide exceptional experiences for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Huka Lodge in the future. Best regards, Team Huka Lodge
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 3, 2023
Amazing Hotel with great food, and lovely, warm service! We had a superb stay at Huka Lodge. Fantastic property, extremely well managed, and unbelievably great food! Seriously amazing hotel. Every aspect of our stay was lovely and we will definitely be back.
Response from Property: Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review! We appreciate your kind words about our luxury accomodation and that every aspect of your stay was lovely. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the birthplace of New Zealand luxury accommodation. We hope to welcome you back in the future! Team Huka
Guest User
Checked in May 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 10, 2023
We cannot recommend Huka Lodge highly enough. All of our experiences at Baillie properties have been very good (Southern Ocean Lodge, Longitude 131, Capella Lodge), so we were very keen to try the Lodge following its acquisition by the the Baillies. The good news is that this property is a step up even from those amazing properties. They seem to have incorporated the best of the Baillie properties with the best that Huka Lodge had to offer before its acquisition. The food is simply outstanding and certainly Michelin star quality (sadly there is no NZ Michelin Guide). We stayed for eight nights and were constantly delighted by the menus and dining locations. The suites are beautifully appointed and the location of the property is breath-takingly beautiful (the photos online do not do the property justice). Huka Falls is an easy 10-minute walk away and became part of our morning walk. Perhaps above all, the service was outstanding right across the whole team. There is a clear attention to detail with every guest's preferences seemingly known by all the staff. A premium experience comes with a premium price and the pricing here is comparable with other premium experiences. Put simply, if you are able to afford to stay here then you should not hesitate to do so.
Response from Property: Dear Kevin, Thank you for sharing your positive review of Huka Lodge. It’s a pleasure to hear that you had an amazing experience and enjoyed the stunning location, exceptional food, and outstanding service and that Huka is setting the benchmark among Baillie properties. It's also nice to hear that the staff paid close attention to your preferences, making your stay even more enjoyable. It is always a pleasure to hear from our beloved guests, especially given you have stayed with multiple lodges in the collection. Thank you for sharing your recommendation for others who may be considering a stay. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Team Huka