Hayes Valley Inn

Hayes Valley Inn Reviews

Hayes Valley Inn

417 Gough St, San Francisco, United StatesView Hotel Details
Hayes Valley Inn
Hayes Valley InnHayes Valley InnHayes Valley Inn
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

Hayes Valley Inn Guest Reviews

3.6/5
63 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.6
Amenities3.5
Service3.5
Cleanliness3.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(63)
Positive reviews(52)
Negative reviews(11)
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2022
Solo travelers
1 Reviews
2.2/5
Posted on Aug 26, 2022
Obviously, check-in was possible until 11pm, but by 10pm, the door was locked, and the representative contact was not contacted. I went to the pub on the 1st floor and got a different number for *********** and called. The room is small enough for two people and few amenities are available. The bathroom and toilet must be shared. If you need to use it late at night, please note.
Original TextTranslated by Google
Erin
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 19, 2024
Great little place if you’re looking for an affordable option in a safe neighbourhood. I was a solo female and felt perfectly safe in this area. The rooms are cute and clean. Each room has its own sink and mirror. Bathroom and showers are shared which I had no problems with. For a short stay this was perfect!
Olga
Checked in Jan 2024
Business travelers
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 29, 2024
Great location. Public parking nearby. Excellent customer service. Answered our questions right away. The bed was very firm, but the room and facilities were clean and comfortable.
Verified traveler
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
2.0/5
Posted on Dec 22, 2023
Stayed for 3 nights with 4 friends and it is not a bad place for crashing if you’re going to be out and about most of your trip, but the power happened to be out majority of our stay so we could not use light or power to get ready, it’s not equipped for the disabled (didn’t say they were) so I requested a late checkout being that I was on crutches and needed help carrying luggage up and down the stairs being that there is no elevator and we were greeted by banging on the door starting two hours before our original checkout at 11 am and then a very rude housekeeper continuously banging on our door until we vacated by the agreed upon late checkout time.. noon. They then charged my card without asking and without any mention of an automatic late-checkout fee $50 for the late checkout that we agreed upon… that really did it for me. They refunded the fee after I showed proof they did in fact agree to let us leave at 12 over text, not professional.
James
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
2.0/5
Posted on Dec 5, 2023
It feels like this place can use more oversight by management and to review amenities. The expectations for housekeeping service aren’t clear. I stayed 2 weeks and they knocked on my door the day I checked in when I did not need service, and about a week later when I was on a conference call so I asked her to come back the next day. So the sheets were never changed and the trash was never emptied. There is a kitchen in the photos, but no kitchen in the annex where my room was. I think this property also rents to monthly tenants and there was some drama with some sort of tenant or guest asked to leave and the door codes changed without notice. The bluetooth lock on my door stopped functioning and they had to replace the batteries. I would suggest check the battery levels when turning over the room. So I think more management attention and a clearer simce of what is available as far as kitchen and housekeeping
Ilker
Checked in Jan 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jan 12, 2024
Excellent clean place located in a very nice neighborhood. Would definitely recommend
Emily
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Nov 14, 2023
I thought the Hayes Valley Inn was a great budget hotel. The room wasn't fancy and there was a stain on the carpet but it was comfortable. I mention the stain only so other people will have their expectations set. The room was clean, but worn in that type of way. The shared bathroom and shower was very clean. There is no front desk but if you call their number the staff is very responsive and helped me out when I had not received my unlock key and also when I needed to store my luggage after check out. It is centrally located but still set back from Van Ness and Market so not noisy at night. Would definitely stay again if I come back to SF.
Frederic
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 25, 2023
😁 very well located (shops and restaurant all around), easy to get in, thanks to the code you can check in anytime you want, cleaning/tidying the room is well done each day. 😔 the carpet on the floor doesn't allow a good hygiene (stains everywhere...) and the door lock of the room works eraticaly... sometimes it will work and some times it won't... but i had the issue more with room 301 than 309 so i guess it is a device issue (the door's lock)
Traci
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 24, 2023
This is such an amazing location and a great place to stay within budget! We were super bummed that the kitchen had no stove or even hot pad for cooking (only a microwave). Also, it was quite hot while we were there and the room fan was not adequate to stay cool (even with open windows). So fans in the closets of each room would have been nice. I would definitely recomend this place, though, for anyone wanting to stay and have a smaller room budget!
Robert P
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 10, 2023
The hotel is old, Not accessible at all. Many stairs. The carpet in our room was ancient and stained by use, but the excellent cleaning staff did the best they could. There is no staff at the hotel. The doors have electronic locks which are opened by a smart phone. This requires at least the hotel WiFi password and the ability to receive text messages in the USA, which was a problem for us who arrived without data, and we couldn’t get the WiFi password without getting into the room. The staff will respond to text messages.fortunately, a fellow guest was able to help us out. The bathrooms are shared. Two toilets and one bath/shower per floor. The kitchen is very nice. They no longer provide breakfast but you can store your food in the big refrigerator. The neighbourhood is very lively, crowded with restaurants without outdoor dining. As a result it is very safe. We’ve been coming back to the Hayes Valley Inn for years.it provides a simple and comfortable space in a great part of the city. There are two Bay Wheels bike stations nearby, and convenient connections to the Muni buses. The walk from the Civic Center BART station is pleasant and only takes about 20 minutes, which makes the link to the airport easy.
Julie Ann
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 3, 2023
Great location. Nice old building with vintage vibe. Cute room, although some of the furniture needs repair or deep cleaning. The mattress was lumpy but good enough. Check in and key app were easy and worked well. Tiny bathrooms but serviceable. Have to wait a long time for hot water. Lots of street noise but I slept fine with the earplugs I brought. Overall I really liked the property and feel it was a good value for the cost.
Trine
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 2, 2023
We liked our stay, cheap and you get what you pay for. The area was lovely, so nice walking around, restaurants (specially burgerplace right downstairs) and bars are good. We loved the area. The hotell was in two different buildings, we where in one and the kitchen was in another - the front door of the building with the kitchen was some days closed and we did not have the code for it, so we could not use kitchen. The kitchen does not have a stove or own, not even a water heater. Only fridge and microwave. Not possible to even make eggs… Did not know how to check out because we had a manuel key for our room not keyless through app, housekeeping only spoke spanish. The room was a ok size, shared bathroom where okey. No cleaning of rooms even if we stayed 8nights. The rooms where really hearthrough, we heared all our neighbours even in the middle of the night, and they showed at 4am. So bring earplugs. Over all, you get what you pay for, nothing more.
Alexandra
Checked in Oct 2023
Couples
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 2, 2023
Very nice stay in the heart of Hayes Valley! Loved the location, walkable with plenty of transport & dining options. We stayed in annex building hence the room was quiet but did not have a sink, neither was as spacious as advertised online. Shared kitchen was equipped but a few extra items like clean sponge, dishwashing liquid and a dish cloth would make the stay even more comfortable and homey. 5* for cleanliness & a pleasant stay overall.
N
Checked in Sep 2023
Business travelers
3.0/5
Posted on Sep 24, 2023
Very mediocre, it's a place to sleep and exactly nothing more. Shared bath and toilet is ok, surprisingly clean most of the time, toilet paper must be brought with you since its empty most of the time. No shared room or area to sit, chat, meet fellow travellers, no shared or otherwise kitchen, no dining area. The bedding had stains, one pillow had no pillowcase, there was waste under the bed. It's better then a dormitory, but barely so.
Christina
Checked in Sep 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Sep 19, 2023
Very good area to stay especially for the price. The rooms are a little dated and stained and they get warm. However the location makes up for that. Easily walkable to the painted ladies and restaurants. Also above a dispensary