The Royal Hotel Weymouth

The Royal Hotel Weymouth Reviews

The Royal Hotel Weymouth

90-91 Esplanade, Weymouth, United KingdomView Hotel Details
The Royal Hotel Weymouth
The Royal Hotel WeymouthThe Royal Hotel WeymouthThe Royal Hotel Weymouth
Select your travel dates to check room availability
编组 10
We Price Match
1 night

The Royal Hotel Weymouth Guest Reviews

3.7/5
76 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location3.7
Amenities3.6
Service3.7
Cleanliness3.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All Reviews(76)
Positive reviews(67)
Reviews with photos/video(1)
Negative reviews(9)
Guest User
Standard Double Room
Checked in Nov 2023
Couples
6 Reviews
3.7/5
Posted on Nov 23, 2023
The room was nice and spacious with a beautiful sea view and the sunrise in the morning was gorgeous. We did request a room with a bath tub which unfortunately didn’t get. The bathroom wasn’t very clean. Hair on toilet seat and in sink. Also the fan was extremely loud. There was dust on the ceiling above the bed and stain on the carpet. Breakfast was nice with a sea view and the location of the hotel is great
Matthew
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Mar 25, 2024
Everything was lovely. Our only issue was the state of the pillows... They were so bad that we went and bought a new one for each of us.
Alison
Checked in Mar 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Mar 11, 2024
We enjoyed our stay but we found our room cold as there was a major draft from the victorian window . Not sure if anything can be done about that . I was concerned that our room door did not shut properly . Just needs a minor adjustment and also the fire door on the top of the stairs did not shut fully. Just a couple of small things that need adressing . Other than that we had a brilliant stay . We love weymouth and often come for the day .lots to keep u busy in Weymouth but also surrounding area.lots to visit...... The hotel is lovely and we enjoyed it.Think the breakfast should include croissants and pastries .
Mark
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 25, 2024
We arrived early so stowed our bags around reception area. The receptionist was helpful with a dry sense of humour. When we returned there was a different receptionist on duty who was not as helpful or friendly but it didn’t spoil our first day in Weymouth. The Superior Room was spacious and on the whole, very clean. It had an en-suite with a separate toilet area. The window and blind looked like it hasn’t been cleaned for a while yet we were comfortable with the room. We had tea and coffee facilities with a coffee maker too. There was no phone in the room to contact reception but apart from requiring extra coffee pods we didn’t need anything else anyway. The breakfast was sufficient and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful indeed. The hotel itself is just a four minute walk from the train station and is perfectly placed on the promenade for nearby shops and restaurants should you require them. We will definitely be back as we thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Weymouth and we would recommend this hotel too.
James
Checked in Feb 2024
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Feb 6, 2024
Room was comfortable, clean and warm. Issues with bathroom plumbing- I had to adjust ballcock to stop significant overspill from toilet tank, and toilet also blocked later in stay. Welcome at reception was not especially friendly. Overall, though, this was good value for money.
Dom
Checked in Dec 2023
Friends
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Dec 21, 2023
Bar not open until 3pm so could not have coffee ☕️in the lounge bar area enjoying the sea view at 11.30am until lunchtime. Spoiled the hotel (as opposed to a b&b) experience. Was told to use coffee maker in my room which had inadequate 💺 seating (a small double plus no sea view) . Last night appreciate reception getting me this room on same floor as my friend who’s there for a week, after I booked my room on a different floor.
Richard
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 17, 2023
My stay at the Royal Hotel was Fantastic my room was really clean the bed really comfortable also I had a sea view. The breakfast was very nice
Jerzy
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
2.0/5
Posted on Dec 7, 2023
An old once classic Victorian hotel in superb location but alas now a sad faded relic of it's past. The sea view balcony room still evoke a scence of what it must have been like in it's hayday.
Corinna
Checked in Nov 2023
Family
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Nov 25, 2023
Views from sea view room exceptional. Sea Beats restaurant next door so convenient. Friendly staff and clean rooms. The car park at rear of hotel which is two minutes walk away is an added bonus.
Laura
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Nov 18, 2023
This historic hotel is an amazing building in a prime location. But like most Victorian seaside hotels, it needs work inside to bring it back to its hey day. The hallways have peeling wallpaper and damp spots, and some floorboards are a bit spongey. But never the less, it's charming, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was a little disappointing, pretty standard fare, but the breakfast room itself was beautiful - overlooking the sea front. The staff were all charming and terribly helpful. We will be back!
Janice
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
1.0/5
Posted on Nov 17, 2023
The room was cramped, no resemblance of the online hotel picture of the room, broken bath panel, electric towel rail held on with tape & the electric overhead light shade had not been cleaned out for ages. Mentioned all the issues when checking out but no response or acknowledgement.
yvonne
Checked in Nov 2023
Other
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Nov 16, 2023
We had a lovely stay at the royal hotel .Was nice and comfortable beautiful xmas decorations .Staff polite. We stayed before ,last year and was confused about how they did breakfasts and no evening meal this time .They do have offer of food in a different part of hotel my the bar .We do realise it is out of season but this was one of the reasons we were returning. Perhaps should be included in there review of hotel .but we did have a lovely time and will be back x
Les
Checked in Oct 2023
Other
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Oct 31, 2023
Best hotel in Weymouth. Overlooking the beach. Near the shops and restaurants. Quays a short pleasant walk away. Hotel very old but well presented for its age. I always stay here if i can, when visiting Weymouth. Reception staff are very welcoming and friendly. Always willing to help too.
Graham
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
2.0/5
Posted on Dec 28, 2023
No phone in the room no usb sockets in the room. Breakfast not worth the price.
Matt
Checked in Oct 2023
Family
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Oct 29, 2023
Great location. Room was functional and clean. Decor not the most up to date but perfectly acceptable. Didn’t try the breakfast but there is a Wetherspoons right down the street!