Encumeada

Encumeada Reviews

Encumeada

Feiteiras – Serra D' Água, Lombo Do Moleiro, Madeira, PortugalView Hotel Details
Encumeada
EncumeadaEncumeadaEncumeada
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Encumeada Guest Reviews

3.1/5
32 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.1
Amenities3.0
Service3.1
Cleanliness3.1
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(32)
Positive reviews(21)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(11)
Guest User
Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
Checked in Apr 2024
Friends
1 Reviews
3.7/5
Posted on Apr 10, 2024
On hike adventure entering in a rainy day great location and good breakfast and dinner so far great. Missed stuff like a watercooker and chill out zone to enjoy a boring day because of bad weather
BarretoBruno
Double Or Twin Double Or Twin With Balcony
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
1 Reviews
3.5/5
Posted on Aug 13, 2023
It was great, everyone was really polite and helpful and the breakfast was amazing and delicious!
Guest User
Double or Twin MOUNTAIN VIEW
Checked in Mar 2023
Couples
2 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 24, 2023
Great place to spend the night in the mountains! The hotel itself is pretty basic but the shower was hot and the breakfast plentiful - what more do you need really?? The surrounding area is absolutely stunning too. Fantastic value for money all round!
Guest User
SINGLE MOUNTAIN VIEW
Checked in Jan 2023
Solo travelers
1 Reviews
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on Jan 23, 2023
This hotel is the only one in the area, so if you are walking and it meets your location requirements, then it is perfect. Food was good, service excellent and it was a very clean hotel, I had a large room (although the mattress was harder than my liking). Breakfast was fine and I was able to get a packed lunch for the following day. It was excellent value.
Cristiano
Double Or Twin Double Or Twin With Balcony
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
2 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jun 5, 2024
It was spectacular, but the reception service left a lot to be desired
Original TextTranslated by Google
Brii cd
DOUBLE MOUNTAIN VIEW
Checked in Jan 2023
Friends
1 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 16, 2023
Great hotel just below Boca de Encumeada (480mt). The bus also stops nearby, but the staff will give you a lift if needed. Very kind The rooms are large, spacious, clean and warm. Excellent breakfast, in our case we were only 5 in the hotel so for every extra you could ask. Ex scrambled eggs, bacon. Pancakes or something. You can order sandwiches to take away (packed lunch), be careful with the bread. They write SANDWICH and it's with our trunk bread. Say you want homemade bread in a box. That's great. Excellent dinner with various choices. Excellent prices. For an aperitif there is a small bar with Madeiran craft beers. Excellent. I highly recommend this hotel!
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Single Room With Balcony
Checked in May 2022
Solo travelers
1 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on May 12, 2022
The Encumeada hotel is ideally placed for those who love and practice hiking. The staff is extremely friendly. The room was spacious with a beautiful view of the peaks of Madeira. The hotel restaurant is great for dinner and breakfast, the food is very good. Unbeatable value for money on the island. In short, I recommend without hesitation!!
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Checked in Jun 2024
Other
0 Reviews
1.0/5
Posted on Jun 20, 2024
I don't like writing bad reviews however I believe I should in this occasion. We stayed at this hotel many times and never had any issues apart from our stay in Dec 2023. I had the worst night sleep in this place not because of the room as it was very comfortable but because of the people who was in the room next to us. This was 1am there were children running from one room to the other like was a play area. And " assuming was their parents very drunk on that night" we could hear them vomiting on toilet and arguing with each other. I went to the reception at that time to complain , the receptionist come upstairs and said to them which room we were in and that we were complaining about them. So unprofessional!! That didn't not change anything and they just carry one with that behavior.. we couldn't sleep all night. Very early in morning we left the hotel and we will never come back again!
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2024
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 1, 2024
Big display of local advice and route maps. Despite the wet weather, our balcony itself stayed dry. The rooms are basic, yet the reception and waiting staff offer 5-star service. The room was a little cold, but they have extra blankets—just ask. We also asked for a kettle, which made our stay more comfortable. I believe they have 2, so you might need to be lucky. We were glad to have brought our own tea and instant soup. We learned that the WiFi in our room was faster than at home, because we spent more time indoors than we planned, due to the weather. If conditions outside had been different, we’d be raving about this hotel, which is very good at what it is. Other reviews have mentioned wedding parties. We heard them “whoop whooping” a couple of times at around 10pm. Otherwise, we couldn’t hear them from our room, and they were a big group of around 100. Our sleep was not impacted by them, and we were able to get half a hike in, the next morning, with a gushing waterfall, no doubt enhanced by the previous day’s rain. Breakfast had all the usual Madeira delights, but I especially liked the fruit salad, which had chunks of perfectly ripe papaya in it. We had seen it growing all over the island, so it was wonderful to get to have something so juicy and succulent. It was unsurprisingly superior to the quality of the fruit we get in the UK. Vegetarians take note! They accommodated my request, but you must tell reception your situation if you are planning to have dinner in the restaurant. They should relay advance notice to the kitchen. We visited on a Saturday and as mentioned above, there was a wedding happening. We were told that we could have the buffet dinner from 6 – 7:30. The timing suited us, and we think it was the same food that would later be on offer for the wedding (obviously refreshed for them). There was a wide variety of choices for meat eaters. However, having been specifically told that the buffet would be ok for Vegetarians, I was rather miffed that there were no appropriate main courses. The vegetable soup was good and wholesome, warming on a cold wet day, but I didn’t want a salad for dinner, having been told otherwise. I mentioned to the manager that I had asked about Vegetarian options in advance. So you might need to do this too: If it’s a buffet, and there isn’t the food that you have previously requested, Ask. The manager knew all about it and the chef came out to offer me Mango and Chick Pea Curry. This is ordinarily on their A La Carte Menu, but the chef was happy to make it. It was tasty, a generous portion and a meal in itself. Ordinarily, I’m not particularly concerned about what food looks like, but to be given something so beautifully presented felt special. There was also a selection of desserts. In total, our buffet dinner for two people came to 37 Euros without drinks.
LadyMaryMontagu
Checked in Feb 2024
Solo travelers
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 26, 2024
I really liked the style of the building with its wooden beams and high ceilings. When I entered the room it was about twice the size than I had expected, so it was really spacious and came not only with a little couch but also with a table seating three people. The small balcony with its table just completed the room. I liked the walk-in shower, too. Everything was perfectly clean and in good condition. The food at the restaurant was delicious, I can especially recommend the „espetata regional“ as it was perfectly flavoured with an assortment of spices. Truly the best espetata I had in Madeira! On the second (and last) evening of my stay, the were training young wait staff - those kids did a wonderful job. Overall, the staff was friendly and attentive.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 19, 2023
I come every yesr because I like it here. Not so pieceful this time because the hotel is being refurbished with WiFi throughout ... Why do I return? The price is right. It's 'basic', clean and, I find, comfortable. There's a good kitchen and a well priced wine list. The evening, help yourself, buffet may not suit everyone but the selection is good enough. There is, currently, a limited a la carte menu. I suggest that a car is essential for some travellers but nowhere is inaccessible from the centre of the island. Most importantly, after 7 visits, I am on first name terms with the staff. It's heartwarming to be welcomed and greeted by name. A little Portuguese helps.
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Aug 23, 2023
Very kind personell at reception and very kind cookes, good access to the mountains. Rich dinners and breakfasts, a little different every day. Good place for your wedding party too. If you need some help they are there for you!
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Apr 28, 2023
Beautiful mountain setting and views and some rooms have a balcony. Terrible WiFi reception in the room. Good breakfast buffet. Decor and rooms becoming a bit dated. Value priced. Narrow and steep road to the hotel. Big clean bathroom.
Guest User
Checked in Mar 2023
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Mar 15, 2023
This is more of a hikers' lodge than a hotel. Very rudimentary. Room was rather bare and COLD; staff said that was to be expected. Food was not very good. On the other hand, was convenient to hiking.
Guest User
Checked in Feb 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Feb 13, 2023
Stayed one night as part of a walking holiday. Bedroom cold and more heating refused when we asked “That’s just what it’s like here”. They did offer to dry our boots. The dining room was so cold, I had to go back to the bedroom to get a blanket. Bedroom so cold, kept clothes on in bed. By morning, the floor had flooded through the patio doors and wet our bags. Good for dinner - very tasty and hot. Staff delightful. Wi-Fi useless - it couldn’t even work up enough energy to connect. As I said - staff delightful but don’t stay - get a taxi somewhere else.