Fosshotel Hekla

Fosshotel Hekla Reviews

Fosshotel Hekla

Skeiða- og Hrunamannavegur, 804 Brjánsstaðir, Olafsvellir, Southern Region, 801, IcelandView Hotel Details
Fosshotel Hekla
Fosshotel HeklaFosshotel HeklaFosshotel Hekla
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Fosshotel Hekla Guest Reviews

3.8/5
Good
33 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.8
Amenities3.8
Service3.8
Cleanliness3.8
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(33)
Positive reviews(27)
Negative reviews(6)
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Friends
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
FH Hekla is a short distance off Iceland's Ring Road on Route 30 and 20km from Flúðir. It is a great location for accessing the Golden Circle of "must-see" sights without joining traffic queues from Reykjavik. The hotel is in the countryside and we had a wonderful showing of the aurora borealis on one of the nights we stayed. The hotel is relaxed and informal, with a comfortable bar and good breakfast. The evening menu is small but the dishes were excellent. We had suites, which comprised large bedrooms, a large sitting room with sofa and TV, and a good size bathroom. Fixtures and fittings were not fancy, but functional. Staff were really helpful, from advice of seeing the Aurora to clearing up split milk!
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Our experience was fantastic. The location is perfect to visit the Golden Circle. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the hot tube looking at the Hekla volcano. We strongly recommend this hotel
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Couples
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Very basic hotel. Bathroom was quite dated. Beds and pillows were comfortable and it was very quiet in our room. Employee who checked us in did not tell us it would have been easier to drive our car around to the entrance nearest to our room so we drug our suitcases a long way over quite a few small staircases. It was acceptable for one night but would not stay again.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Good but no "wauw"-feeling ; we appreciated the hot tub after the many km we had done that day ; hotel is dated but clean. Because the hotel is located in nature without restaurants nearby, we stayed for dinner. Once again : it was good but no "wauw"-feeling.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We stayed for one night and it was a very pleasant experience. Very good breakfast, room and cleaning ok and the staff were friendly and helpful. Nice location in the middle of the countryside with icelandic horses around.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We loved this one night we stayed here - among wide views to the mountains, horses, birds and the sky. Such a lovely quiet spot. We also had a great chill out in the hot tub and sauna, some nice dinner and breakfast - and the receptionist was super helpful, and made a booking for us at a horseback-riding farm nearby.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We had a one night stay. The room was comfy enough but duvets and pillows could be more luxurious. Hot tub ok but a bit too far from the hotel and a little tatty. The food was very good, breakfast was delicious
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Chose the suite, room is in dire need of tlc. Smell from bathroom, shabby and the room was too hot on a sunny day with no fans available. Great staff! Good location. Breakfast was fine but sticky tables and unclean cups and forks.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
Nice surroundings but we had a room right under the kitches. It was noicy early in the Morning (the kitchen staff was wearing shoes with High heles) and late in the evening because of the noice from the dishwasher. The room was oldfashioned, dirty and with only a little daylight. The Food in the restaurant delicius and very Nice staff all over the hotel
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Family
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
We stayed 3 nights here as a base to visit the golden circle and surrounding area. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. However the decor and presentation of the rooms and bathrooms were very dated and tired. Thin curtains were not much help with the almost constant daylight in June. English tv channels available and tea and coffee making facilities and fridge in the room (ask at the bar for milk for tea). Extensive buffet breakfast and lovely views from the restaurant. We didn’t sample the evening menu. Outdoor hot tubs were fun but the surrounding area was also in need of maintenance.
Guest User
Checked in Jan 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Jan 31, 2023
4 night stay. The location was perfect for exploring the golden circle and the south coast. It is quiet and the hot tubs are nice at the end of the day. The food gets 5 stars and the scramble egg is the best we have ever had. The evening menu is a bit limited with only a choice of 4 main dishes but the quality of the dishes is fantastic. The rooms are clean and serviced daily though they are getting dated. Our major issue in this modern tech age with 3 of us in a family room was the lack of power points for charging the multiple electronic devices we all have.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2022
Couples
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 22, 2022
This hotel is much more down-to-earth than other hotels but even though there were areas for improvement, it was my favourite. The staff were ABSOLUTELY friendly and accommodating, the hot tub was comfortable, the steam room easy to use. The breakfast was very tasty. The male changing room for the hot tub was closed but I believe that is because we were travelling in the off season. All the other guests and myself were happy to share the female changing rooms.
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2022
Family
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 10, 2022
Had a great one night stay on a bus tour. The hotels a little older but the rooms were clean and the staff were outstanding. The dinner was outstanding. My second best lamb I had while in Iceland. Small hotel and I liked that. The bar area was small but that added to the charm. Would stay again
Guest User
Checked in Oct 2022
Couples
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Oct 9, 2022
Although the hotel is in need for a refresh, the sympatic personnel made our stay very pleasant. Located in a very quiet location, you won't have any issue with sleep. A very decent restaurant is part of the complex - which is a good thing since other options are pretty remote in this area. Very clean.
Guest User
Checked in Sep 2022
Friends
0 Reviews
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 13, 2022
The hotel offers clean, somewhat comfortable rooms but overall the rooms are average and we would have expected more for the cost. good location for our itinerary. Friendly, helpful staff. Overall I'd consider this a three star hotel.