Momijiya Annex

Momijiya Annex Reviews

Momijiya Annex

Umegahata Nishinohatacho, Ukyo Ward, Kyoto City, Kyoto Prefecture, 616-8289, JapanView Hotel Details
Momijiya Annex
Momijiya AnnexMomijiya AnnexMomijiya Annex
Select your travel dates to check room availability
We Price Match
1 night

Momijiya Annex Guest Reviews

4.5/5
Great
17 Reviews
Verified reviews
Location4.5
Amenities4.5
Service4.5
Cleanliness4.6
Filter by:
Sort by:
All reviews(17)
Positive reviews(7)
Reviews with photos/video(6)
Negative reviews(1)
summerchung
Annex Room with Open-Air Bath"Hototogisu"
Checked in Apr 2024
Couples
7 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Apr 27, 2024
There’s nothing wrong with it except that it’s expensive🤣 It’s worth going again. Be sure to order a private soup for the beautiful scenery. Dinner and breakfast are average. You can bring your own cup noodles, but it’s very worth going.
Original TextTranslated by Google
6/8
DddderR
Japanese Room with Open-Air Bath, 10 Tatami Mats
Checked in Jun 2024
Couples
2 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Jun 29, 2024
Perfect for escaping the city
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Japanese Room with Open-Air Bath, 6 Tatami Mats
Checked in Apr 2024
Family
1 Reviews
3.7/5
Posted on Apr 6, 2024
The scenery is nothing special, maybe it’s not autumn, there are no red leaves The public bath is small
Original TextTranslated by Google
Guest User
Japanese Room with Toilet, 10 Tatami Mats
Checked in May 2023
Solo travelers
3 Reviews
4.7/5
Amazing
Posted on May 26, 2023
It goes without saying that this place is very suitable for those who like quietness. In Kaohsiung Mountain, there are no other houses around. It is absolutely quiet. Even if you sit on the balcony during the day, you can only hear the sound of running water below. The scenery is also very beautiful. Breakfast and dinner are included The food is very rich and the taste is good, but the hotel is too old and the facilities are relatively old. It is good to experience it for one night.
Original TextTranslated by Google
6/9
Guest User
Checked in Dec 2023
Other
0 Reviews
5.0/5
Outstanding
Posted on Dec 13, 2023
Momijiya felt like home. It was unique and charming, beautiful and comfortable in an enchanting yet humble old-school way. The food was delicious and abundant, and they prepared vegetarian meals for me without question (which is very rare in Japan). The room was comfortable and had everything I needed. The open-air bath in HOTOTOGISU was a lovely warm embrace on a chilly evening. The bridge to cross onto the property was a perfect welcome entrance. Before the bridge, just a short stroll up the hill was the most beautiful and peaceful hiking trail along the river. Below the bridge, just a short stroll down the hill was an amazing Zen temple. But the best part of Momijiya itself, for me, was my nakai-san. I was traveling solo, and everything was very new to me because this was my first real ryokan experience. My nakai-san helped me feel more comfortable with her kindness. She explained my meals at dinner time. She greeted me on arrival and showed me where everything was and how to use it. She prepared my comfortable bed for me in the evenings. And she was even there to help me when I forgot my towel on the way to the public bath. I never had to ask for anything. Somehow, she just knew. I couldn’t have asked for a more wonderful person to make me feel at home. She was like an auntie, and I am grateful to her for making my stay special and memorable. I could lose myself here. The forest location itself is so breathtaking. I felt so relaxed and taken care of at Momijiya Bekkan. It was a magnificent ending to my solo trip to beloved Japan. I will be back.
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Family
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 13, 2023
The plus point of this ryokan : 1. The environment is superb , very calm and serene , you can walk around the ryokan , it’s surrounded by bridges , rivers 2. The service is very good , they explain every details to you 3. There is a shuttle to bring you from and back to the train station to the ryokan at designated time 4. Small private outdoor bath tub just outside your room The cons : 1. Rooms are a bit dated 2. Room is small , after putting the mattress , no place to walk
6/8
Guest User
Checked in Apr 2023
Other
0 Reviews
4.0/5
Very Good
Posted on Apr 10, 2023
Momijiya Bekkan (not to be confused with Momijiya Annex) was a lovely traditional Ryokan experience. As westerners this was very different to the modern hotel but made a but easier with wifi, power points and many amenities. We chose this place as the private room was tattoo friendly (but we couldn't use the public baths) and the outdoor bath was really nice and peaceful. Note!!: the advertisement shows a Maiko and a tea ceremony after dinner! This is not the case, it only occurs on Fri-Sun during summer (July-sept). I did not know this and was the main reason why I booked this ryokan, so just be aware that outside of these times, the included experience is just dinner and breakfast only. The food was adventurous but good to try! The beds were futons and what you would expect sleeping on the floor, but the room was quiet, silent even, and it was peaceful in the mountains. There's shrines to explore nearby, and check in was 1500, not 1800 like other websites listed. All in all, good experience, bit expensive when the Maiko/tea ceremony isn't included but a nice stay in the mountains.
6/7
Guest User
Checked in Aug 2022
Other
0 Reviews
2.0/5
Posted on Aug 23, 2022
At the parking lot of Kozanji, change from the large bus to the restaurant Micro and go downstream. As expected, it is a type of dining place where you can sit on a legless chair ... This alone does not affect the menu content, and the evaluation is below normal. No matter how much we call it alcove cuisine, in today's times, it is nonsense to have a dining place without chairs and desks, and it is not even a restaurant in Gion. . Eating in an unfamiliar posture is nothing but pain. The food is a set trip lunch and the price is unknown, so it is difficult to evaluate. Also, since there is no other food whose evaluation is influenced by individual tastes, I have no intention of forcing my evaluation on others. But even though it's Kawadoko cuisine, I don't feel like I'm eating unless I'm served with hot tea and soup. The taste is also light, and it is extremely unsatisfactory for the elderly. Furthermore, I thought that fruits with seeds that could not be covered were unsuitable for dessert. I personally wouldn't go there again. The only good thing here is the "suspension bridge" from the other bank. Also, it looks like a facility with an incomprehensible name, but it's easier to understand if it's just 〇〇〇 Main Building and 〇〇〇 Annex or Kawadoko Cuisine. With this name, it is difficult to find word-of-mouth pages in the system of this self-satisfaction site. It's not like I went to stay another night...
Original TextTranslated by Google
6/7