The Residence Maldives

The Residence Maldives Reviews

The Residence Maldives

Maldives, Falhumaafushi, Gaafu Alifu Atoll, 20888, MaldivesView Hotel Details
The Residence Maldives
The Residence MaldivesThe Residence MaldivesThe Residence Maldives
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

The Residence Maldives Guest Reviews

4.7/5
Amazing
60 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.7
Amenities4.7
Service4.7
Cleanliness4.7
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(60)
Positive reviews(38)
Reviews with photos/video(8)
Negative reviews(3)
Intruder2301
Water Villa
Checked in Oct 2022
Solo travelers
6 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 31, 2022
Totally impeccable! Service was GREAT with stunning views! Dun feel like going home 😜
Chloe G
Checked in Jul 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 7, 2024
Where do I even start? What an absolutely incredible resort! We stayed in an overwater villa with private pool on Falhumaafushi and it was perfect! The island has everything you could possibly want, and we loved that we could also use everything on Dhigurah island too! All of the food was 10/10, delicious!! I had 2 massages at the spa and they were by far the best I’ve ever had! We did a couple of excursions - the sunset dolphin cruise was amazing, we saw approx 40+ dolphins, and it really was a perfect evening. We also did the snorkelling by dhoni excursion, we saw 20+ sharks, a huge turtle and loads of fish, again another unforgettable memory! I wanted to add a note in about the weather, as when we were looking for our honeymoon destination, I was a little apprehensive about visiting the Maldives during the ‘wet season’ and struggled to find many reviews where guests mentioned what they had experienced during British summer time. We visited from 25 June - 6 July and had 1 night of rain, and our last day was very windy and overcast, but other than that, we had beautiful sunshine for the rest of the time!! Thank you so much to everyone at both resorts for making such it such a perfect honeymoon, we loved every second of it, and really hope to come back again in the future!
Response from Property: Dear P1340TMchloeg, Many thanks for your fantastic review of our resort and for sharing with us your memories and experiences on our sunny island paradise. It is very rewarding reading your review and learning that you enjoyed every moment of your experience with us . We take great pride in customizing all experiences for our guests and we are pleased to know that you enjoyed the Spa, the Dolphin cruise, and the weather too. On behalf of the team, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards
mark68east
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 21, 2024
Great food, Excellent staff, Lovely location. I’m here at the moment just over half way through my vacation. I’ve stayed in the Maldives a few times and this place is great. I’d recommend just for the location and the amazing reef. See photos.
6/8
Response from Property: Dear mark68east, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor and it was a pleasure reading it. We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us enjoying the services and amenities we had to offer. We thank you for your compliments and would be happy to welcome you back again soon. Regards
Tico9187
Checked in Jan 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 15, 2024
Thankyou for our most beautiful 5-night honeymoon in the maldives, quite literally paradise on earth. The island was a trek to get to but the staff were so helpful. We stayed in a over water pool villa and cannot recommend that enough. The room and pool was huge and beautifully and meaningfully appointed. It had everything we needed without being too much. The hot water was instantaneous and the bath tub overlooking the ocean was just stunning. We saw quite a few turtles and sharks from our villa decks! We loved that we had access to both islands and got to try every restaurant in our all inclusive package. We loved the variety of food on offer. Even though we had our own pool, we loved lazing by the public pool at the beach club. They definitely did not skimp on the liquor in the cocktails! A special mention to Jony, aizak, Inaasha, Rawindu, shina and Rabina for being so friendly and accommodating at the restaurants. Unfortunately we do not remember the names of the staff driving the buggies but they were always so friendly and often pointed out where the best place to see the sealife. We really hope to be able to return one day! Tips: - the overhead lockers on the flight to/from koddoo are small and dont fit the usual sized cabin luggages. This meant it got included in our checked in luggage and we went over the 20kg per person limit and got charged an excess. The staff do make an effort to average out the luggage with the other passengers staying at the Residence to avoid you having to pay the excess where possible though - make sure to use the mosquito repellants they have available, especially if youre doing the yoga! - the Dining Room at Dhigurah definitely had more options, especially with the grill at dinner times - be mindful that there may be rainy days even in dry season but the weather is never as damning as the forecast makes it out to be!
Response from Property: Dear Tico9187 Warmest greetings from the resort. Thank you for sharing the details of your beautiful 5-night honeymoon in the Maldives! Your thoughtful tips are helpful for future travelers. Delighted to hear that your have enjoyed the all-inclusive package and explore the variety of restaurants and cuisine options on both islands. Our team is grateful for your kind recongination towards our staff and had made your stay even more enjoyable. Wishing you many more happy travels, and should you have the opportunity to return to the Maldives, may it be another fantastic experience. Congratulations on your honeymoon, and thank you for sharing your wonderful journey!
Marcus R
Checked in Jul 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 5, 2024
After staying at various hotels in the Maldives, The Residence, is truly exceptional. Every detail of our stay was impeccable. The staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is wonderful, and nothing is ever too much to ask for. We stayed for a couple of weeks, and the kitchen were kind enough to prepare food which wasn’t shown on the menu to ensure our meals didn’t become repetitive, not that they would anyway with the variety. The water villas were incredibly spacious, and oozed quality, and would highly recommend staying in one of these as it will make a truly remarkable experience. I can’t wait to visit again soon!
Response from Property: Dear Marcus R, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor and it was a pleasure reading it. Providing service with a warm, natural smile is an integral part of The Residence service culture and I am happy to note that you really enjoyed the excellent services provided by the team. We are humbled by your compliments in your review and would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. Regards
Wai Kit C
Checked in Jun 2024
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 21, 2024
Spent the most magical 8 days at The Residence Falhumaafushi. Service quality from all staff were impeccable, especially Hafiz at the Dining Room (Dhigurah). The great thing about The Residence is that while we stayed at Falhumaafushi, we had access to use the facilities and dine at restaurants across their two beautiful resorts on two islands connected by a 1km bridge. Booked a sunset view 2-bedroom water villa which is very spacious and extremely comfortable. The sunsets at Maldives were gorgeous and after sunset, the night sky lit up with stars as though heaven just opened up to us. The house reef is teaming with reef sharks, rays, sea turtles, fishes and beautiful marine life.
Response from Property: Dear 736cheahk, Warmest greetings from The Residence Maldives and it was a delight reading your review and the memories made on our island paradise. We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and had enjoyed the warmth of Maldivian hospitality as well as the services and amenities we had to offer. . Your compliments to Hafiz have been extended to him for his attentive service. Thank you again for your positive review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again. Regards
hilarymQ5100PU
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 14, 2023
This is a stunning place to stay. We had an over-water pool villa, facing the sunset. The Villa is gorgeous and much more spacious than you can see on the website, with double height ceilings, separate living room, bedroom and bathroom, all with wall windows looking out over the sea. The infinity pool is a really decent size, and the villas nicely spaced, so you feel you have a big expanse of sea to yourself. The whole island is a magical environment- true tropical paradise, with almost constant refreshing sea breeze to ease the sunshine. Turtle, sting ray and baby sharks meandering round your villa and in the bays, endlessly friendly and accommodating service, and lots of gorgeous Sedona available. We had a private ‘fire’ dining experience, set up on an isolated beach, with magical lights, bonfire and personal chef cooking us lobster!… having dessert laid on the cushions staring at the stars… nothing quite like it! The beautifully dressed ‘flower and oil’ bath in your villa, is also not to be missed! This was our honeymoon and it was truly out of this world, thank you everybody for a gorgeous stay!
Response from Property: Dear hilarymQ5100PU, We are glad to see that you enjoyed the over-water villa to the fullest and all the other services and facilities. We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay. We reiterate our sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Maldives and look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future. With Warm Regards,
97mineshp
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 28, 2024
We had a 7 night stay at this fantastic resort at the end of February 2024. The location is very far down south from Male, which involved quite a lengthy domestic flight, but was worth it when we arrived. We stayed in a sunrise-facing over-water villa (number 123) with an infinity pool. The villa was very spacious, clean and contained all the necessary amenities. All staff were friendly and professional, and are a credit to the resort and the hospitality industry. Big shout-outs to the following staff members for excellent service: Hafiz at The Dining Room Dhigurra Hassan at the Beach Bar Falhumaafushi Aali at the Water Sports Centre Dhigurra Ravi at the Fires Private Dinner experience Jaavid at The Dining Room Falhumaafushi Hasan at Li Bai We highly recommend staying at this resort for a memorable Maldives experience.
Response from Property: Dear 97mineshp Thank you for the glowing review and it does sound like you had a remarkable stay at the resort! Delighted you have met some of our service colleagues and they have met your expectation and beyond. It was quite a journey to get there indeed, but the unique experiences like staying in an over-water villa facing the sunrise, ocean-front and enjoying various dining venues hope it make it all worthwhile. We look forward welcoming you in the near future.
Cristobal
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 3, 2024
We have always wanted to visit the Maldives and we weren’t disappointed! The setting, sea life and whole feel of the Island (being able to use both Islands was fantastic) was a World away from home and an absolute delight. The staff are alway eager to help. We had booked an over water villa but realised that it was quite a bike ride away from the amenities (breakfast/dinner/gym) so we changed to a pool villa and this was perfect. The included cocktails in the evening watching sunset was pure bliss. We have never seen such beautiful sunrises and sunsets. The only thing we would like to see improved for us to return is the food. The quality wasn’t what we normally expect from a 5star resort and although they try their best and were very helpful the quality just wasn’t there. (Most guests were saying the same at the time of our stay) We understand a lot of produce is (understandably) shipped in but we were surprised that this is the case even for the fish. Having said that we had a wonderful two week and witnessed sea life, sunsets and a setting that were simply amazing! We cam home rested and inspired and so happy we had visited this beautiful island.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 2, 2024
Great service, water villa was lovely. Ate at the French restaurant which was amazing in the moonlit watching the baby sharks in front of us. Special mention to Afzal and Ahmed who looked after us very well several evenings - so professional and attentive. We also ate at the Italian /cantonese and again the service and food were superb. Vignesh and Yna were so helpful and welcoming when we ate both at lunch and dinner. Again very professional service received. All the staff at the dining room for breakfast were so friendly and attentive. Special thanks to Jaavid, Shina, ishan and Zahua. Any special requests for betroth juice or avocado at breakfast was no trouble at all. Sundar looked after us every day at our water Villa ensuring we always had beach towels, cleaned our villa beautifully and always checked when was best to come for turn down service to minimise interrupting us.
Guest User
Checked in Jul 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jul 28, 2023
Just had an amazing holiday at The Residence and already looking at another holiday to the Maldives. We stayed in an overwater villa with pool, sunset view - room 329. Could not fault the villa, living area, lovely comfy bed in bedroom, huge bathroom with indoor and outdoor shower. The bar was restocked every day with 'sparkling wine', beer, soft drinks and we even had a bottle or 2 of Baileys. Francis deserves a shout out, he even came looking for us on the beach to see what drinks we would like in our room. The linen was changed as often as you liked, you just left a note on the bed asking for fresh sheets. Pool/beach towels were provided and were not restricted to one each. Bath towels were large and soft. No need to take travel adapters, UK plugs fitted everywhere. We would be in our pool and watch turtles, rays and reef sharks swim by and even watched the dolphins 100 yards away flipping in and out the water for 20 minutes, no need for books, too much marine life to watch. The bikes were rarely used, had to get 2 changed as brakes did not work and sister fell off hers. If we didn't want to walk we just called reception and a buggy was sent to us to transport us to wherever we wanted to go. We used the facilities at Dhigurah as the beach bar/pool at Falhumaafushi was undergoing restoration works which happened to be completed and re-opened on the day we left. The weather in July was lovely, don't look at the forecast before going, we were expecting rain everyday but only had 5 minutes rain one evening and a couple of hours over night one night. Food was amazing and the chef even made specials for us including some huge prawns on our last night. Good choice of menu at all restaurants, our favourite was probably the Cantonese. Every member of staff could not do enough for you, particularly in the restaurants, there are too many to name but they are all a credit to the hotel. We almost felt we were the only ones there and often had beaches or the main pool to ourselves, no fighting for sunbeds. There would be us and maybe another couple in the restaurant so if its a lively place you want, this would not be for you. One negative was the beach at South End on Falhumaa - it was not the soft white sand you expect and you needed beach shoes. The nicest sand was at Castaway island and the beach villas we saw at Dhigurah also looked to have nice beaches. Falhumaa v Dhigurah - I think Falhumaa was nicer to stay at particularly for adults, Dhigurah probably better for families. Dhigurah has more food options but with the buggy and bus it's no hassle to travel between the 2. It was a long journey, direct flight from Heathrow to Male (10 hrs) then a wait of 4 hours at Male for the internal flight and then 10 minute speedboat. Coming home was probably worse, had to leave hotel at 4am for flight back to Male and then another 4.5 hour wait for flight home. But was it worth it - YES definitely.
6/22
Response from Property: Dear C1268EVkarenm, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience, it was a pleasure having you as guest of The Residence Maldives. I am very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay with us, and experienced some great bespoke holiday moments that we thrive for. I do thank you for your positive feedback on our resort and services. I reiterate my sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Maldives and look forward to welcoming you again in a near future. With warm regards,
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 1, 2024
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our romantic honeymoon for 5 nights on this spectacular maldivian island paradise. We were warmly greeted at the airport at Male with all transfers and transportation organised with friendly and professional service. Upon arrival at this most magnificent island location, we were welcomed by hotel resort staff and escorted to our beautiful and spacious overwater bungalow with our own pool to enjoy. Everything about our time here was superb. The food at all the various restaurants and bars was delicious sith well presented meals, and enough variety to select from. The beach bar staff on the island we stayed at were particularly friendly and offered amazing bar service, making us feel welcome and special. The inclusion of bicycles to move about both islands that are connected by a bridge enabled a wide choice of activities throughout each day and night. We chose a honeymoon package, which had many amazing inclusions to make our time even more memorable. These inclusions were a sunset dolphin cruise, a photographer 30 minute shoot around the island, a bath treatment with a bottke of wine, and two restaurant bookings at their alacarte restaurants. The snorkelling around the island was also magical, with marine life like reef sharks, eagle rays, dolphins, sea turtles, and numerous colourful fish. Golf buggy cart transport was also available throughout both islands. Our over the water bungalow was very spacious, including a large comfortable bed, a fantastic indoor and outdoor shower, and a deep bath with a view overlooking the water. The villa also had additional living spacs to retreat from the bedroom. Every day, there was always something interesting to see in the water from our villas deck. There is also direct access from the villa to the water beneath to enable snorlelling at high tide.Checkout was equally efficient with everything organised and seamlessly completed for us. We would most definitely recommend this beautiful resort to any couple looking for a romantic escape.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 29, 2024
I know there was a song released which said heaven is a place on earth…. Well we found it here !! From the moment we arrived at Male Airport we were made to feel so welcome, the representatives were polite and extremely helpful and we got to the resort with no stress whatsoever. Upon arrival greeted warmly by the reception staff and taken to our Water Villa which was amazing, very comfortable and well equipped with the most amazing view across the Indian ocean. Nothing was too much to ask for, from Housekeeping to the drivers of the buggies all had a smile and a willingness to help and make the stay as enjoyable as possible. A mention of Christine ( hopefully correct spelling ) the chef and her brigade who produced the most fantastic and varied dishes, and Mousa who drive us to breakfast most mornings and always greeted us warmly. The food from all areas that we ate were exceptional but if you do holiday here you must without fail go to the BBQ night on the beach, the quality of seafood is amazing and totally delicious. But even at breakfast we ate very well with the staff being very attentive but not intrusive. If you can try to get Villa 316 which is right in the middle of the sunset facing area, beautiful sunsets every evening which just added to the magic of the place. There simply is nothing we can say which is negative we loved the whole experience and it really was the holiday of a lifetime, simply cannot recommend The Residence highly enough, we will definitely be returning and even now are jealous of the people who are arriving there now !!!
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2024
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 29, 2024
My bucket list vacation was fulfilled. What an amazing experience it was for the two of us. The Team members were amazing. Food and drink options were plentiful. Overall hospitality, kindness, friendliness was all "over the top". Over the water pool villa was wonderful. We stayed for 9 days and would have stayed longer if we had a chance. I would return in a heartbeat even with the 30 hours it took us to get there from the States.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Aug 13, 2023
Transfer & check in: We arrived at 12 midday in Male and got quickly through baggage, collection and passports control and were met outside the arrivals hall by a The Residence staff member. He took us to the domestic terminal and checked us in for a flight. The flight we were due to go on was scheduled for 4pm but he managed to get us on an earlier flight that had been delayed. My luggage was overweight and I had to pay nearly $100 be warned! We were then take to a lounge where we had some food and drinks all free. We spent about 40 minutes here before being collected by the same staff member and taken to the boarding area. Before long we were on the domestic flight which took 1hr 5 minutes. Once landed we got our luggage and were whisked by minibus to the speedboat about 2 minutes. We got a lovely refreshing drink and within 5 minutes we were at The Residence Dhigurah. No special welcome to the island apart from a necklace. As we have visited other islands we were expecting drums or a little fanfare. Never mind we then went by golf buggy to Falhumaafushi. We got checked in promptly in the library bar and were given another nice drink. We got all the information we needed and we were then taken to our villa. Villa: We spent 10 nights in an overwater villa with pool (302)on standard all inclusive. Booked with Destination2. We absolutely loved the room. It felt huge! We had a sunset view and as we arrived the sun was setting and then we were brought champagne and fruit and macaroons. This was a fabulous start. We watched the sunset with a glass of bubbles while we waited for our luggage. Our room was cleaned twice daily by Raushaan. He is such a lovely guy and worked so hard with a huge smile. I requested sunset view in advance of arriving and was thrilled that my request was honoured. Thank you The Residence. Our minibar was well stocked and we had the fabulous Francis checking with us everyday was there anything else that we needed for it. He was a pleasure to deal with. The resort: The resort is fabulous! Well maintained and in a beautiful modern colonial design. Castaway beach is beautiful- picture perfect. Pool is gorgeous and lovely and cool. We enjoyed cycling the 1km bridge to Dhigurah. We had the fortune of seeing dolphins swim by 5 times, twice from our villa. There is an abundance of sharks, turtles and rays all around the island. We enjoyed turtle spotting in the late afternoon on Falumaa bridge. Big reef sharks swim around the Falumaa restaurant also. We were unfortunate with weather and were not able to snorkel as much as we wished. We did the house reef orientation in Dhigurah dive centre and I would recommend this. We were shown where to go on the reef and we followed this advice each time- walking to the end of the Dhigurah dive centre pier and down the steps and out to the drop. It was like an aquarium at times. Well recommended. Food & drink: we were very fortunate in our first week that occupancy was low and all meals in the D
6/17
Response from Property: Dear Outofireland, Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review on TripAdvisor and it was a pleasure reading it. It was a delight to have read your review and to know that our guests had enjoyed our services and amenities thoroughly. We thank you for taking the time to share with us your island memories and would be delighted to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,